Bainbridge Island Rowing wins big in Seattle regatta

Bainbridge Second Girls Varsity 8+ rowed to a strong finish in Seattle’s Head of the Lake Regatta.  - Photo courtesy of Peggy Musselwhite
Bainbridge Second Girls Varsity 8+ rowed to a strong finish in Seattle’s Head of the Lake Regatta.
— image credit: Photo courtesy of Peggy Musselwhite

SEATTLE - Several teams of rowers from Bainbridge Island competed in Seattle’s Head of the Lake Regatta Sunday, Nov. 3. It is the largest fall regatta on the West Coast, featuring more than 430 boats from at least six states and Canada.

Approximately 70 Bainbridge High students and adults steered through the difficult three-mile race, which started in Lake Union and finished near the University of Washington Conibear Shellhouse.

Three varsity girls teams from Bainbridge Island Rowing placed third, sixth and 11th overall.

The third-place win is the BIR girls best ever performance at the regatta. The bronze medal team consisted of Natassja Haught (coxswain), Kylie Van Aken, Kate Hathaway, Elisabeth Chun, Faith Eckford-Prossor, Rosie Brown, Hannah Schneiderman, Samantha Dore and Justeen Komok.

The varsity boys also performed well with teams claiming the ninth, seventh and 11th places.

The BIR master (adult) program entered four crews in four different events, ultimately claiming two gold medals and one silver.

The first-place finisher of the Men’s Masters 1x (single scull) age 55-59 was John Christiansen.

The first place team of the Mixed (men and women) Masters 8+ (eight rowers plus coxswain) age 43-59 consisted of Brandon Fleet, Tim Gross, Susan Haines, Marilyn Tsolomitis, Callie Sheehan, Carrie Holloway, Kurt Frost, Mark Olason and Rachele Turnbull (coxswain).

The Womens Masters 4+ age 55-64 team took second place. The team consisted of Catherine Fawley, Kathy Scanlan, Barbara Dahn, Mary Alice O’Neill and Aubrie Rice (coxswain).

Seattle’s Head of the Lake Regatta is a “head” race, a timed competition in which boats begin in staggered positions rather than starting at the same time. The team with the fastest time is the winner.

Varsity Girls Line-ups, bow to stern:

1V 8+ (First Varsity Girls; 8 rowers plus coxswain)

Third place -- Bronze Medal

Kylie Van Aken

Kate Hathaway

Elisabeth Chun

Faith Eckford-Prossor

Rosie Brown

Hannah Schneiderman

Samantha Dore

Justeen Komok

Natassja Haught (coxswain)

2V 8+

Amina Lee

Leanne Anderson

Jemma Blazina

Abby Leigh

Liz Fawley

Samantha Pelliciotta

Carly Millerd

Emma Pazoff

Chrina Munn (c)

3V 8+

Kaylie Treskin

Elsa Godtfredsen

Maddie Haines

Kayla Buchmeier

MaryAnn Samson

Gen Sawyer

Tica Drury

Mira Rosenkotz

Sydney Gibbs (c)

Varsity Boys Line-ups, bow to stern:

1V 8+ (First Varsity Boys; 8 rowers plus coxswain)

Placed Ninth

Cole Sander

Bryson Allen

Trevor Wikstrom

Walker Hauptman

Gabe Schulz

Alex Derry

Keegan Dymoke

Thomas Musselwhite

Anna Obergottsberger (coxswain)

Varsity Boys 4+

Placed Ninth

Henry Lant

Zach Langford

Morgan Spray

Nick Tolley

Katie Alpaugh, (c)

2V 8+

Placed seventh

Kris Madsen

Zander Welch

Erik Nimb

Jack Kramer

Lars Erickson

Cole Magrini

Talbot Miller

Conner Martin

Nathan Johnson (c)

3V 8+

Placed 11th

Tarkan Al-Kazily

Trevor Maine

Sam Subbukumar

Harrison Hung

Michael Aber

David Goon

Gabe Schulz

John Michael Najarian

Keith Carlson (c)


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates