File for office all next week

It’s now or never for would-be office-holders, who must file declarations of candidacy with the Kitsap County Auditor’s office next week in order to appear on the fall ballot.

Candidates for Bainbridge Island City Council must pay a filing fee of $72, equal to 1 percent of the annual salary. There is no filing fee for the other island offices on the ballot.

“We hope to have a lot of activity here next week,” said Auditor Karen Flynn said.

Filing begins at 8 a.m. Monday, and continues each day until 4:30 p.m. Friday.

Filing can be done by mail, so long as the declaration is notarized, and the filing fee should be enclosed. But to be valid, filings by mail must actually be received in Flynn’s office by 4:30 p.m. Friday – the postmark is of no consequence.

If no candidate files for a given office, the period will be re-opened for three days the following week.

For offices that represent a defined geographic area, candidates must be a resident of the area both at the time of filing and at the time of election.

The following offices are up for grabs this year:

City council: Four seats are up for election – one representing the north ward, two in the southwest ward, and one at-large. Incumbent Christine Nasser Rolfes will defend the two-year southwest ward position, and Michael Pollock the at-large seat. Other announced candidates include businessman and former councilman Jim Llewellyn for the four-year post in the southwest ward; sheep farmer and former councilwoman Annette Stollman in the northwest ward; and retired television producer Christopher “Kit” Spier challenging Pollock for the at-large seat.

The north ward is generally north of Koura Road. The southwest ward takes in the entire island south of Eagle Harbor, as well as west of Miller Road south of Koura, and includes the entire Battle Point peninsula.

School board: Two seats are up for election. Incumbents Bruce Weiland and Cheryl Dale will defend their seats representing District 1 (north Bainbridge) and District 3 (west Winslow and Eagledale), respectively.

Park board: Four of the five seats are up for election. Incumbents Dave Shorett, Ken DeWitt and Kirk Robinson will defend their seats, while Dane Spencer will vacate his position.

Fire board: One seat on the three-person board is open, with Earl Johnson the only announced candidate.

Kitsap County Sewer District 7: Only one position on the three-person board is up. Incumbent commissioner Sarah Lee will seek another six-year term.

Crystal Springs Water District: Three seats are up for election. The incumbents’ plans are not known.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates