Three new members to join Bainbridge council Wednesday, election of mayor to follow

Bainbridge Island's three newest council members — Val Tollefson, Wayne Roth and Roger Townsend — will take their oaths of office during a ceremonial swearing-in at the city council meeting next week.

The trio, who were elected to the council in landslide fashion in November, are already official members of the city council. The trio were sworn in Dec. 18 at city hall.

At the council meeting on Wednesday, Jan. 8, the three will again raise their right hands for the oath, then take their seats at the dais.

Wednesday's meeting will also include the council's vote for a new mayor and deputy mayor.

To choose a mayor from the seven council members, nominations will first be taken for a council member to serve as mayor.

If more than one nomination is made, a roll-call vote will be taken to choose the mayor.

Under state law, the council is required to pick a new chairman at the first meeting of the new council. The chosen chairman or chairwoman will preside over meetings of the council, and will have the title of mayor and be recognized as the head of the city for ceremonial purposes.

After the mayor is chosen, the new mayor will take over the meeting and the election of the deputy mayor will follow.

The Bainbridge Island City Council will meet at 7 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 8 at city hall.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates