BHS swimmers sink Irish of O’Dea

   - Logo courtesy of Bainbridge High School
— image credit: Logo courtesy of Bainbridge High School

SEATTLE - The Bainbridge High varsity boys swim team dominated swimmers from O’Dea High 109-61 during a meet on the road Friday, Jan. 17.

The Spartans took first place in the 200-yard freestyle, 200-yard individual medley, 100-yard butterfly, 500-yard freestyle, 100-yard backstroke, 100-yard breaststroke and the 400-yard freestyle relay events.

BHS will swim again on the road against West Seattle at 3:30 p.m. Friday, Jan. 24.

The Spartans will return home to the Bainbridge Aquatic Center to swim against Bishop Blanchet at 3:30 p.m. Friday, Jan. 31.

Bainbridge vs. O’Dea Results

Bainbridge Spartan Swim and Dive, 109

O’Dea, 61


First: O’Dea A Relay, 1:45.00 (J.C. Heckman III, Francisco Gonzalez, Jeff Jones, Grant Gamroth)

Second: Bainbridge B Relay, 1:46.80 (James Bullock, Bill Lee, Spencer T. Alpaugh, Parker Bushey)

Third: Bainbridge C 1:58.34 (Connor Williams, Jack Kapel, Adam Comeau, Alex De Santiago)

Fourth: O’Dea B Relay, 2:08.40 (Sam Johnson, Justin Leary-Bignayan, Ryan Liam, Theo Falip)


First: Spencer T. Alpaugh, Bainbridge, 1:56.62

Second: Sam Alpaugh, Bainbridge, 2:01.65

Third: Henry Bacon, Bainbridge, 2:03.30

Fourth: Broderick Fitch, O’Dea, 2:09.47

Fifth: Max Withers, O’Dea, 2:21.64


First: J.C. Heckman III, O’Dea, 23.42

Second: Andrew Callahan, Bainbridge, 23.84

Third: Adam Comeau, Bainbridge, 25.09

Fourth: Justin Leary-Bignayan, O’Dea 26.18

Fifth: Nick Williams, Bainbridge, 26.24

Sixth: Will Trainer, O’Dea, 27.03


First: Grant Gamroth, O’Dea, 50.58

Second: CJ Waite, Bainbridge, 52.15

Third: Parker Bushey, Bainbridge, 52.52

Fourth: Andrew Callahan, Bainbridge, 52.91

Fifth: Ollie Depina, O’Dea, 57.23

Sixth: Andy Johnson, O’Dea, 1:00.74


First: Jack Riley, Bainbridge, 5:31.04

Second: Patrick Barba, O’Dea, 5:47.22

Third: Henry Bacon, Bainbridge, 5:50.55

Fourth: Eric Nibarger, Bainbridge, 6:04.78

Fifth: Willem Chamberlain, O’Dea, 6:58.57


First: O’Dea A Relay, 1:34.49 (J.C. Heckman III, Grant Gamroth, Ollie Depina, Jeff Jones)

Second: Bainbridge A Relay, 1:35.03 (CJ Waite, Andrew Callahan, Marcus Tonsmann, Parker Bushey)

Third: Bainbridge B Relay, 1:40.30 (Adam Comeau, Nick Williams, Sam Alpaugh, Keenan Grant)

Fourth: Bainbridge C Relay, 1:43.86 (Connor Williams, Andrew Yalung, Alex De Santiago, Arthur Bacon)


First: James Bullock, Bainbridge, 1:02.23

Second: J.C. Heckman III, O’Dea, 1:02.36

Three: Bill Lee, Bainbridge, 1:03.47

Fourth: Michael Moran, O’Dea, 1:12.36

Fifth: Andrew Yalung, Bainbridge, 1:26.46


First: Keenan Grant, Bainbridge, 1:06.91

Second: Francisco Gonzalez, O’Dea, 1:08.89

Third: Justin Leary-Bignayan, O’Dea, 1:11.67

Fourth: Adrien Chaussabel, Bainbridge, 1:12.28

Fifth: Jack Kapel, Bainbridge, 1:17.74


First: Bainbridge A Relay, 3:33.77 (CJ Waite, Andrew Callahan, Parker Bushey, Marcus Tonsmann)

Second: Bainbridge B Relay, 3:36.15 (Adam Comeau, Bill Lee, Sam Alpaugh, Spencer T. Alpaugh)

Third: O’Dea A Relay, 3:51.03 (Patrick Barba, Ollie Depina, Jeff Jones, Broderick Fitch)

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates