Lions get help against Bainbridge

  - Image courtesy of Bainbridge High School
— image credit: Image courtesy of Bainbridge High School

SEATTLE - The Bainbridge High varsity boys swim team was defeated at an away meet against Lakeside High Friday, Jan. 10 with a final score of 93-77.

At least, that’s what the scoreboard said.

Spartan Head Coach Kaycee Taylor said, however, that the numbers don’t tell the whole story.

“When we compete against a co-ed team [Lakeside] from the Metro League, we are actually only swimming against the boys for points,” he explained.

The actual results show much to be proud of.

Bainbridge took second and third place in the boys 200-yard medley relay.

Spartan swimmer Marcus Tonsmann claimed first place in the boys 200-yard freestyle (1:53.40); Spencer Alpaugh finished first in the boys 200-yard individual medley (2:01.29); Marcus Tonsmann took second place in the 100-yard butterfly (55.15); and Andrew Callahan finished in second place in the 100-yard freestyle event (52.74).

Lakeside vs. Bainbridge Results


First: Lakeside School, 1:43.50 (Daniel Ryaboshapka, Hugh Jacobsen, Kyle Curtis, Carter Jacobsen)

Second: Bainbridge Spartan Swim and Dive A Relay, 1:43.77 (Sam Alpaugh, CJ Waite, Spencer T. Alpaugh, Marcus Tonsmann)

Third: Bainbridge B Relay, 1:47.15 (James Bullock, James, Keenan Grant, Adam Comeau, Parker Bushey)

Fourth: Lakeside, 1:47.40 (Thomas Thomas Hutchison, Thongmee, Gavin Blake, Loren Wallace)

Fifth: Bainbridge C Relay, 1:57.74 (Connor Williams, Jack Kapel, David Jenkins, Nick Williams)


First: Marcus Tonsmann, Bainbridge, 1:53.41

Second: Blake Seidner, Lakeside, 1:54.91

Third: Parker Bushey, Bainbridge, 1:56.82

Fourth: Daniel Matthewson, Lakeside, 2:02.02

Fifth: Keenan Grant, Bainbridge, 2:03.22


First: Spencer T. Alpaugh, Bainbridge, 2:01.29

Second: Thomas Hutchison, Lakeside, 2:01.69

Third: Sam Alpaugh, Bainbridge, 2:09.49

Fourth: Bill Lee, Bainbridge, 2:10.26

Fifth: David Zhao, Lakeside, 2:20.80


First: Carter Jacobsen, Lakeside, 23.06

Second: Daniel Ryaboshapka, Lakeside, 23.68

Third: Andrew Callahan, Bainbridge, 23.73

Fourth: Andy Parks, Lakeside, 24.08

Fifth: Nick Williams, Bainbridge, 24.67

Sixth: Alex De Santiago, Bainbridge, 24.95


First: Abrahm DeVine, Lakeside, 52.12

Second: Marcus Tonsmann, Bainbridge, 55.15

Third: Kyle Curtis, Lakeside, 57.03

Fourth: Gavin Blake, Lakeside, 58.99

Fifth: Adam Comeau, Bainbridge, 1:00.06

Sixth: David Jenkins, Bainbridge, 1:00.85


First: Hugh Jacobsen, Lakeside, 51.74

Second: Andrew Callahan, Bainbridge, 52.74

Third: Andy Parks, Lakeside, 53.14

Fourth: Parker Bushey, Bainbridge, 53.52

Fifth: Alex De Santiago, Bainbridge, 57.92


First: Carter Jacobsen, Lakeside, 4:53.29

Second: Spencer T. Alpaugh, Bainbridge, 4:53.55

Third: James Bullock, Bainbridge, 5:18.42

Fourth: Jack Riley, Bainbridge, 5:28.67

Fifth: Daniel Matthewson, Lakeside, 5:41.07


First: Lakeside, 1:32.54 (Abrahm DeVine, Thomas Hutchison, Andy Parks, Blake Seidner)

Second: Bainbridge A Relay, 1:35.16 (CJ Waite, Andrew Callahan, Bill Lee, Marcus Tonsmann)

Third: Bainbridge B Relay, 1:37.59 (Andrew Yalung, Adam Comeau, Keenan Grant, Nick Williams)

Fourth: Lakeside B Relay, 1:39.70 (Gavin Blake, Kyle Curtis, Rob Sheppard, Loren Wallace)

Fifth: Bainbridge C Relay, 1:42.18 (Alex De Santiago, Connor Williams, Henry Bacon, David Jenkins)


First: Daniel Ryaboshapka, Lakeside, 56.95

Second: Sam Alpaugh, Bainbridge, 57.46

Third: James Bullock, Bainbridge, 1:02.85

Fourth: Hugh Jacobsen, Lakeside, 1:05.05

Fifth: Trey Leigh, Lakeside, 1:08.85

Sixth: Connor Williams, Bainbridge, 1:15.17


First: Abrahm DeVine, Lakeside, 1:01.55

Second: Thomas Hutchison, Lakeside,1:02.41

Third: CJ Waite, Bainbridge, 1:04.97

Fourth: Keenan Grant, Bainbridge, 1:06.03

Fifth: Bill Lee, Bainbridge, 1:07.42


First: Lakeside A Relay, 3:28.60 (Abrahm DeVine, Carter Jacobsen, Hugh Jacobsen, Daniel Ryaboshapka)

Second: Bainbridge A Relay, 3:33.60 (Bill Lee, Andrew Callahan,Parker Bushey, CJ Waite)

Third: Bainbridge B Relay, 3:34.52 (James Bullock, Sam Alpaugh, Adam Comeau, Nick Williams)

Fourth: Lakeside B Relay, 3:45.03 (Daniel Matthewson, Andy Parks, Blake Seidner, Rob Sheppard)

Fifth: Lakeside C Relay, 4:14.21 (Floyd Summers, James Vogl, Caleb Zatto-Mayher, Greyson Zatzick)

Sixth: Bainbridge C Relay, 4:14.92 (Andrew Yalung, Cade Taylor, Harrison Shinohara, Jack Kapel)

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates