UPDATE | Dettmer's lead grows in Bainbridge fire board race

Bainbridge Island's closest race in the 2013 General Election just got a little less so.

Theresa "Teri" Dettmer is now in front of opponent Holly vanSchaick by 299 votes in the battle for Position 5 on the board of commissioners for the Bainbridge Island Fire Department.

Dettmer previously led by 230 votes.

The Kitsap County Elections Division announced a new vote tally in last week's election on Friday, and 498 more votes were tabulated in the Dettmer-vanSchaick matchup.

In the latest count, Dettmer is ahead with 52.1 percent of all ballots cast, while vanSchaick has 47.7 percent.

Dettmer has 3,552 votes, and vanSchaick, 3,253. A total of 16 write-in ballots have also been counted so far.

This November marked a major makeover for the fire board of commissioners. Four of five seats were on the ballot, and three races were contested affairs.

In the Position 2 race, YongSuk Cho has 66.3 percent of the vote, and David H. Lynch has 33.5 percent.

In votes, Cho leads 5,039-2,547.

In the Position 4 race, Eileen A. McSherry leads William "Bill" Ruddick with 69.8 percent to 30.1 percent.

McSherry has 4,926 votes, while Ruddick has 2,124.

Dan Morrow ran unopposed for Position 3 on the Bainbridge fire board.

Morrow, who was appointed to the board last year, was the only incumbent in the fire board races.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates