Campaign coffers get an early boost from inside for two Bainbridge council candidates

Two candidates for the Bainbridge Island City Council have already started self-financing their nascent campaigns.

Islanders Val Tollefson and Robert Bosserman are seeking election for the positions currently held by Councilmembers Bob Scales and Kirsten Hytopoulos, respectively, both of whom have said they will not run again.

Tollefson has loaned himself $900 for his race, and he and his wife have made initial donations of $50 each. Bosserman has kicked in $200 for his campaign.

The pair are the only candidates thus far to file with the Public Disclosure Commission, the state’s campaign financing watchdog.

Tollefson also filed as a candidate Monday with the Kitsap County Auditor’s Office; Bosserman has yet to do so.

Besides Hytopoulos’s District 3 and Scales’s District 7 seats, Councilwoman Debbi Lester’s District 4 position is up for grabs this year. Lester has said she will not seek reelection.

Bainbridge voters will face a long ballot come November.

For the Bainbridge Island Fire Department commissioner election, Teri Dettmer and David Lynch have recently filed as candidates for the Positions 2 and 5 seats, respectively.

The terms of current commissioners Paul Bang-Knudsen of Position 2, Dan Morrow of Position 3, and Maureen Halligan of Position 4 will all expire in the fall, leaving a majority of seats open on the five-member board. The Position 5 seat was left vacant after commissioner Glen Tyrrell resigned in April

In other local races, the Bainbridge Island School District seats currently held by Mike Spence in District 2, Mary Ellen Hoberg in District 3, and Mary Curtis in District 5 will face election this November.

For the Bainbridge Island Metropolitan Park & Recreation District, the terms for Commissioners Lee Cross, John Swolgaard and Jay Kinney are all expiring at the end of 2013, and voters will choose three commissioners in November.

Also on the ballot: positions for Crystal Springs Water District 3. All three positions — currently held by Penny Lamping, Earl Krause and Mary Zehrer — will be up for election.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates