Third islander launches candidacy for Bainbridge fire commissioner seat

Eileen McSherry will seek a position on the board of commissioners for the Bainbridge Island Fire Department.

McSherry filed as a candidate for the Position 4 seat on Monday.

The position is currently held by Maureen Halligan.

McSherry was the third person to file this week for one of four positions on the fire department's board that will be on the November ballot. The board has a total of five members.

Earlier Monday, David H. Lynch, filed as a candidate for Position 2. The post is currently held by Commissioner Paul Bang-Knudsen.

Also Monday, Teri Dettmer filed as a candidate for the Position 5 seat, which is currently vacant due to Glen Tyrrell's resignation late last month.

The positions are all nonpartisan offices.

Positions 2 and 4 carry a six-year term.

The Position 3 seat is a four-year unexpired term, and the winner of the Position 5 seat will serve a two-year unexpired term.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates