Bainbridge Island Review


Bainbridge grapplers take down Nathan Hale, Cleveland

December 10, 2012 · 2:21 PM

Bainbridge slammed Nathan Hale and crushed Cleveland in a dual-meet wrestling matchup at Bainbridge High late last week.

In Round 1, the Spartans faced Nathan Hale and prevailed, 57-24.

Bainbridge gave up the first two matches by forfeit.

Dylan Macduff won in the 106-pound weight class after Bainbridge failed to field a competitor.

Chris Moore (113-pound class) also won for the Raiders by forfeit.

The Spartans then reeled off six consecutive wins — five coming from pins.

Jonathn Gallivan (120) pinned Quin Damon of Nathan Hale in 5:01.

Cheney Weaver (126) pinned Grace Jones in 3:25.

Christian VanWagner (132) pinned Levi Golden in 1:04.

Jack Miller (138) won in a 10-4 decision against Teddy O'Brien.

Liam Topham (145) pinned James Carpio in 1:04.

Aaron Jumpa (152) pinned Adam Helgesson in 1:45.

The Raiders found success in the 160- and 170-pound classes.

Nathan Hale's Jasper Bourgette (160) won with a technical fall, 20-3, against the Spartans' Joaquin Gurza.

Mike Hodges (170) of Nathan Hale pinned Bryce MacDonald in 13 seconds.

Bainbridge had a few quick pins of its own.

In the 182-pound class, the Spartans' Weber Coryell pinned Lakpa Sherpa in 53 seconds. Tyler Moniz (195) then pinned Nick Vadino of Nathan Hale in 17 seconds.

Round 1 ended with two more Bainbridge victories.

Billy Schnase (220) won by forfeit.

Mike Grant (285) pinned Tristan Prout in 1:35.

In the second round against Cleveland, Bainbridge won 61-12.

The contest saw double forfeits in the 106- and 113-classes.

Bainbridge's Jonathn Gallivan then won by forfeit in the 120 class.

Tu Ma of Cleveland won by forfeit in the 126 class.

The Spartans won every match that followed.

Christian VanWagner (132) pinned Timothy Son in 1:23.

Jack Miller (138) notched a 14-2 major decision over Carlos Nieto.

Liam Topham (145), Aaron Jumpa (152), Weber Coryell (182), Tyler Moniz (195) and Billy Schnase (220) all won by forfeit.

Joaquin Gurza (160) beat Jubeil Moliga in an 8-3 decision.

Bryce MacDonald (170) pinned Robert Newman in 2:57.

Mike Grant won in a pin over Servando Hernandez in 1:26.



Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us