Story Archives

Archive Results — 21326 thru 21350 of about 22650 items

Community responds to national tragedyServices and memorials spring up around town.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

With the rest of the country, Bainbridge Islanders remembered the victims of this week's terrorist attacks with memorials on Friday. Noon services were held at island churches, while mayor Dwight Sutton addressed a crowd of about 300 gathered on the green next to city hall. Calling the moment sobering and somber, Sutton enjoined the crowd to help eliminate terrorism while resolving to uphold justice. A few minutes ago, we pledged allegiance to those principles, Sutton said, following a flag salute. If we do not honor those principles, we do not honor the dead. While those gathered spontaneously broke into God Bless America, a young woman in dreadlocks quietly laid a bouquet of sunflowers on a concrete pillar behind the mayor.Bainbridge students coping with the week's events also sought ways to express sorrow, find solace and show solidarity with the bereaved.At Sakai Intermediate School, 1,280 paper cranes were hung on the wire edifice surrounding the Sakai sculpture.

Tempers flare over tiny T'Chookwap ParkNeighbors are split over public water access.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

By any standards, the view from the bluff is striking.Bobbing on the blue waters of Port Madison Bay below are a smattering of sail craft. Towering trees and a few homes line the far shoreline; the mouth of the bay itself yawns in the distance.It would make an exquisite building site.As it happens, though, the half-acre parcel is owned by the public - a pocket park created in 1992 and dubbed T'Chookwap, as the Suquamish once knew the bay.

Water access is a public obligation

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

Forty-five miles of shoreline. One public dock.That's the score on Bainbridge Island, for anyone who wants to maintain a small vessel but isn't blessed with the money to afford a waterfront home or a yacht club membership. (There are, by our count, two public ramps for motor launches and kayaks; but you can't really count Point White dock, which is more of a pier.) Certainly, the desirability of docks for recreation is as strong as ever, as evidenced by plans for several new structures across our waterways by private homeowners on Blakely Harbor.

Sure ShotPete Saloutos is hailed as a photographic legend.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

The athletes that Pete Saloutos photographs - the subjects of the work that recently made him a Nikon Legend Behind the Lens - have nothing on him, when it comes to energy and drive.Saloutos begins his day with a 4 a.m. gym workout, and gets to his computer by 6:45 - after a pit stop at Blackbird Bakery. For every one of me, there are thousands of photographers who fell by the wayside, Saloutos says. My strength is persistence.And perfectionism.To get a single shot of a row of swimmers diving from a pool's edge, Saloutos first spent six hours lighting each swimmer with her own light. A photograph of a cowboy herding sheep on a mountain crest took Saloutos six months to coordinate.

Sept. 11, 2001: Another day of infamyThe island boosts security after terrorist attacks shock the nation.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

Drivers were turned away at the ferry terminal gate, the silent streets and holding area symbolic of the pall cast over Bainbridge Island after terrorist attacks against the nation Tuesday morning.Downtown, few cars or pedestrians were about, as islanders stayed near televisions and radios while details of the horror in New York, Washington D.C. and elsewhere unfolded.

Ericksen plan to go before councilSidewalks are planned on both sides, but may wait as the street changes.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

The Bainbridge City Council tonight will be shown an improvement plan for Ericksen Avenue designed to make the street more walkable and bikeable.And while the plan ultimately calls for sidewalks on both sides of the street, they may not be constructed any time soon in front of the historic houses on the east side of the street.

Extra students please school officialsFirst-week enrollment surprised officials, and offered a budget windfall.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

Sixty more students than school officials expected showed up for class this week. While district projections suggested that Bainbridge public school enrollment would decline by 28 students this year, to 3,782 full-time equivalent students, first-week totals turned out to be 3,847.The news leaves district officials pleased - if puzzled.We certainly didn't expect it, Deputy Superintendent Ken Crawford said. Even if our usual attrition rate of 20 students per year holds, the district will still have 44 students and $175,000 (in state funding) more than we thought.

When words fail, what have we left?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

In the face of the unimaginable, we find our humble words of little consequence, and we presume to offer none today. The Bainbridge Island Review asks readers simply that as you turn to this page, please observe a moment of silence, reflection and prayer, for our nation and our world.

From grand visions, tiny landscapesIllustrating images with words.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

Donald Frothingham's paintings at Bainbridge Arts and Crafts remind one that scale and size are not synonymous.While the reproductions of his abstract landscapes in Images from an Unknown suggest vast landscapes, the actual works are 20 by 30 inches and smaller. The size really had to do with working in a confined space, Frothingham said.

A long look at island shorelinesShould projects be put on hold while the city mullsnew regulations?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

With a review of local shoreline regulations under way, and goaded by opponents of new docks in Blakely Harbor, the city has imposed an emergency moratorium on some waterfront development.The moratorium went into effect Sept. 3; the city council is expected to hold a public hearing in early October, at which time it could modify or repeal the measure.Planning officials say the move will give them time to consider new regulations being driven by state and federal agencies. We are in the process of developing new shoreline regulations, and are seeing an increase in permit applications, said Planning Director Stephanie Warren. We want to do that work without reviewing permits.

Board opposes by-district electionsCounty commissioners are united against the controversial provision.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

Kitsap County Commissioners are united in their opposition to a proposal to elect future commissioners by district rather than at large.Reaction was unanimous when the commissioners were presented with the draft charter for Kitsap County last week. The document was submitted by the 21-member board of freeholders, who have drafted the charter over the past year.Among other changes proposed in the draft document, the county commission would be expanded to five members from the current three. But it also includes a provision under which commissioners would be elected by district rather than countywide.

Search for a long-lost sisterThe quest for an historic launch leads to Bainbridge Island - so far...

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

The family history dates back more than seven decades, to a boathouse on Lake Washington. There, two sisters began life - Husky in 1923, and Conny nine years later - as launches used by University of Washington rowing coaches. The latter was named for Hiram Conibear, the legendary Husky crew coach whose rowing stroke remains the accepted standard throughout the world, according to the official U.S. athletic website.The vessel now belongs to Kirk Knapp, an Arlington resident who hopes to locate Husky and reunite the long-separated siblings. My guess is that whoever had - or has - her isn't even aware of what a wonderful piece of history they have, Knapp says.

State, feds driving shoreline review

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

The city moratorium on some shoreline development is driven principally by the requirement that the city update its 1996 shoreline plan and make it conform to new state rules by September 2002.But five days after the Bainbridge city council imposed its moratorium, the state Shoreline Hearings Board struck down the new state rules, calling into question both the time frame and the requirements that the city must meet.

Too hasty on moratorium

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

When the city council imposed a moratorium on some shoreline development, including docks and bulkheads, it acted on the belief that the city had only a year to revise such regulations to conform to new state requirements. Five days later, the state Shoreline Hearings Board kicked the props out from under the whole plan, when it tossed out those same state requirements and told the Department of Ecology to rewrite them. By law, local jurisdictions have 24 months to bring their programs into conformity with new state requirements, and that law is what triggered the city's time-line.

Sharing a Sacred ChantCantor reflects on the meaning of the 'Kol Nidre'

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:31PM

Jewish community members Terry Cowan and Toby Schneider will chant Kol Nidre, marking the eve of Yom Kippur.For Jews who hear it, Kol Nidre can be a deeply moving experience - as it is for those who sing it.Since both Cowan and Schneider have chanted Kol Nidre many years for their respective Jewish groups, the two women have had time to consider what the music means to them.I was raised in a synagogue, Schneider said. I heard chanting as a child and I loved it. When I'm focused on Kol Nidre, those words link me to my ancestors. When I sing it, I represent the congregation through my voice. I am a vehicle.

Math down, language upPreliminary WASL results are mixed for island students.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:30PM

Math scores among elementary-age Bainbridge students are declining, while reading, writing and listening skills continue to climb.Those are the preliminary findings of the latest round of Washington Assessment of Student Learning testing.While preliminary, this data does invite attention to the area of mathematics, said Faith Chapel, new superintendent of curriculum and instruction for the Bainbridge Island School District.Results from the WASLs and other tests will be analyzed during this year's K-12 mathematics program review, she said.

Prudence marks school budgetWith district enrollment stagnant, officials buckle down.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:30PM

A conservative approach marks the 2001-2002 district budget adopted by the Bainbridge Island School Board last week. With expenditures only $260,000 below revenues, this is a very tight budget indeed, district financial officer Peggy Paige said. There is little room for unplanned expenditures.The district projects $26.412 million in revenue for the coming year, and $26.150 million in expenditures.

Mastering the gift of making you giveFund-raiser extraordinaire Larry Mills is Bainbridge Citizen of the Year.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:30PM

Unlike most of us, Larry Mills doesn't mind asking other people for money.His willingness to undertake fund-raising projects has made him much in demand as a board member for organizations such as the Bainbridge Library, Bainbridge Performing Arts and the Bainbridge Foundation.For his charitable work on behalf of a variety of island causes, the Bainbridge Island Kiwanis Club has named Mills its 2001 Citizen of the Year.

Fine choices in primary

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:30PM

Mail-only primary ballots, which should appear in Bainbridge mailboxes this week, are abbreviated affairs, as only two city council races and the open seat on the fire commission attracted enough contenders to require a primary election.

Dog Daze a way of giving back to Helpline House

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:30PM

Just saying thank you wasn't enough.Jillian Bateman sought a more tangible expression of gratitude to Helpline House, so she is producing the Dog Daze benefit concert, Sept. 9.I wanted to show them I appreciate what they've done, Bateman said. And I guess I do like organizing stuff.

School zone safety gets a boostBetter signs and reduced speeds all day will complement tougher enforcement.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:30PM

Better signs and high-profile police presence will promote safety in school zones this fall, advocates hope.A grant from the Washington State Traffic Safety Commission will fund overtime work and put extra patrol officers around schools for the next two weeks, Bainbridge Police Traffic Officer Rob Corn said. Police will use radar enforcement and a portable speed sign to show drivers how fast they're going.Also, the city's public works department will revise school zone speed limits to specify 20 mph from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. for Blakely and Wilkes elementary schools during weekdays.

Hearing shows rift over charterPerceptions of the document depend on which side of the bridge you're on.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:30PM

For those looking for the unexpected, Tuesday night's freeholder meeting at Bainbridge Island City Hall was the wrong place to be.As expected, the principal topic of discussion concerning the draft charter for Kitsap County was whether to elect the county council by district, as a majority of the freeholders propose, or to elect county-wide, as is currently done.

Interest strong among fire hopefulsVoters will narrow the field to two on the primary ballot.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:30PM

Continuing a recent trend of high interest in service on the Bainbridge Island Fire Board, four candidates go before voters in the Sept. 18.All vie for the single open seat on the three-person board, and two will advance to the November general ballot. In interviews with the Review this week, candidates discussed their qualifications and views on issues facing the department, including tax funding; collective bargaining with career fire personnel; maintaining the volunteer program; and developing facilities and equipment.

88 keys, 84 yearsA local senior reaches out to benefit the island's new Catholic preschool.

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:30PM

Intergenerational outreach works both ways.This fall, students at the new Mustard Seed preschool/kindergarten at St. Cecilia Catholic Church will visit senior citizens at Virginia Villa Retirement Center as part of their curriculum.As if in return, Trudy Pival, 84 years old, long-time island resident and original organist for the St. Cecilia parish, will use her musical skills to help Mustard Seed in a benefit concert, Sept. 9. The reason is, Pival says briskly, I have six children and we lived on Bainbridge for 27 summers, but every year we had to pack up and go back to Seattle so the children could go to parochial school.I am so glad to support the beginnings of a Catholic school here.

Cable discussion runs on fast track

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:30PM

The word for Bainbridge Island’s approach to AT&T is “gingerly.” While city officials believe significant gains could result if AT&T replaces Northland as the city’s cable TV operator, it wants to make sure that some present advantages are not lost in the process.

Read the latest Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Sep 19 edition online now. Browse the archives.