Three candidate’s forums set for July

The 2011 political season moves into high gear this month on Bainbridge Island with at least three candidates' public forums scheduled during the next few weeks.

The primary election is set for Aug. 16, followed by the general election on Nov. 8. Ballots and voter's pamphlets will be mailed no later than July 29 for the primary.

There will be a Kitsap County League of Women Voters forum for all candidates on July 26 at City Hall, beginning at 6 p.m. Otherwise, the announced forums will be restricted to all or part of the 11 candidates running for four City Council positions.

The first one will be held from 7-8:30 p.m. Monday, July 11, at the Fork & Spoon restaurant on Madrone Lane, off Winslow Way. The three candidates for the at-large position – incumbent Steve Bonkowski, Kim Hendrickson and incumbent Barry Peters – will hold the informal forum.

It will feature a five-minute presentation by each candidate, followed by an hour-long question-and-answer session and then a meet-and-greet period. The moderator will be Peter Jayne, a co-founder of the Bainbridge Island Radio Club.

A July 18 forum at Eagle Harbor Congregational Church on Winslow Way will be sponsored by Bainbridge Shoreline Homeowners and will feature City Council candidates only. It's scheduled from 7-9 p.m. and candidates will be asked to begin by expressing their "attitudes about protecting the environment and property rights" during a five-minute presentation.

Fred Scheffler, a spokesperson for the American Legion Colin Hyde Post 172, said Thursday that it's still undetermined whether a forum will be held in the American Legion Hall for the primary "or whether we'll just wait until the general election because there are other forums for the primary. If we decide to do one, it'll be in late July."

Candidates for Bainbridge Island elected offices

City Council (4-year term)

Dist. 1 At-Large: Steve Bonkowski, Kimberly Hendrickson and Barry Peters

Dist. 2 North: Anne S. Blair and Melanie M. Keenan

Dist. 4 Central: John Green, Joe Levan, Chris Van Dyck and David Ward

Dist. 6 South: Sarah Blossom and Robert Dashiell

For ward boundaries, click here.

BI School District #303 (4-year term)

Dist. 1 – Patty Fielding

Dist. 3 – John G. Tawresey

Dist. 4 – Tim Kinkead

BI Metro Park & Recreation District (6-year term)

Pos. 5 – Ron Luke, Kirk Robinson

BI Fire District (6-year term)

Pos. 3 – Susan Cohen

Kitsap County Sewer District No. 7

Pos. 1 –  Roger Tielman

Pos. 2 – Christopher Dew, James M. Olsen

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates