Story Archives

Archive Results — 21401 thru 21425 of about 27200 items

Cyber market links Bainbridge growers to residents hungry for local food

  • Jul 5, 2008 at 9:00AM updated Jul 7, 2008 at 11:23AM

With demand for local food reaching new heights, islander Carlee Ashen is rolling out a unique service to feed the appetite for island-grown food. Her business, Farm Courier, uses a virtual farmer’s market and a cheerful white delivery truck to bring local produce to island doorsteps. Ashen hopes her business will provide a new venue for residents and producers to build a relationship over food.

Bainbridge little leaguers make fast work of Jefferson/Townsend

  • Jul 5, 2008 at 10:00AM updated Jul 7, 2008 at 10:43AM

POUSLBO – Just like the thunderstorm that passed through, the Bainbridge Majors softball All-Stars struck hard and fast against the East Jefferson/South Jefferson/Port Townsend All-Stars Wednesday, defeating them 12-1 in five innings at Snider Park in Poulsbo.

Devoted tango artist heads to Bainbridge for concert

  • Jul 5, 2008 at 9:00AM updated Jul 7, 2008 at 10:27AM

The bandoneon may be a musical cousin to the accordion. But as Bertram Levy describes it, when Argentine Tango began to gel in the early 1900s, some felt the accordion was too happy for tango; it didn’t possess the necessary darkness. A renowned musician who began in folk but has spent the better part of a decade devoted to tango, Levy will bring his Tangoheart quartet to Bainbridge next weekend, the first program in this year’s series of Bloedel Reserve summer concerts.

United Arab Emirates humanitarian visits family on Bainbridge

  • Jul 5, 2008 at 9:00AM updated Jul 7, 2008 at 9:30AM

There is an Islamic tenet that teaches practitioners to care for not just the neighbors beside them, but for neighbors seven doors in every direction. It was that idea — the obligation to help neighbors no matter what their walk of life — that inspired Bainbridge native Sharla Musabih to become a follower of Islam.

Letters

  • Jul 5, 2008 at 12:00AM

Schools

Singers live up to their name

  • Jul 5, 2008 at 12:00AM

Check out the lounge at the Bainbridge Island Senior Community Center on a Tuesday morning and you’ll often meet several of the Evergreen Singers, a group of about 30 men and women who love to sing. They are there waiting to begin a rehearsal or a concert at the Island Health and Rehabilitation Center, Messenger House or other locale where they are scheduled to entertain that day.

Tourists and the petulant teen

  • Jul 5, 2008 at 12:00AM

This is the scene. I am sitting at a middle table at Bainbridge Bakers drinking a cup of tea and waiting for the husband to arrive, when I hear foreign accents behind me.

Bainbridge fastpitch dominates All-Metro, All-Kitsap teams

  • Jun 25, 2008 at 4:00PM updated Jul 2, 2008 at 10:12PM

It was a year to remember for the Bainbridge fastpitch team this season. The Spartans defeated Holy Names for the first time in recent memory as they raced through the regular season losing just one game and won its first Metro League Mountain Division title.

Around the Island

  • Jul 1, 2008 at 4:19PM

July 4 really starts on July 3, with the 22nd annual July Third Street Dance and BBQ, sponsored by the Bainbridge Island Downtown Association.

Let’s do right by Puget Sound

  • Jul 1, 2008 at 4:21PM

When I was young, a lot of years ago, we would come to Bainbridge for a week’s vacation. The beach was an infinite playground, especially for a city youngster like me. From morning to night we dug clams, fished, hunted for treasures, rode and swam our horses, found new birds for our house list, caught crabs, built driftwood and seaweed palaces, cooked over beach fires, poked at anemones under rafts, collected shells, beach glass and rocks with circles around them. It was a paradise. I vowed I would come back and live here. In 1973 I did.

What's Happening on Bainbridge Island | July 2

  • Jul 1, 2008 at 4:21PM

The Bainbridge Public Library is more than just a meeting spot for July Fourth festivities; it’s also the site of some great story opportunities.

Bainbridge Little League All-Stars notch 2 wins in district tourney

  • Jul 1, 2008 at 4:20PM

The Bainbridge Majors baseball All-Stars kicked off district play with two big wins in the Little League District tournament at Art Mikelsen Field in Port Orchard over the weekend.

Bainbridge's Grand Old Fourth to pay homage to Strawberry Festival

  • Jul 1, 2008 at 4:19PM

Picture a near-summer Saturday on which, the Bainbridge Review subsequently reported, “Cloudy skies and a brisk south wind kept marchers cool, but threatening rain did not appear.” On June 17, 1950, the Bainbridge Island Strawberry Court made its way from Bainbridge High School’s Memorial Field into Winslow for a mile-long parade.

Park here on Wednesdays

  • Jul 1, 2008 at 4:21PM

Linda Snyder once sat on a committee whose organizers wanted to hold standing meetings on Wednesday evenings during the summer.

Grassroots project will return flower baskets to downtown Bainbridge | Letters

  • Jul 1, 2008 at 4:22PM

On May 29, I e-mailed a letter to you which you kindly printed in the May 31 issue of the Bainbridge Review entitled “Flower baskets go away... what’s next?” I thought you might be interested in following up on exactly what has transpired since my letter appeared.

Time to forgive vandal for misdeeds | Bainbridge Letters to the Editor

  • Jul 1, 2008 at 4:22PM

A guest columnist for the Seattle P.I., Anthony Robinson, recently wrote an article on the top 10 “markers of integrity.” I believe there are two principle marks of integrity that relate to the recent vandalism by a few of our youth on Bainbridge Island.

Mother Sea desperately needs your help these days

  • Jul 2, 2008 at 12:00AM

I really don’t know why it is that all of us are so committed to the sea – except I think it is because in addition to the fact that the sea changes and the light changes, and ships change, it is because we all came from the sea. And it is an interesting biological fact that all of us have in our veins the exact same percentage of salt in our blood that exists in the ocean, and, therefore, we have salt in our blood, in our sweat, in our tears. We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea, whether it is to sail or to watch – we are going back from whence we came.

IN OUR OPINION Recycling is here to stay

  • Jul 2, 2008 at 12:00AM

It’s difficult these days to find anyone who is against recycling. There are plenty of people who don’t practice it, perhaps, preferring to feed garbage receptacles with any container or waste of which they no longer have a use. But even the unconscious among us probably wouldn’t admit to actually being against making our environment healthier through recycling.

Babe Ruth 15-year-olds taken down at home

  • Jul 2, 2008 at 12:00AM

The South Kitsap Babe Ruth All-Stars kept the Bainbridge All-Stars from knocking the ball around on Sunday like they did on Friday, defeating them 16-4 and 13-5 to win the District 8 title at Battle Point Park.

With explosions going, Fourth cresendo near

  • Jul 2, 2008 at 12:00AM

With the Fourth coming on Friday, booming fireworks are being heard with increasing frequency around the island.

With explosions going, Fourth cresendo near

  • Jul 2, 2008 at 12:00AM

With the Fourth coming on Friday, booming fireworks are being heard with increasing frequency around the island.

Winslow sees a flowery infusion

  • Jul 2, 2008 at 12:00AM

A letter planted the seed.

ROTO MANIA

  • Jul 2, 2008 at 12:00AM

Despite early concerns that the slowing economy could quiet the annual buying frenzy, organizers say this year’s Rotary Club Auction didn’t disappoint.

Work stops on dig

  • Jul 2, 2008 at 12:00AM

A stop work order was issued Friday at a south-end excavation site after surveyors determined the dig area exceeded what was permitted by the city, officials said.

The screening room

  • Jul 2, 2008 at 12:00AM

Fate takes aim

Read the Aug 28
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates