Story Archives

Archive Results — 21551 thru 21575 of about 23250 items

A long look at island shorelinesShould projects be put on hold while the city mullsnew regulations?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:01PM

"With a review of local shoreline regulations under way, and goaded by opponents of new docks in Blakely Harbor, the city has imposed an emergency moratorium on some waterfront development.The moratorium went into effect Sept. 3; the city council is expected to hold a public hearing in early October, at which time it could modify or repeal the measure.Planning officials say the move will give them time to consider new regulations being driven by state and federal agencies. We are in the process of developing new shoreline regulations, and are seeing an increase in permit applications, said Planning Director Stephanie Warren. We want to do that work without reviewing permits. "

Board opposes by-district electionsCounty commissioners are united against the controversial provision.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:01PM

"Kitsap County Commissioners are united in their opposition to a proposal to elect future commissioners by district rather than at large.Reaction was unanimous when the commissioners were presented with the draft charter for Kitsap County last week. The document was submitted by the 21-member board of freeholders, who have drafted the charter over the past year.Among other changes proposed in the draft document, the county commission would be expanded to five members from the current three. But it also includes a provision under which commissioners would be elected by district rather than countywide. "

Search for a long-lost sisterThe quest for an historic launch leads to Bainbridge Island - so far...

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"The family history dates back more than seven decades, to a boathouse on Lake Washington. There, two sisters began life - Husky in 1923, and Conny nine years later - as launches used by University of Washington rowing coaches. The latter was named for Hiram Conibear, the legendary Husky crew coach whose rowing stroke remains the accepted standard throughout the world, according to the official U.S. athletic website.The vessel now belongs to Kirk Knapp, an Arlington resident who hopes to locate Husky and reunite the long-separated siblings. My guess is that whoever had - or has - her isn't even aware of what a wonderful piece of history they have, Knapp says. "

"State, feds driving shoreline review"

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"The city moratorium on some shoreline development is driven principally by the requirement that the city update its 1996 shoreline plan and make it conform to new state rules by September 2002.But five days after the Bainbridge city council imposed its moratorium, the state Shoreline Hearings Board struck down the new state rules, calling into question both the time frame and the requirements that the city must meet. "

Too hasty on moratorium

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"When the city council imposed a moratorium on some shoreline development, including docks and bulkheads, it acted on the belief that the city had only a year to revise such regulations to conform to new state requirements. Five days later, the state Shoreline Hearings Board kicked the props out from under the whole plan, when it tossed out those same state requirements and told the Department of Ecology to rewrite them. By law, local jurisdictions have 24 months to bring their programs into conformity with new state requirements, and that law is what triggered the city's time-line. "

Sharing a Sacred ChantCantor reflects on the meaning of the 'Kol Nidre'

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"Jewish community members Terry Cowan and Toby Schneider will chant Kol Nidre, marking the eve of Yom Kippur.For Jews who hear it, Kol Nidre can be a deeply moving experience - as it is for those who sing it.Since both Cowan and Schneider have chanted Kol Nidre many years for their respective Jewish groups, the two women have had time to consider what the music means to them.I was raised in a synagogue, Schneider said. I heard chanting as a child and I loved it. When I'm focused on Kol Nidre, those words link me to my ancestors. When I sing it, I represent the congregation through my voice. I am a vehicle. "

"Math down, language upPreliminary WASL results are mixed for island students."

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"Math scores among elementary-age Bainbridge students are declining, while reading, writing and listening skills continue to climb.Those are the preliminary findings of the latest round of Washington Assessment of Student Learning testing.While preliminary, this data does invite attention to the area of mathematics, said Faith Chapel, new superintendent of curriculum and instruction for the Bainbridge Island School District.Results from the WASLs and other tests will be analyzed during this year's K-12 mathematics program review, she said. "

"Prudence marks school budgetWith district enrollment stagnant, officials buckle down."

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"A conservative approach marks the 2001-2002 district budget adopted by the Bainbridge Island School Board last week. With expenditures only $260,000 below revenues, this is a very tight budget indeed, district financial officer Peggy Paige said. There is little room for unplanned expenditures.The district projects $26.412 million in revenue for the coming year, and $26.150 million in expenditures. "

Mastering the gift of making you giveFund-raiser extraordinaire Larry Mills is Bainbridge Citizen of the Year.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"Unlike most of us, Larry Mills doesn't mind asking other people for money.His willingness to undertake fund-raising projects has made him much in demand as a board member for organizations such as the Bainbridge Library, Bainbridge Performing Arts and the Bainbridge Foundation.For his charitable work on behalf of a variety of island causes, the Bainbridge Island Kiwanis Club has named Mills its 2001 Citizen of the Year. "

Fine choices in primary

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"Mail-only primary ballots, which should appear in Bainbridge mailboxes this week, are abbreviated affairs, as only two city council races and the open seat on the fire commission attracted enough contenders to require a primary election. "

Dog Daze a way of giving back to Helpline House

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"Just saying thank you wasn't enough.Jillian Bateman sought a more tangible expression of gratitude to Helpline House, so she is producing the Dog Daze benefit concert, Sept. 9.I wanted to show them I appreciate what they've done, Bateman said. And I guess I do like organizing stuff. "

School zone safety gets a boostBetter signs and reduced speeds all day will complement tougher enforcement.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"Better signs and high-profile police presence will promote safety in school zones this fall, advocates hope.A grant from the Washington State Traffic Safety Commission will fund overtime work and put extra patrol officers around schools for the next two weeks, Bainbridge Police Traffic Officer Rob Corn said. Police will use radar enforcement and a portable speed sign to show drivers how fast they're going.Also, the city's public works department will revise school zone speed limits to specify 20 mph from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. for Blakely and Wilkes elementary schools during weekdays. "

Hearing shows rift over charterPerceptions of the document depend on which side of the bridge you're on.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"For those looking for the unexpected, Tuesday night's freeholder meeting at Bainbridge Island City Hall was the wrong place to be.As expected, the principal topic of discussion concerning the draft charter for Kitsap County was whether to elect the county council by district, as a majority of the freeholders propose, or to elect county-wide, as is currently done. "

Interest strong among fire hopefulsVoters will narrow the field to two on the primary ballot.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"Continuing a recent trend of high interest in service on the Bainbridge Island Fire Board, four candidates go before voters in the Sept. 18.All vie for the single open seat on the three-person board, and two will advance to the November general ballot. In interviews with the Review this week, candidates discussed their qualifications and views on issues facing the department, including tax funding; collective bargaining with career fire personnel; maintaining the volunteer program; and developing facilities and equipment. "

"88 keys, 84 yearsA local senior reaches out to benefit the island's new Catholic preschool."

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"Intergenerational outreach works both ways.This fall, students at the new Mustard Seed preschool/kindergarten at St. Cecilia Catholic Church will visit senior citizens at Virginia Villa Retirement Center as part of their curriculum.As if in return, Trudy Pival, 84 years old, long-time island resident and original organist for the St. Cecilia parish, will use her musical skills to help Mustard Seed in a benefit concert, Sept. 9. The reason is, Pival says briskly, I have six children and we lived on Bainbridge for 27 summers, but every year we had to pack up and go back to Seattle so the children could go to parochial school.I am so glad to support the beginnings of a Catholic school here. "

Center shows solar flairPanels will harness the sun in the state's largest installation.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"A worker knelt on the steeply pitched roof, held by harness and guy wire while he positioned another photovoltaic panel.Piece by piece Tuesday morning, the metal roof spanning the Puget Sound Environmental Learning Center's classrooms disappeared under the juxtaposed rectangles of the largest solar panel installation in the state.When all 80 panels are mounted on the center's Learning Labs, PSELC founder Debbie Brainerd said, sunlight will be converted into electricity to provide 50 percent of the building's power.We are walking the talk, when it comes to sustainabililty, Brainerd said.The photovoltaic (PV) panels capture and magnify photons of light, generating the direct current which is then converted to alternating current for building use. "

Schools plan to beat construction

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 4:00PM

"The school bus hits the road Sept. 5, and the school district hopes students will be on board.Administrators say that increased bus ridership will lessen traffic tie-ups due to roundabout construction.We're encouraging everyone to ride to diminish traffic congestion and enhance students safety, deputy superintendent Ken Crawford said.Construction will begin between Sept. 10 and Oct. 1, according to city officials. The intersection of High School Road and Madison Avenue is slated to be closed to traffic for 21 days - but may be closed for longer, if inclement weather delays building. "

Regulators up estimates of HMC issueThe company did not contest charges made by state securities officials.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:59PM

"The state securities division has made permanent its order shutting down stock sales in Bainbridge-based Health Maintenance Centers, Inc., as neither HMC nor founder Kevin Lawrence contested allegations of improper conduct.And as the state's probe continues, state investigators say the number of investors and amount of money raised may be greater than first thought.This is the biggest case in my 20 years, said Deborah Bortner, Washington State Securities Administrator and department spokesperson. There is so much money and so many people involved. "

Guild takes over Pegasus series

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:59PM

"The songs go on, but the singer has new backup.Peter Hwosch takes up his guitar at Pegasus Coffeehouse Sept. 1, to sing about personal introspection and global activism, in a seven-year-old series now coordinated by the Island Music Teachers Guild.Since series creator Korum Bischoff is also a guild member, the transition in mid-August was smooth. It's something that I've always done for Pegasus, but now I'm getting more support from the guild, Bischoff said. "

Residency put to rest

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:59PM

"We were pleased with Kitsap County Auditor Karen Flynn's decision last week declaring Bill Nelson to be a resident at his folks' Wing Point home, and thus eligible to run for office from Bainbridge Island's central ward.It's not that we necessarily favor Nelson - it's too early for us to make up our minds. But we like voters to have choices, and Nelson is a clear-cut alternative to neighborhood activist Bill Knobloch, whose neighbors challenged Nelson's residence, and youthful barista Houston Wade. "

Freeholders try to isolate Bainbridge

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:59PM

"A year ago in this space, as work got under way on a new Kitsap County charter, we expressed concern that some of the reformers would simply try to reform their way into power.Now, having drafted a charter that would drastically change the way county commissioners are elected, freeholder and Republican activist Matt Ryan confirms our suspicions, telling the Review in an interview this week that the plan created a higher probability of balance, meaning electing Republicans. "

On its last pilings?Legislators want to know how much life the Eagle Harbor ferry facility has left.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:59PM

"Peel away the gleaming new aluminum siding on the main building at the Eagle Harbor ferry maintenance yard and you find the core of historic Bainbridge.The massive building - one of the biggest on the island - is the last remnant of the Hall Brothers shipyard, once among the world's largest. But how much useful life is left in the century-old building?That's the question a legislative committee will attempt to answer over the next year and a half. The facility needs major dollars to upgrade it, modernize it and put safety facilities in place, said Rep. Beverly Woods, (R-Poulsbo), one of the committee members.Before spending that money, we want to take a look at the whole facility and see if future maintenance can be done there most cost effectively. "

Is county charter good for Bainbridge?Local freeholders are troubled by a provision that would curb the influence of island voters.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:59PM

"Kitsap County's freeholders will show islanders the first draft of their proposed new county charter next week.But far from seeking support, Bainbridge's two freeholders see the meeting as an opportunity to make a show of force against a provision they say is bad for both the island and the county, and may in fact be aimed at diluting the island's influence on county government.We're better off with what we have now than with this new charter, said George McKinney, who joined Andy Maron on the 21-member board writing a new constitution for Kitsap County. "

CenCom levy likely on November ballotServices are stuck in aging former tollbooth.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:59PM

A $10.5 million request for a new 911 center and emergency management facility in west Bremerton is close to the November ballot.Kitsap County Commissioners expect to vote on Monday in favor of sending the county's Central Communication request to Kitsap residents this fall.Commissioners say the February earthquake that shook the Puget Sound region served as a wakeup call to all those who depend on 911 services in Kitsap.

Brushes with brillianceBainbridge artist Rosalyn Gale Powell learned from the century's greats.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:59PM

"The subjects of Rosalyn Gale Powell's paintings live with her.Viewers of her Bainbridge Arts and Crafts exhibit opening Sept. 8 can be assured that the peonies, lilies, roses and violets she meticulously renders grow in her yard.My subject matter is what's closest to me, Powell said. I paint only what I know. I don't even use cut flowers to set up a still life; I go out in the garden and take a look.The impression that one receives from Powell's painting is of art that grows organically from the core of the person. One may also read the depth in work that spans five and a half decades.Powell's artistic life took root in early childhood. She received painting and drawing lessons after school, with encouragement from her family. "

Read the latest Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Oct 31 edition online now. Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates