Roller hockey rolls off a great season

The Wild are all smiles as they celebrate their BIRHL Division I title win. (L-R, back row:) Jacob Hewes, Alexander Dudley, Coach Paul Travis, Paige Brigham, Jordan Greenfield, Quinn Balas. (L-R, front row:) Coach Darcy Brigham, Julia Denlinger, Andrew Yalung, Gabe Travis. - Courtesy of Tracey Denlinger
The Wild are all smiles as they celebrate their BIRHL Division I title win. (L-R, back row:) Jacob Hewes, Alexander Dudley, Coach Paul Travis, Paige Brigham, Jordan Greenfield, Quinn Balas. (L-R, front row:) Coach Darcy Brigham, Julia Denlinger, Andrew Yalung, Gabe Travis.
— image credit: Courtesy of Tracey Denlinger

The Panthers, Avalanche and Wild all brought home the gold.

Another season of the Bainbridge Island Roller Hockey League is in the books, with several playoff games decided by slim margins.

In Division III play, the Panthers upset the Canucks 8-4 for the championship.

Derry McDonald led the way with three goals – all in the third period – as the Panthers pulled away in a tightly contested game.

Scott Heinemann and John Windust each scored two goals while James Donella added one.

Heinemann also had two assists while Windust and Donella had one apiece.

Willie Hayward and Charlie Knight scored two goals each for the Canucks.

To get to the championship, the Panthers beat the Kings 9-6 last Thursday.

McDonald led the way with three goals, while Heinemann, Windust and Dylan Peterson had two apiece.

McDonald and Kevin Curran had two assists as well.

The Canucks made it thanks to their close 4-3 win over the Flyers.

Hayward and Knight led the way with two goals.

Ian Fullerton, Kevin Keller and Julia Chamberlain had a goal apiece for the Flyers while Fullerton kicked in an assist.

In the consolation game, the Flyers beat the Kings 9-8.

Fullerton led the way for the Flyers with three goals and three assists, while Keller and Croxford had two goals each.

Sam Wiggins and Becky Fullerton had a goal apiece.

Wiggins added three assists as well.

For the Kings, Klein and Kevin Strathdee had two goals while Andrew Strathdee, Matt Kundtz, Jacky Sheridan and Connor Fling had a goal each.

Sheridan also had three assists.

In Division II play, the Avalanche took down the Red Wings 7-5 in the title bout.

Kevin Yalung was the big scorer with five goals, while DK Wocjek had two.

Aeden Vickers contributed two assists, while Jake Brigham and Wocjek had one apiece.

The Red Wings got two goals each from Keats Hoonan and Duncan Hack while Josh Hoidn scored one.

“I felt we had a good chance of winning going into it because the team had been playing well the last part of the season,” Avalanche head coach Ian Fullerton said.

“What is most impressive about this team is that there are no superstars. I could put any four kids out there and they could win because they play like a team.”

Red Wing coach Richard Stephen-McRae, a member of the league since its inception in 1997, said he felt the team “had a breakdown,” during the game.

“They weren’t thinking defensively,” he said. “Sometimes that happens.”

But he was happy with the effort they had put in over the season.

“This summer we had a short bench, but we continued to pull out wins, close losses or ties because our team kept playing and skating hard,” he said.

The Avalanche made it in with their 6-5 win over the Devils.

Kevin Yalung had two goals for the Avs while Tyler Moniz, Luke McJunkin, Jake Brigham and Wojcek had one apiece.

Wojeck also had two assists.

Aaron Hack had two goals for the Devils while Grant Dunaway, Markus Woltjer and Maya Edwards all scored.

Brad Mowell, David Wolfson and Alex Branley each had an assist in the game.

The Red Wings made it thanks to their 5-2 win over the Flames.

Hoonan had two goals while Zach Dingels had a goal and an assist.

Cole devanderSchueren and Jack Odell scored for the Flames.

In the consolation game, the Devils defeated the Flames 3-2 in overtime.

Grant Dunaway scored two goals in regulation, but it was David Wolfson who scored the winning goal in the shootout.

In Division I play, the Wild took care of business with a 10-1 win over the Ducks in the title bout.

Paige Brigham and Andrew Yalung each had a hat trick while Jacob Hewes had two goals.

Jordan Greenfield and Gabe Travis contributed two assists each.

Thomas Woltjer scored the lone goal for the Ducks.

“Winning the Division I championship isn’t everything, but I’m pretty sure I’ll remember this season and this team for the rest of my life,” Wild head coach Paul Travis said. “The parents have been ultra supportive and we’ve had a ton of fun.”

The Lightning beat the Penguins 4-2 in the consolation game.

Riley Baron had two goals for the Lightning.

At the game, the winners of the Mary Clare Award were announced. They are: Division I – Wild: Julia Denlinger, Ducks: Thomas Woltjer, Penguins: August Janow, Lightning: Aiden Dorsey.

Division II – Flames: Evan McCloud, Devils: Brad Mowell, Avalanche: Delaney Keller, Red Wings: Duncan Hack.

Division III – Canucks: Matt Sandridge, Flyers: Julia Chamberlain, Panthers: Derry McDonald, Kings: Colton Christensen.

Dylan Peterson, Charlie Klein, Andrew Strathdee, Kevin Keller, Matt Kundtz and Richard Stephen-McRae were also honored as seniors who were playing their last season in the league.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates