Bainbridge Island Review


Masters from Bainbridge Island Rowing claim five firsts in regatta

August 10, 2013 · Updated 11:48 AM

The Masters (adult) rowers from Bainbridge Island Rowing continued their successful summer season by taking first place in five of the eight events in which they competed at the “Summer Extravaganza” on Green Lake Saturday in Seattle.

Bainbridge Masters also had two third-place finishes, and came in sixth in an unusually competitive men’s lightweight event.

The popular regatta, hosted by Green Lake Crew, included both Juniors and Masters rowers from some 27 organizations. Racing Day on Aug. 3 was sunny and pleasant and the wind modest, making for very nice rowing conditions for the nearly 70 events.

Bainbridge coaches Morgan Seeley, Grant Dull, Chris Lane and Rachele Turnbull all expressed pride and happiness at their athletes’ performances. Individual rowers found it a thrilling experience to compete and, in many cases, to win.

This was one of the last regattas of the “sprint” (1,000 meters) season.  Now, rowers and coaches look forward to reorienting their training toward the longer “head” races of the fall season, in which the distances can range from 3 to 8 miles or more, and the boats race against the clock rather than side-by-side.

Summer Extravaganza Regatta Results

Masters Events at the 2013 Green Lake “Summer Extravaganza” Regatta in which Bainbridge Island Rowing participated (seats listed bow to stroke):

Women’s 2x (sculling pair)

Third place: Anne Seeley and Barb Emel

Women’s 4x (sculling coxless quad)

Third place: Molly Murdoch, Kate Berry, Amy Burton, Mary Madison

Women’s 4+ (coxed four)

First place: Linda Desrosiers, Judy Friesen, Barb Shane, Carrie Holloway; cox Karen Campbell

Women’s Novice 4+ (coxed four)

First place: Nancy Pearson, Kim Kouns, Leah Kriegh, Jolene Schroeter; junior cox Chrina Munn

Women’s 8+ (coxed eight)

First place: Barb Emel, Molly Murdoch, Linda Desrosiers, Barb Shane, Judy Friesem, Amy Burton, Kate Berry, Carrie Holloway; cox Karen Campbell

Men’s 4+ (coxed four)

First place: Brandon Fleet, Mark Olason, Mike Johns, Dean Dale; cox Isabel Vassiliadis

Men’s Lightweight 4+ (coxed four)

Sixth place: Mike Nance, Chrys Hansen, Matt Olson, John Foy; junior cox Parker Isenman

Mixed Men’s & Women’s 8+  (coxed eight)

First place: Linda Desrosiers, Amy Burton, Dean Dale, Chrys Hansen, Matt Olson, Mark Olason, Kate Berry, Carrie Holloway; junior cox Parker Isenman


Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us