Story Archives

Archive Results — 21551 thru 21575 of about 27600 items

So, where is the housing?

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

Unsurprisingly, affordable housing issues top the 39 human-service needs listed in a survey that’s part of the recently-released Bainbridge Island Health, Housing and Human Services Needs Assessment. The basis of determining which needs made the list centered on the gap between how large an issue the need is for those surveyed and how well they think the need is being met. In other words, the gap between the service needs and the ability of providers to meet them.

A woodworker’s thoughts about hope and love

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

I am a studio furniture maker. Four months ago I began working on an ark for a synagogue. I was shaking with excitement that morning, ready to begin this long-anticipated project. In the first few minutes, I completely severed all four fingers on my dominant hand just above the knuckles closest to my palm. I fell to my knees and began to weep, not out of the pain and horror of the accident but from the fear that I was finished as an artist. That instant was a big bang of sorts, exploding into my reality a new universe of possibilities.

Olympic fever caught in a Super 8

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

I don’t know about you, but I’ll never forget where I was when I watched the opening ceremonies of the 2008 Beijing Olympics. I was in a Super 8 Motel in Ferndale. Being only a couple miles from the Canadian border added a certain international cachet to glamour and glitz of the experience, as did the slightly fuzzy reception of the television set bolted to the dresser of my room.


  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

Walter D. McKerchar, of Poulsbo, died Aug. 12 at Harrison Hospital in Bremerton.

Available for adoption through PAWS:

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

Available for adoption through PAWS:

Hollydays Art: Submissions are now being accepted for

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

Hollydays Art: Submissions are now being accepted for the cover of the 2008 downtown Bainbridge “Hollydays Guide” and holiday poster. Artwork must be two-dimensional with a winter and/or holiday theme. Artists may submit up to five digital images of their work, along with a resume or bio. Files may be sent by e-mail to or mailed on disk to: Bainbridge Island Downtown Association, 120 Madrone Lane N, Suite 203m Bainbridge Island, WA 98110. Deadline: 5 p.m. Sept. 19. Info: 842-2982 or

Several BISC swimmers earn medals at PNS

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

Eighteen swimmers from the Bainbridge Island Swim Club qualified for Pacific Northwest Swimming Long Course Championships which took place at the King County Aquatics Center July 31-Aug. 3.

Bond proposal to pay for capital projects

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

City Hall has recommended the issuance of bonds totaling between $1.5 million and $2 million that would be used to pay for ongoing capital projects that the city has been funding this year through its operating budget.

Around the island

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

With the start of school just weeks away, the city hopes newly installed improvements on Blakely Avenue will make the area safer for students and drivers.

Extreme Makeover, Bainbridge edition

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

A chance for fixes on two projects

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

The Bainbridge Island City Council had a productive meeting this week. Well, sort of.

Islandmoms is a virtual fixture on Bainbridge

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

Sarah Albee joked that as a co-moderator for the online community Islandmoms, she felt a little funny about wanting to go to the group’s first official get-together.

Video shows impact of drunk drivers on residents of Kitsap County

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00PM updated Aug 14, 2008 at 10:05AM

Kitsap News Group photographer Jesse Beals recently completed a seven-month video project on the effects of DUI drivers in Kitsap County.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 2

  • Aug 2, 2008 at 1:00PM updated Aug 12, 2008 at 5:00PM

The League of Women Voters believes that democratic government depends upon the informed and active participation of its citizens. Therefore, we encourage all voters to become informed about the candidates running for office in the primary election on Tuesday, Aug. 19.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 6 (continued)

  • Aug 6, 2008 at 8:00AM updated Aug 12, 2008 at 4:59PM

It has been a few weeks since the Kitsap County “Notice of Value” statements were sent to property owners. We received our statement with some consternation. As was reported, our home was decreased in value from 2008 about 15 percent for the 2009 assessment. However, the dirt we have lived on for 22 years magically increased in value by 83 percent in 2008, according to the Kitsap County assessor.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 6

  • Aug 6, 2008 at 8:00AM updated Aug 12, 2008 at 4:59PM

Those that plant “heritage trees” never get to see the full glory of the fruits of their labor. The trees are planted often with future generations in mind.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 9

  • Aug 9, 2008 at 1:00AM updated Aug 12, 2008 at 4:59PM

In a recent letter to the editor (“City needs to communicate,” Aug. 6), islander Joe Honick expressed hope that younger working people with families would weigh in on the controversies surrounding our city government.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 13

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 1:00AM

Janet Kragen’s letter (“Foxes would take care of varmints,” Aug. 9) denounced deer as varmints. I would like to offer another view and some suggestions. I admit I’m not much interested in gardening, but to me having those beautiful wild animals strolling past my window is worth any number of posies all standing in a row.

A missive from Bainbridge's sister island

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 1:00AM

Allow me to introduce myself and this column, which thereafter I hope will capture your interest. My name is Maggie Pettit. I write to you as a fellow islander, born and raised on Bainbridge, but I write to you from an island far away. Imagine two volcanoes jutting out of a freshwater lake, forming an hourglass-shaped island in the heart of Nicaragua called Ometepe, which has been your sister island for the past 21 years. I will be living and working here for one year with the Bainbridge-Ometepe Sister Islands Association (BOSIA).

Bainbridge officials mull ideas for reaching out to teens

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 1:00AM

Though, like any other locale, it’s prone to the occasional unexpected guest, City Hall is generally a predictable place.

Eagle Harbor Book Co.’s Paul Hanson shares the joys of speculative fiction

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 1:00AM

To put together the “why” behind his affection for out-of-this-world fiction, Paul Hanson flips back to the early chapters of his reading life.

One Aug. 1 Bainbridge crash victim still in hospital; one at home

  • Aug 12, 2008 at 11:00AM updated at 3:29PM

An auction and bake sale for David Ortiz is planned for Saturday.

Sports failures can enjoy Olympics, too

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

The Olympics are here with all those lean, strong athletes leaping, kicking, tossing, passing, racing and flying through the air.

A two-beer toast to Emmylou and the zoo

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

I turned 53 recently, and as part of my weeklong birthday celebration, the woman whose husband I am and I and half a dozen friends all went to the Woodland Park Zoo to see Emmylou Harris in concert.

Read the Oct 9
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates