Story Archives

Archive Results — 21351 thru 21375 of about 26900 items

We must all do our part

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

Sometimes, the healthiest laughs come with a look in the mirror. So among the many, many brilliant letters and columns submitted by Review readers over the years, we’ve kept one particular 1992 guest commentary by Dave Thompson on the office wall. While it was written during a period of hand-wringing over local tax issues, the column in a broader sense has always seemed to uniquely capture the charming duality – is it a beauty mark, or just a mole? – of our shared public life on Bainbridge Island.

Want slower traffic? Slow yourself down

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

Everyone hates speeders. At least, until they find themselves late for the departing ferry. Then those pesky speed limits tend to be “forgotten” in the mad race to Winslow, and our otherwise pious drivers pray that local patrol officers happen to be cruising another part of the island. So we’re not sure there’s a cure-all for our collective lack of delicacy with the accelerator pedal unless and until, perish the thought, there’s a bridge to Seattle. Maybe not even then.

Bigger, taller, perhaps even a bit better

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

The buildings were taller, the plazas wider, the streets implicitly a bit more bustling. And, as we recall, there was a walkway or bridge over the highway. But perhaps the most radical aspect of the vision espoused in the recent Winslow design charrette – which represented the work of architects, planners, conservationists and other island stakeholders through a two-day workshop – was how much the downtown of the tomorrow might look and function like the downtown of today.

Community has a stake in the church

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

It’s the sort of yarn that could be dismissed as apocryphal, a tale that’s grown taller over a century of telling. But to believe the meeting minutes, when 14 of Bainbridge Island’s founding citizens – the sort of folks for whom streets are named, as a past Review writer aptly put it – decided in 1882 to form a church, they chose the congregational faith because it was “the least objectionable” among the various Christian denominations.

Talk about the future of ‘the canyon’

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

“Buy land,” the investor’s imperative goes, “because they aren’t making any more of it.” Never has that been more apparent than in the case of the Winslow ravine, a fair portion of which went on the market – very briefly – back in 1988. “For sale” signs appeared next to the gully near Winslow Way, attracting mention in the local newspaper and some speculation about public acquisition. But before the Winslow City Council could give much thought to the issue and the reported asking price of $65,000 (probably a good chunk of change for the pre-annexation city), the land was sold and the opportunity lost.

Small woods grows taller in stature

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

The Hundred Acre Wood, it’s not. In fact, if you were trolling about for just the right words to describe the small wooded parcel – something more colorful than, for example, “small wooded parcel” – on Ericksen Avenue near Wallace Way, you might find yourself in the more remote reaches of the thesaurus. Is it a stand? A weald? A copse? A spinney?

Give council shakeup a worthy try

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

There is a certain oxymoronic quality to the term “Committee of the Whole.” What is a committee, after all, if not a subset of the full group? But then, who are we to argue with two centuries of parliamentary procedure, the system that gave order to otherwise unmanageable government proceedings and may well have brought a quicker end to the age of the duel.

Marketing community as commodity

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

We basked outside a downtown coffee shop recently, enjoying a cup of tea with two of the island’s finer ladies, when conversation turned to the new development going in soon across from the ferry terminal. “Have you seen their online video about the ‘island lifestyle’?” one of our companions asked, obviously amused.

Another outbreak of cabin fever

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

Every few years, a handful of our island history buffs fall into the throes of cabin fever. Symptoms of the outbreak include much exasperation and alarm over the sorry state of the historic, Depression-era scout cabin at Camp Yeomalt, followed by a round of excited utterances at public meetings or through the letters columns of the local paper.

Spend the weekend with the Bard

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

“Either Shakespeare wrote Shakespeare,” the professor intoned, “or somebody else named Shakespeare wrote Shakespeare.” The declaration – itself rather worthy of the Elizabethan stage, in its gusto and tenor – put the stamp of pedagogical dismissal to discussions then-current in some literary circles, questioning the authenticity of the Bard of Avon’s remarkable body of achievement. The professor’s enthusiasm also served to enrapture a class of motley undergraduates – this editor amongst them – assembled for one of several survey courses at a mid-sized university.

Putting our downtown vision(s) to paper

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

For at least 10 years or so, we have wondered about the word “charrette.” While we’ve certainly understood the concept – the short, intense design sessions were among the highlights of the community’s comprehensive planning process some years ago, yielding sweeping drawings that gave visual representation to “the island of the future” – the term does not readily betray its meaning or etymology.

It was a good run for ‘our’ hardware store

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

Ken Schuricht has a wry sense of humor. Shortly after he and wife Mary Hall purchased Bainbridge Hardware back in 1994, Ken cleaned out the back room and held a sidewalk sale – in the alley behind the store. It was an unlikely site but a grand event, chockablock with several decades worth of unsold stock that included quaint, vintage kitchen items, greeting cards and party favors.

Accepting change behind our ‘moat’

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

“We who live on islands,” an area legislator once observed, “like to think we are different.” We smiled anew at the legislator’s comment this week, rediscovering it as we unearthed a 15-year-old New York Times article headlined, “Islanders just want to be left alone.” Written roughly on the eve of Bainbridge Island’s vote for self-governance, the piece looked at our small Puget Sound community as it bristled under the distant rule of the county while feeling the pressures of regional growth from the east and south.

Breathe easier with emissions legislation

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

Let us all give thanks for our automobiles. Without them, how could we drive to City Hall to complain about traffic? Perhaps no other product of the industrial age has so radically reshaped our society and culture, producing more or less contemporaneously the drive-thru restaurant, the suburbs, the war for oil, and the cure for the midlife crisis.

Zen and the art of traffic engineering

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

To contemplate the interconnectedness of all things, one might turn to Eastern religion. Then again, one might also turn to traffic engineering.

Portrait of an ever-vibrant community

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

Seventy-five working farms, 18 commercial espresso stands – that’s 1.1 for every 1,000 residents – 290 practicing attorneys who called the island home, and an average home price of $233,099. Those are among the snippets of trivia readers found in the very first Bainbridge Review Almanac, a 56-page booklet published by this newspaper in 1992.

Like cemetery, trees demand the long view

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

If you haven’t felt insignificant for a while, tarry for an hour up at Port Blakely Cemetery. Hewn from the towering firs of another age, it is a world of impossibly long shadows, literal and otherwise.

Put sports on better footing

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

More kids, more kickers. Perhaps the best measure of island growth over the past 15 years has been the swelling ranks of youth soccer programs, and the attendant clamor for more facilities for year-round play. The recent development of soccer pitches and baseball diamonds at Sands Avenue and Hidden Cove has been mere triage in the face of growing need – just ask recent members of the park board, who have heard the call and done what they can with donated labor and limited public funds.

A new useful yardstick for planning

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

The question is not whether more new residents are going to descend on our little island, but rather, what to do with them when they get here. So there is a definite usefulness to visits from folks like Patrick Condon, a noted landscape architect who appeared at City Hall last week as part of the Envision Tomorrow speaker series. Condon has created a bit of a stir with his assertion (as reported in these pages Saturday), that we could add significantly more people to our downtown mix without damaging Winslow’s character.

School plan will boost confidence

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

Hooray! Let’s applaud the Bainbridge Island School Board and members of a citizen group for working together for the betterment of our island’s public schools. It’s been a long haul for the current board, which has been in the throes of planning a high school capital facilities bond for more than a year. They’ve attended countless meetings and pored over thousands of pages of documents. They’ve used direct mail to contact every household on the island, inviting people to join them as they discussed crowded lunch rooms, old computers, soggy sports fields and funky spaces for band practice.

IGWG model offers glimpse into tax future

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

That old adage about the predictability of death and taxes was never so true. At least where local taxes are concerned. Our five taxing jurisdictions – city, schools, parks, fire and library – have this week unveiled the first-ever comprehensive “Tax Model” for Bainbridge Island, and it’s worth a gander and some fanfare.

Get behind simple majority at long last

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

We’ve written this editorial so many times now, it’s practically a reflex. Must be Groundhog Week. Yet duty calls again, as legislators once more consider a bill that would end what we’ve been calling the “tyranny of the minority” that hobbles the funding of local schools. Specifically, the legislation would put an end to the 60 percent “supermajority” requirement for passage of school levies and bonds. Because it would change the state constitution, the bill requires the backing of two-thirds of both chambers, plus the support of the electorate in a statewide election.

‘Down there’ comes here

  • Feb 2, 2005 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

Early on in every journalism career, aspiring reporters and editors learn what is referred to as “the Breakfast Table Rule.” That is the profession’s informal measure of taste and propriety, a standard that says if a subject or word isn’t fit for discussion at the average family’s morning repast, you should think twice about including it in the family newspaper – at least not without toning it down with some synonym or euphemism.

Open space: speak up, get your fair share

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

Nothing turns NIMBYism on its head quite like public amenities. Particularly when it’s new parkland that’s being doled out, what better location than in close proximity to “my back yard”?

Lack of space stymies our downtown

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

Music, the saying goes, is the spice of life. Few may realize how close downtown Winslow came to losing its purveyor of fine recorded music just over a year ago. The Glass Onion, one of our community’s many plucky small, independently owned retail businesses, had lost its lease in Winslow Green. After a decade of operation, it was in danger of closing for want of a new storefront – with the Christmas shopping season at hand, no less.

Read the Jul 31
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates