Bainbridge Island Review


Governor to honor Blakely Elementary and other national award-winning schools

March 13, 2013 · 12:47 PM

Gov. Jay Inslee and State Superintendent of Public Instruction Randy Dorn will honor Captain Johnston Blakely Elementary and 11 other Washington schools for winning national awards at a ceremony tonight.

The awards, given through Title I, Part A, of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, are meant to recognize schools that are meeting federal "Adequate Yearly Progress" and "Annual Measurable Objectives" standards in reading and/or math, as well as closing the opportunity gaps between white students and traditionally underrepresented students.

“I’m proud of all these schools,” Dorn said.

“The fact that what they’ve done is being recognized on a national scale speaks very well to how they’re doing and how Washington state is doing,” he said.

Other schools receiving recognition are Columbia Ridge Elementary (Ephrata School District), Lake Forest Park Elementary (Shoreline), Burley-Glenwood Elementary (South Kitsap), Madison Elementary (Olympia), Neah Bay Elementary (Cape Flattery), Columbia Crest Elementary (Eatonville), East Olympia Elementary (Tumwater), Oakesdale Elementary (Oakesdale), Pe Ell School (Pe Ell), Selkirk Elementary (Selkirk) and Skykomish School (Skykomish).

Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us