UPDATE | Candidates line up for parks, school board seats

Besides the City Council race in November, Bainbridge will see several local races — for school district, fire department, and parks and recreation boards — which will, in their own way, determine the future of island life.

Bainbridge Island School District

Amid financial difficulties, increased teacher layoffs, and decreased enrollment, the men and women who become the island’s next school board members will have a lot on their hands.

As of Thursday afternoon, Dale Perry, Mary Ellen “Mev” Hoberg, and Sheila Jakubik had filed as candidates in the school board race.

On Monday, Hoberg, 48, the incumbent in District 3, filed her candidacy to retain her seat.

The newest member of the school board, Hoberg was appointed to the position in April 2012 to fill the vacancy left by the resignation of John Tawresey. The position carries a two-year unexpired term.

Jakubik, 45, also announced her candidacy Monday, for the District 5 position, currently held by Mary Curtis, who was elected to the post in 2005 and is now in her second term.

“I believe my skills as educator, director, parent, volunteer and community member make me uniquely qualified,” Jakubik said in a statement. “I hope to use all these experiences to serve on the School Board and help continue the educational excellence of the Bainbridge Island School District.”

Jakubik is currently the president of the Parent Teacher Organization Coordinating Council, which serves as the governing body for the district’s PTOs, and is the director of Bethany Lutheran Preschool on Bainbridge Island, a position she has held since 2008.

According to her profile on Bethany Lutheran Preschool’s website, she has a master’s degree in teaching and is certified in special education and English. She has 10 years of teaching experience. She has also worked as a Special Education teacher at Woodward Middle School.

Perry, 51, will run for the District 2 position, which is currently held by Mike Spence, the chairman of the school board, who was elected in November 2009.

Perry is managing director of SI Energy Group, and is also the board president of the Wing Point Community, Inc., the homeowners association for the 88-home neighborhood.

Both the District 2 and 5 seats carry a four-year term.

The five-member school board sets policy for the Bainbridge Island School District and also approves an annual budget for the district.

Bainbridge Island Fire Department Board

Four of the five seats on the Bainbridge Island Fire Department board of commissioners are up for elections this November and is seeing a spate of candidates vie for the control of the department.

The board is in charge of setting goals and policies, approving budgets, and overseeing the operations of the department.

This week, Theresa “Teri” Dettmer, David Lynch, Eileen McSherry, Dan Morrow, and William “Bill” Ruddick filed as candidates with the Kitsap County Auditor’s Office.

Ruddick and McSherry will face off in the six-year Position 4 seat, currently held by Maureen Halligan.

Ruddick, 65, is a business consultant. According to a biography posted online for his business, he is a graduate of the University of Puget Sound and majored in business administration and economics. He is also past president and director of the National Wood Window and Door Association and past member of the Institute of Management Consultants and The Strategic Planning Institute.

McSherry, 62, works as the human resources manager for Central Kitsap Fire and Rescue. Previously, she worked as regional director of communications and manager of labor and employee relations for the Social Security Administration in Seattle. She also served in human resources for Navy Region Northwest.

McSherry noted that personnel costs make up almost 85 percent of the operational costs of running the Bainbridge fire department, and said she is looking forward to offering her expertise to help make sure that the department’s financial and personnel practices best serve Bainbridge Island.

David Lynch, 62, seeks a six-year term as a commissioner for the Position 2 seat, currently held by Paul Bang-Knudsen. Lynch sees the commission as playing an increasingly important role in the island’s wellbeing.

“As the population of the Island has grown, so have the requirements for emergency and fire services,” he said.

With four commissioner positions out of five up for election this November, Lynch said the board is facing a significant switch in leadership.

“With the ‘change in the guard’ that is occurring in the commission, I see a need for continuing strong guidance, an opportunity to help ensure the Island always has a strong, vibrant department, and to make sure that it can continue to grow and provide optimal coverage to the island while remaining fiscally prudent,” Lynch said.

On Monday, Dan Morrow, 45, filed his candidacy to retain his seat as the commissioner for Position 3, which holds a four-year term.

“Since my unanimous appointment to the board of commissioners in May of 2012, I have been a consistent advocate for the citizens of Bainbridge Island,” Morrow said in a statement.

“My approach has been to promote quality services provided by the fire department while staying true to the duty of fiscal responsibility,” he said. “Serving on the board of the Bainbridge Island Fire Department is a responsibility I take very seriously, passionately and thoughtfully. I hope to have the opportunity to continue to serve in this capacity.”

Theresa Dettmer, 60, announced her candidacy for the Position 5 seat, which is currently vacant due to Commissioner Glen Tyrrell’s resignation late last month. The winner of the seat will serve a two-year term.

A former attorney, Dettmer previously sought an appointed position on the commissioners’ board for the fire department in April 2012, after Susan Cohen stepped down from Position 3. That vacancy originally attracted seven candidates, and Dan Morrow was later picked to replace Cohen.

Bainbridge Island Parks & Recreation

A majority of the seats on the Parks & Recreation board of commissioners will face elections this fall — but there may not be much turnaround.

This week, Lee Cross, John “Tom” Swolgaard, and Jay Kinney filed their candidacy to retain their Position 1, 3, and 4 seats, respectively. The three positions are the only ones voters will decide on in November.

Cross, 67, was elected in 2007 and Swolgaard, 75, was elected in 2004. Both hope to win another six-year term. Kinney, 55, was appointed in July 2011.

Other races on the November ballot

Also on the ballot in November will be the positions for Crystal Springs Water District 3. All three positions — currently held by Penny Lamping, Earl Krause and Mary Zehrer — will be up for election. No candidates have yet filed for the offices.

Review writer Henri Gendreau contributed to this report.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates