Spartans excel at Kentridge Invitational

  - Image courtesy of Bainbridge High School
— image credit: Image courtesy of Bainbridge High School

FEDERAL WAY - The Bainbridge High varsity boys swim team had an exceptional showing in the 23rd Annual Kentridge Invitational at the King County Aquatics Center on Saturday, Jan. 11.

Schools competing in the event included Moses Lake, Mercer Island, Kamiak, Hanford, Richland, Issaquah, Shorewood, Lake Stevens, Mountian View, Lakeside, Snohomish, O’Dea, Union, Kamiak High and others.

“BHS did very well, state times [in the] 200-yard freestyle relay, the 200-yard freestyle and the 100-yard breast,” said Spartan Head Coach Kaycee Taylor.

State qualifying times in the 200-yard freestyle relay were set by CJ Waite, Andrew Callahan, Bill Lee and Parker Bushey.

Marcus Tonsmann posted a new state time in the 200-yard freestyle and CJ Waite in the 100-yard breaststroke.

“The Spartans have two of three relays qualified,” Taylor said. “The 400-yard freestyle relay just missed the cut by .3 seconds, and several individuals are all set for the big show next month.”

Early February will see the start of Metro preliminaries and finals before the commencement of district preliminaries Friday, Feb. 14.

The next home swim will be Friday, Jan. 31 against Bishop Blanchet.

2014 Kentridge Invitational Results


First: Issaquah A Relay, 1:37.87 (Jason Klein, Ben Nussbaum, Gabe Florsheim, Henry Pratt)

Second: Lakeside A Relay, 1:38.64 (Abrahm DeVine, Thomas Hutchison, Kyle Curtis, Carter Jacobsen)

Third: Mercer Island A Relay, 1:40.18 (Andrew Weiss, Andrew Fukuda, Duncan Koontz, Noah Deiparine)

11th: Bainbridge A Relay, 1:45.25 (Sam Alpaugh, CJ Waite, Spencer T. Alpaugh, Marcus Tonsmann)

17th: Bainbridge B Relay, 1:48.03 (James Bullock, Keenan Grant, Adam Comeau, Parker Bushey)

44th: Bainbridge C Relay, 1:59.40 (Connor Williams, Jack Kapel, Alex De Santiago, Nick Williams)


First: Brenden Eslick, Moses Lake, 1:46.15

Second: Ben Gore, Mercer Island, 1:46.58

Third: Shelby Lee, Kamiak, 1:46.59

10th: Marcus Tonsmann, Bainbridge, 1:49.12

22nd: Parker Bushey, Bainbridge 1:55.12

41st: Keenan Grant, Bainbridge, 2:04.74


First: Tommy Thach, Kennedy, 1:56.77

Second: Jared Vargas, Wenatchee, 1:59.82

Third: Henry Limm, Kamiak, 2:00.87

Eighth: Spencer T. Alpaugh, Bainbridge, 2:03.30

13th: Sam Alpaugh, Bainbridge, 2:09.32

15th: Bill Lee, Bainbridge, 2:09.66

44th: Adrien Chaussabel, Bainbridge, 2:28.13


First: Noah Deiparine, Mercer Island, 21.63

Second: William Burgett, Prosser, 22.24

Third: Andrew Garrison, Shorewood, 22.51

20th: Andrew Callahan, Bainbridge, 23.60

41st: Alex De Santiago, Bainbridge, 24.47

45th: Nick Williams, Bainbridge, 24.59

67th: David Jenkins, Bainbridge, 25.35

94th: Jack Riley, Bainbridge, 26.00

120th Andrew Yalung, Bainbridge, 26.62

138th: Adrien Chaussabel, Bainbridge, 27.47

152nd: Sean Powell, Bainbridge, 28.04

193rd: Eric Nibarger, Bainbridge, 29.93

196th: Mason Ogden, Bainbridge, 30.47

200th: James Muir, Bainbridge, 30.69


First: Chase Reid, Lake Stevens, 207.75

Second: Casey Benson, O’Dea, 184.65

Third: Mitch Piper, Richland, 182.35


First: Gabe Florsheim, Issaquah, 52.11

Second: Andrew Franco-Munoz, Lindbergh, 52.60

Third: Eban Schumann, Kamiak, 53.40

Eighth: Marcus Tonsmann, Bainbridge, 55.30

22nd: Adam Comeau, Bainbridge, 59.35

29th: David Jenkins, Bainbridge, 1:00.08

75th: Eric Nibarger, Bainbridge, 1:13.68


First: Ian Caldwell, Mercer Island, 47.80

Second: Andrew Weiss, Mercer Island, 47.96

Third: Andrew Franco-Munoz, Lindbergh, 48.16

22nd: Parker Bushey, Bainbridge, 52.18

23rd: Andrew Callahan, Bainbridge, 52.19

63rd: Alex De Santiago, Bainbridge, 56.58

97th: Adrien Chaussabel, Bainbridge, 59.51

164th: Alex Larson-Freeman, Bainbridge, 1:12.07


First: David Conger, Mercer Island, 4:46.27

Second: Patrick Giedeman, Richland, 4:48.40

Third: Zack Johnston, Moses Lake, 4:52.92

Sixth: Spencer Alpaugh, Bainbridge, 4:55.15

10th: James Bullock, Bainbridge, 5:08.46


First: Mercer Island A Relay, 1:28.09 (Andrew Weiss, Austin Ralph, Brandt Waesche, Ian Caldwell)

Second: Lakeside A Relay, 1:28.52 (Carter Jacobsen, Abrahm DeVine, Thomas Hutchison, Daniel Ryaboshapka)

Third: Shorewood High School A Relay, 1:30.65 (Galen Kintner, Tore Landboe, Jonah Hoverson, Andrew Garrison)

10th: Bainbridge A Relay, 1:33.37 (CJ Waite, Andrew Callahan, Bill Lee, Parker Bushey)

21st: Bainbridge B Relay, 1:37.45 (Alex De Santiago, Adam Comeau, Keenan Grant, Nick Williams)

66th: Bainbridge C Relay, 1:53.46 (Eric Nibarger, Mason Ogden, Jack Riley, David Jenkins)


First: Tommy Thach, Kennedy, 53.22

Second: Shelby Lee, Kamiak, 54.12

Third: Jason Klein, Issaquah, 54.15

Sixth: Sam Alpaugh, Bainbridge, 56.19

27th: James Bullock, Bainbridge, 1:02.06


First: Noah Deiparine, Mercer Island, 58.94

Second: Ben Nussbaum, Issaquah, 59.99

Third: Jared Vargas, Wenatchee, 1:01.15

Eighth: CJ Waite, Bainbridge, 1:02.96

16th: Keenan Grant, Bainbridge, 1:04.66

25th: Bill Lee, Bainbridge, 1:07.99


First: Mercer Island A Relay, 3:10.42 (Noah Deiparine, Andrew Weiss, Brandt Waesche, Ian Caldwell)

Second: Lakeside A Relay, 3:18.38 (Daniel Ryaboshapka, Hugh Jacobsen, Abrahm DeVine, Carter Jacobsen)

Third: Kamiak A Relay, 3:19.99 (Shelby Lee, Henry Limm, Daniel Carey, Eban Schumann)

Seventh: Bainbridge A Relay, 3:25.80 (Bill Lee, Andrew Callahan, Marcus Tonsmann, CJ Waite)

41st: Bainbridge C Relay, 3:57.61 (Andrew Yalung, Adrien Chaussabel, David Jenkins, Jack Kapel)

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates