Roller Hockey Roundup

"Division One (ages 7-10) Lightning 3, Coyotes 2 The Lightning clinched the Division One title with one goal scored by Lyle Daniel and two by Cole Kawaguchi, with assists from Brandon Keller and Lyle Daniel. Throughout the season the Lightning focused on developing its strong defense, and they would not have won without goalie Matt Sandridge's performance. The Coyotes, coming off a spectacular win against the Mighty Ducks in sudden death overtime during the playoffs, came close to tying up the final game in the last period when Bjorn Ostenson and Cameron Parker both scored. Division Two (ages 11-13) Islanders 6, Flames 4 Charlie Knight's wicked slapshot and Sidney Rosen's solid performance in net lead the Islanders to a 6-4 victory over the Flames in the Division Two championship game. Coach Pogo Knight said that his Islanders started from level zero at the beginning of the season. All of the practicing paid off, and the team began to play like champions. Flames Coach Geoff Campbell said sportsmanship pulled the team through a tough fight; Scott Heinemann and Max Jowise filled in for a missing goalie and prevented many attempts on goal from the Islanders' aggressive offense. Zach McDonald, Max Jowise and David Buros scored for the Flames. Division Three (ages 14-16) Sharks 9, Stars 6 The Sharks captured the Division Three championship game with nine goals scored by Erik Elmquist, Hans Olson, Keith Mowell and Drew Roberds. The game was tight until the third period when a powerful slapshot from Erik Elmquist broke a tie and the Sharks surged ahead. In the goal, the Sharks were led by Elliott Thompson, who blocked more than a dozen attempts. It was a heartbreaking loss for the Stars, the highest ranked team heading into the playoffs. Chris Lusk, Michael Lubavich and Meghan Colkitt scored. Veteran goalie Sean Parker earned credit for his play defending the net.The Mary Clare Award At the end of each season the Bainbridge Roller Hockey League awards the Mary Clare Award for sportsmanship to one player chosen from each team. The award is named for league founder Mary Clare Kersten, and is awarded to players who demonstrate outstanding sportsmanship qualities including dedication, leadership, compassion and a love of the game. This year's awards went to the following players: Division One: Willie Hayward, Eric Attendido, Lyle Daniel and Julia Chamberlain Division Two: Colton Christensen, Scott Heinemann, Scott Sandridge and Charlie Reis Division Three: Chris Lusk, Gerrit Dahlquist, Tyler Morgan and Keith Mowell "

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates