Spartans secure second place in Metro League swimming meet

Bainbridge earned second place in the Metro League Championships at Roosevelt High after multiple Spartan swimmers had top-10 finishes.

Lakeside won the team title with 318 points.

Bainbridge finished with 185 for second, followed by O'Dea with 165 for third.

Ingraham placed fourth (146) and Seattle Prep was fifth (121).

Strong performances by the Spartan relay teams in the 200-yard freestyle and medley races pushed Bainbridge into second place overall.

Bainbridge took second place in the 200-yard medley relay with a time of 1:42.29.

Lakeside won the event, and finished in 1:40.13. Seattle Prep was third in 1:42.93.

Bainbridge's Bill Lee finished in ninth place in the 200-yard freestyle in 1:55.88. Henry Stolz of Lakeside was first in 1:44.36.

The Spartans had three top finishers in the 200-yard individual medley.

Spencer Alpaugh took third place in 2:01.67.

Fellow Spartan Marcus Tonsmann placed ninth with a time of 2:07.23. Sam Alpaugh finished in 11th place in 2:13.42.

Abrahm DeVine of Lakeside won the event with a time of 1:58.32.

In the 50-yard freestyle, Kevin Yalung won third place in 22.49.

Grant Neil from O'Dea finished first in 21.89.

Yalung also won sixth place in the 100-yard freestyle. He finished in 51.10. Lee took 12th place for Bainbridge in 53.07.

Michael Goodwin of Seattle Prep was first in 48.42.

In the 100-yard butterfly, Spencer Alpaugh was third in 54.97 and Tonsmann was fourth in 55.12 for the Spartans.

Adam Comeau came in ninth for BHS in 58.19.

Grant Neil from O'Dea was first with a time of 52.10.

Two Spartans finished in the top 10 in the 500-yard freestyle.

Logan McDaniel came in ninth place in 5:09.14, and Douglas  Ortyn was 10th in 5:25.91.

Lakeside's DeVine was first in 4:44.00.

The Spartans relay team finished second in the 200-yard freestyle relay with a time of 1:32.20.

O'Dea was first in 1:31.04.

Two Spartans finished in the top 10 in the 100-yard backstroke.

Sam Alpaugh finished seventh in 59.10, and McDaniel claimed eighth place in 59.67.

Hunter Wilson of Seattle Prep was first in 54.58.

The Spartans also found success in the 100-yard breaststroke.

Waite was fourth in 1:02.71, and Keenan Grant was sixth in 1:05.44.

Michael Shum of Lakeside took first place with a time of 1:00.45.

In the 400-yard freestyle relay, Bainbridge won fourth place with a time of 3:24.41.

Lakeside was first in 3:16.49, followed by Ingraham (3:22.33) and O'Dea (3:22.440).


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates