No one files against Kitsap Commissioner Rolfes

Commissioner Garrido doesn’t file for re-election

Christine Rolfes, who was appointed months ago, filed for the Kitsap County Commissioner District 1 post, and since no one filed against her, she likely will return to the post uncontested.

Incumbent Charlotte Garrido did not file for re-election for the county commission District 2 post. Jeff Coughlin of Bremerton and Stacey Spencer Smith of Port Orchard filed for the spot. Matt Macklin filed for that spot May 9, which means there will be a primary. Sean Murphy of Port Orchard filed for the spot May 10, as did Paul Nuchims of Port Orchard. Oran Root of Port Orchard then filed right at deadline.

Emily Randall of Port Orchard filed May 9 for the two-year post as a U.S. Representative for the 6th Congressional District. Incumbent Derek Kilmer has announced he won’t run again. Randall has been a state senator since 2018. Filing to run against her are: state Lands Commissioner Hilary Franz of Tacoma; state Sen. Drew C. MacEwen of Union; J. Graham Ralston of Port Angeles; and Janis Clark of Federal Way.

Kurt Robertson of Silverdale joined the race for State Representative Position 1 May 8. Incumbent Tarra Simmons of Tracyton filed for the two-year post for Position 1 of the 23rd Legislative District May 9. Tiffany Attrill of Bainbridge Island filed May 10.

Ace Haynes of Suquamish filed May 10 to run against incumbent Drew Hansen of Seattle for a four-year term as state senator for District 23. Just before the deadline Lance Byrd of Bremerton also filed. Lori McPherson of Bremerton filed just before deadline May 10, as did Rachel Harter of Gig Harbor.

Filing for Position 2 of the 23rd Legislative District was John Gibbons of Poulsbo and Brynn Felix of Bremerton. They are all taking on Bainbridge Island’s Greg Nance, who was appointed to the position not long ago. It’s a two-year post. Jamie Miles of BI filed May 10.

Michele Caldier of Port Orchard filed for Position 2 of the 26th Legislative District, a post she’s held since 2015. She’s being challenged by Josh Smith of Gig Harbor. May 10 Tiffany Mitchell of Port Orchard also filed.

Heather Pauley of Silverdale filed May 7 for Public Utility District Commissioner Position 3, as did John Poppe of Silverdale.

Filings for Kitsap County Superior Court were: Tina Robinson of Silverdale for Position 1; Michelle Adams of Manchester for Position 2; Melissa A. Hemstreet of Silverdale for Position 3; William C. Houser of Silverdale for Position 4; Jeffrey P. Bassett of Silverdale for Position 5; Kevin D. Hull of Silverdale for Position 6; Jennifer Forbes of Silverdale for Position 7; and Cadine Ferguson-Brown for Position 8.

Over 80 locals filed for the numerous precinct committee openings.