Spartans snag league crown for sixth time

Metro League Champions.

Don’t stop us if you’re heard this one before.

And, unfortunately for the rest of the Metro League, they have heard this one before. Five times before, as a matter of fact.

And from Lakeside to Cleveland, and all teams in between, no one could stop the Spartans.

Bainbridge won the Metro League title in boys swimming & diving during the championships late last week — the sixth time the Spartans have claimed the crown.

Bainbridge easily left Lakeside in its wake, and swamped top contenders O’Dea and Roosevelt, as well.

The Spartans finished with a team total of 826 points, followed by Lakeside in second, with 704.

The Fighting Irish claimed third, with 699.50, while the Rough Riders fell to fourth, with a team score of 528.50.

Crucial wins in the 200-yard and 400-yard freestyle races — and 120 points — helped seal the deal for the Spartans.

Also figuring big in the championships: the Bainbridge divers. The Spartans won first, second, fourth and sixth place in the event, adding another 105 points to the team’s total.

Bainbridge started the meet eight points behind O’Dea after the Irish won the first race, the 200-yard medley relay.

The Spartan foursome of Ben Chapman, Andrew Witty, Tyler Stewart and Oskar Bannister placed third, improving on their preliminary time of 1:40.36 to finish in 1:37.66 for the final.

Bainbridge bounced back in the second event, with Jude Wenker taking the 200-yard freestyle title with a first-place time of 1:40.37 — a remarkable improvement over his prelim time of 1:45.19.

Colin McDevitt, a freshman, was eighth for Bainbridge in the 200 free, with a finals time of 1:49.15. Finn Wenker was ninth for BHS (1:47.96), and Ian Lipton was 11th (1:49.28).

Witty snagged second place in the 200-yard individual medley, touching the wall at 1:57.30 (prelim time, 1:59.87).

Thomas Witty also added 15 points to Bainbridge’s team score with a 12th-place finish in the 200 IM (2:06.46). Alex Miller was 19th (2:12.31) and William Bang-Knudsen was 22nd (2:18.87).

In the 50-yard freestyle, Bannister placed eighth in 22.44.

Other Spartans scoring in the race included Harrison Villella, who tied for 11th place with Roosevelt’s Jacob Becker (22.78); Ben Cohen, in 14th place (22.95); and Eamon Greathouse, 22nd place (23.69).

Kiernan Liberman was first in 1-meter diving, winning the Metro title with a finals score of 480.05.

Brian Taylor was second for the Spartans, with a score of 419.10.

Henry Sauermann finished fourth in diving, with a score of 343.45, while Guy Weibel was sixth (337.65).

In the 100-yard butterfly, Bainbridge had two top-eight finishers.

Tyler Stewart was third, in 52.25, and Cohen was fourth, in 52.83.

Chapman swam to 11th place in the 100 fly (53.29) while Ian Longridge was 15th (57.08).

Jude Wenker won the league championship in the 100-yard freestyle. He finished in 45.87, an improvement over his prelim time of 47.05.

Bannister tied for second with Jack McGrath of O’Dea, with a time of 48.16.

In the B Final for the 100 free, Villella placed 10th for BHS (49.64) while Finn Wenker was 13th (49.87).

Bainbridge picked up more points from four Spartan swimmers in the 500-yard freestyle.

McDevitt was seventh (4:59.49); Curtis Stewart was 10th (5:10.07); Jason Nordgren was 14th (5:15.71); and Thomas Defawe was 17th (5:16.62).

The Spartans won the 200-yard freestyle relay with the lineup of Villella, Lipton, Tyler Stewart and Jude Wenker.

They finished first in 1:26.39.

Bainbridge swimmers also placed in the A, B, and C Finals for the 100-yard backstroke.

Chapman claimed fifth place with a time of 56.14.

Peter Bang-Knudsen was 13th in 59.10, and William Bang-Knudsen was 16th, 1:02.39, in the B Final.

In the C Final for the 100 back, Matthew Ryan was 18th in 1:01.83.

Andrew Witty took second place in the 100-yard breaststroke, finishing in 58.61. Tyler Stewart was eighth, with a time of 1:00.76.

Ian Lipton swam to a ninth-place tie with James Javier of Lakeside in the B Final (1:00.54). Thomas Witty was 16th, in 1:04.85.

The Spartans closed out the meet with another first-place win in the 400-yard freestyle.

The team of Bannister, Andrew Witty, Lipton and Jude Wenker finished first in 3:11.74. Their prelim time in the race was 3:15.06.

More in Sports

Seattle to Portland bike ride goes virtual

Although the Northwest cycling season was effectively stopped short after February’s Chilly… Continue reading

Putting in the miles: Routes to help you complete your virtual summer races

Normally at this time of year, racing season for professionals, amateurs and… Continue reading

Two new coaches join staff at Bainbridge High School

The Bainbridge Island School District recently announced the selections of two new… Continue reading

Sports officials release COVID-19 guidance for high school athletics

A three-phase plan endorsed by the National Federation of High School Associations… Continue reading

A lost season: WIAA declares spring sports season won’t happen

The spring sports season is officially over — earlier and emptier than… Continue reading

Spartan gridiron star signs to play with Lewis and Clark

Bainbridge High School senior Sio Peato recently signed a letter of intent… Continue reading

Spartans claim second place at state swim meet

Spartan swimmer Jude Wenker found himself in a familiar place on Saturday… Continue reading

Sole State Spartan wrestler grapples through two showings

Bainbridge High Schooler Garrett Swanson, the only member of the school’s varsity… Continue reading

Annual cycling season kickoff returns to island streets | Photo gallery

Once more the last Sunday in February heralded the unofficial start of… Continue reading

Spartans send two gymnasts to State

Two gymnasts from the Bainbridge Spartan squad have qualified for this week’s… Continue reading

Spartans swim to second at Districts

Jude Wenker placed first in the 200-yard freestyle and also won the… Continue reading

Juanita loss knocks Spartans from SeaKing tourney

A first-game loss to Juanita Feb. 15 ended the postseason run of… Continue reading