Bainbridge Island says farewell to departing council members

The city of Bainbridge Island will hold a farewell ceremony for its departing council members at this week's meeting.

Leaving are council members Bob Scales, Debbi Lester and Kirsten Hytopoulos.

An island resident since 1999, Scales has served on the Position 7, North Ward seat for two four-year terms. He served from 2004 to 2007 prior to the council-manager form of government and again from 2010 to today.

In 2010, he was also elected by the council to serve as mayor.

Scales has more than 15 years of experience in city and county government and currently works as the director of government affairs in the Seattle City Attorney's Office.

Stepping into the North Ward position next year will be newly-elected Val Tollefson.

Lester has served on the Position 5, Central Ward seat since 2010.

Much of her work on and off the dais has focused both on improving transportation for residents and giving more exposure to the local arts community.

She has lobbied to keep ferry fares fair and service dependable. And as a council member, she has also encouraged numerous island-wide non-motorized transportation improvements.

Alongside city council, Lester has worked for 20 years as the publisher for Art Access Magazine, a Northwest-based arts publication.

With her involvement in the arts community, Lester has promoted public art, community gardens and the multitude of island organizations and programs over the course of her tenure.

Succeeding Lester in the Central Ward seat will be Wayne Roth.

Hytopoulos has served on the Position 3, South Ward seat since 2010.

During her tenure, she has represented the city as a member of the Kitsap Regional Coordinating Council and the Kitsap Board of Health. She has also advocated for environmental protection in a number of capacities.

Prior to her election, her community involvement spanned from founding Green Voices for Bainbridge Island to serving as a spokeswoman for the campaign to adopt the council-manager form of government.

In addition to her work with the city and community, Hytopoulos practices family law on the island.

Taking over her duties in January will be Roger Townsend.

All three council members decided earlier this year against seeking re-election.

Townsend, Roth and Tollefson were elected to council during the November 2013 General Election.

The farewell ceremony will begin at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday during the council's regular business meeting.

The city council meets at 7 p.m. every Wednesday in city hall.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates