BI Men’s Masters claim a win at Covered Bridge Regatta

BI Men’s Masters claim a win at Covered Bridge Regatta

  • Friday, May 5, 2017 3:11pm
  • Sports

EUGENE, OREGON – The Bainbridge Island Rowing Club’s Men’s Master oarsmen ruled the waves at the recent Covered Bridge Regatta.

The Bainbridge Island Rowing Club’s Men’s Masters continued their winning ways at the Covered Bridge Rowing Regatta in Eugene, Oregon last weekend. The Bainbridge teams won every event they entered, and the only second-place finish was in the event where two Bainbridge four with coxswain crews finished first and second.

The Bainbridge men also won the premier eight oared event in a field of eight crews that also included Oregon State Alumni (second), Station L (third), Corvallis (fourth), Sammamish (fifth), Oregon Association (sixth), North Bay from California (seventh) and Willamette (eighth).

Master rower John Christensen of Bainbridge had the distinction of winning gold medals in three events, including the coxed four, the men’s eight, and the men’s single shell race.

The regatta was held on Saturday, April 15 and Sunday, April 16. The bad weather on Saturday caused the mixed men’s and women’s masters eight event to be cancelled.

Fortunately, conditions improved for the other competitions on Sunday.

The Bainbridge Women’s Masters four placed third in their event, and there were also several other Bainbridge women crews that competed but did not medal in the event.

The line ups of the victorious teams are: Mark Olason, John Christensen, Kurt Frost, Don Fannon, William McGonagle, Tim Goss, Nicolai Otte, Brandon Fleet and cox Jesse Pomerantz (men’s eight, first); Olason, Christensen, Frost, Fannon and cox Paige Montgomery (men’s four, first); McGonagle, Fleet, Eric Diggers, Malcolm Saunders and cox Meagan Ledoux (men’s four, second): Otte, Goss, Caleb Samson, Anthony Oddo and cox Sam Bloom (men’s four, first); and Tammy Galbraith, Ann Livengood, Meloni Courtway, Karol Danielsson and cox Addison Taylor (women’s four, third).

BI Men’s Masters claim a win at Covered Bridge Regatta

More in Sports

Olympic’s Joshua Gauyan evades the defense of Port Angeles’ Jeremiah Hall on Friday night in Port Angeles. (Keith Thorpe/Olympic Peninsula News Group)
Prep Football: Week 8 roundup

Sequim 33, Kingston 20 The Bucs opened the game with a successful… Continue reading

The North Kitsap passing game struggled Thursday, but quarterback Colton Bower rushed for 133 yards and two touchdowns in his team’s 32-0 win over Bainbridge. (Mark Krulish/Kitsap News Group)
Weather forces NK to use ground game in 32-0 win over BI

If North Kitsap hopes to go far in the state high school… Continue reading

Bainbridge quarterback Jack Grant, left, hands off to Garrett Goade as Port Angeles defender Jeremiah Hall closes in on Friday night in Port Angeles. (Keith Thorpe/Olympic Peninsula News Group)
Football Roundup: Week 7

Port Angeles 27, Bainbridge 7 The Spartans had their opportunities, but the… Continue reading

Bainbridge senior Eden Michael took home a second-place finish in the final regular season cross country league meet at Battle Point Park. Michael’s performance helped lead Bainbridge to a team victory. (Mark Krulish/Kitsap News Group photos)
Bainbridge girls win final league meet

NK girls, Kingston boys each run to 2nd place

Bainbridge senior Maddy Brown looks to pry the ball loose from a Sequim player during her team’s 1-0 win Thursday night. Mark Krulish/Bainbridge Island Review photos
Bainbridge maintains top spot with 1-0 win over Sequim

Keeping the positive momentum going was the order of the day for… Continue reading

Mark Krulish
Prep playoffs could mirror Mariners excitement

If you were one of the 44,164 folks who attended the Mariners… Continue reading

Bainbridge middle blocker Allie Wildsmith blasts a shot through Kingston’s defense in her team’s three-set win Tuesday night. (Mark Krulish/Kitsap News Group)
Spartans defense feeds offense in win over Kingston

Offense might get a lot of attention in volleyball, but without good… Continue reading

Bremerton quarterback Josh Tapangco threw a pair of touchdown passes in his team’s 32-0 win over Bainbridge on Friday night. (Mark Krulish/Kitsap News Group)
Football Roundup: Week 6

North Kitsap 49, Sequim 7 The Vikings continued their march through the… Continue reading

Bainbridge’s Caleb Durrance closes in on fallen Bremerton quarterback Joshua Tapangco during the Spartans 32-0 loss to the Knights. (Mark Krulish/Kitsap News Group)
10 turnovers help Bremerton blank BI

It was Friday night and Homecoming night at Memorial Stadium on Bainbridge… Continue reading

Bainbridge sophomore Kathryn Houseman swims to victory in the 500-yard freestyle in Tuesday’s tri-meet against North Kitsap and Kingston. (Mark Krulish/Kitsap News Group)
BHS swimmers dominating on road to state

With a reloaded roster full of experienced underclassmen, the Bainbridge girls swim… Continue reading

Finn Miller plays defense against his Mercer Island counterpart, Finn Friedland (7), in Monday night’s water polo match agains the Islanders. Bainbridge won 17-8. (Mark Krulish/Kitsap News Group)
BHS water polo beats Mercer Island to remain undefeated

In the 50-year history of boys high school water polo in Washington… Continue reading

North Kitsap improved to 4-0 on the season with a 42-7 win over Olympic on Friday. (Mark Krulish/Kitsap News Group)
Football roundup: Week 5

North Kitsap 42, Olympic 7 The Trojans hung tough for a while,… Continue reading