2010 Primary Election results

Island voter Becky Eastgard drops her ballot off at the Senior Center Tuesday, just before the 8 p.m. deadline  - Brad Camp | For the Review
Island voter Becky Eastgard drops her ballot off at the Senior Center Tuesday, just before the 8 p.m. deadline
— image credit: Brad Camp | For the Review

The first wave of ballots were counted by both state and county elections officials Tuesday. The state has forecasted a total turnout of 38 percent. Kitsap County projects a turnout in the range of 45 to 50 percent.

Kitsap County Elections Manager Dolores Gilmore said Tuesday night that turnout from the first wave of ballots was 31.26 percent for Bainbridge, and 28.44 percent in the 23rd Legislative District. Gilmore said 45-50 percent is still a reasonable expectation for the county.

Results as of 6 p.m. Wednesday are below.

U.S. First Congressional District

Matthew Burke (R-Redmond) 12,666 votes, 12.37 percent

Jay Inslee (D-Bainbridge Island) 58,382 votes, 57.02 percent

James Watkins (R-Redmond) 26,994 votes, 26.36 percent

David Schirle (I-Lynnwood) 4,352 votes, 4.25 percent

23rd Legislative District Position 1

Sherry Appleton 13,346 votes, 53.92 percent

Pete DeBoer 11,358 votes, 45.89 percent

23rd Legislative District Position 2

James M. Olsen (R-Bainbridge Island) 8,064 votes, 33.03 percent

Christine Rolfes (D-Bainbridge Island) 13,756 votes, 56.34 percent

Aaron Winters (R-Poulsbo) 2,566 votes, 10.51 percent

State Supreme Court Position 6

Bryan Chushcoff 96,021 votes, 12.74 percent

Richard Sanders 357,619 votes, 47.44 percent

Charlie Wiggins 300,221 votes, 39.82 percent

State Supreme Court Position 1

Jim Johnson 483,895 votes, 62.43 percent

Stan Rumbaugh 291,181 votes, 37.57 percent

Kitsap County Commissioner

Josh Brown 6,169 votes, 46.48 percent

Abby Burlingame 4,358 votes, 32.83 percent

Wally Carlson 1,021 votes, 7.69 percent

David L. Corley 1,706 votes, 12.85 percent

Kitsap County Prosecutor

Bruce Danielson 17,522 votes, 43.05 percent

Russ Hauge 22,987 votes, 56.47 percent

Kitsap Public Utility District Position 1

John Armstrong 6,265 votes, 47.02 percent

Arlene M. Buetow 3,160 votes, 23.71 percent

Linda Gabriel 3,795 votes, 28.48 percent

For full results, see Kitsap County and the Secretary of State election websites.


Latest news, top stories, and community events,
delivered to your inbox.

Trending Stories May 15 - May 22

  • Bainbridge Island Review

  • Western Washington

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the May 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates