Story Archives

Archive Results — 21151 thru 21175 of about 31925 items

Blair possesses all of required skills | Letters | Oct. 14

  • Oct 14, 2011 at 1:19PM

As co-chair of the Bainbridge Public Library Board Development Committee, I have had the distinct pleasure of working with Anne Blair on a number of endeavors.

Stick with a winner in at-large race | Letters | Oct. 14

  • Oct 14, 2011 at 1:15PM

The good news of progress in the city continues. The 2012 budget looks likely to begin with a $6 million cash balance, including a $1 million surplus, compared to $0 two years ago. Staff has been reduced by nearly a third.

Candidates differ over budget numbers | Letters | Oct. 14

  • Oct 14, 2011 at 1:11PM

I’m sorry, but once again City Council Member Barry Peters has his financial facts wrong. At the League of Women Voters Forum (Sept. 4) he disagreed with my numbers that the 2012 budget for the general fund was down and that expenses were up.

October 14th, 2011 Editorial Cartoon

  • Oct 14, 2011 at 1:10PM

Outgoing councilor not content with status quo | Letters | Oct. 14

  • Oct 14, 2011 at 1:08PM

Recent economic events have revealed a new long-term financial landscape for planning how we spend taxpayer money for our city’s budget. I feel compelled to point out how our leadership on City Council is part of the critical phase we presently face for the upcoming election; whether or not we are content with the status quo.

New taxing agency will be as bad as city, parks | Letters | Oct. 14

  • Oct 14, 2011 at 1:04PM

As a former Park District commissioner, I saw first hand that both the city and parks should cover all of the plans included in the Port of Bainbridge Island initiative.

Renewal of Puget Sound should be our No. 1 goal | Letters | Oct. 14

  • Oct 14, 2011 at 1:02PM

Oh my gosh. It’s depressing, isn’t it, the relentless drumbeat of alarm-driven letters to the editor and guest editorials from some of Bainbridge Island’s shoreline property homeowners? We certainly are getting their message, loud and clear: Be afraid!

City needs to act in best interest of ratepayers | Guest Column | Oct. 14

  • Oct 14, 2011 at 1:00PM

Are you too growing weary of the campaign hyperbole and unending dialogue concerning the disposition of the city’s water utility? I’m a city utility ratepayer and I certainly am.

Wither a Port of Baindridge Island? You decide | Guest Column | Oct. 14

  • Oct 14, 2011 at 12:58PM

Our November ballot seeks establishment of an island-wide Port District to be managed by five, simultaneously chosen commissioners. If approved by a simple majority vote, the Port of Bainbridge Island becomes our sixth taxing district.

Having trouble sharing our roads? So let’s fix it | Our Opinion | Oct. 14

  • Oct 14, 2011 at 12:54PM

It’s not by accident (just another near-miss) that Squeaky Wheels, the island’s bicycle advocate, is holding a meeting Monday from 6:30-8 p.m. at the Senior Center Commons. Bicyclists and other community activists are calling the event “Safe Roads For All,” and it’s not an oxymoron like it may sound.

Frisky cast strong in BPA’s ‘CATS’

  • Oct 12, 2011 at 12:46PM

Following on the heels of staging the blockbuster “Chicago,” BPA is presenting Broadway’s second-longest running musical, “CATS.”

Tough loss, but no time to mope

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 10:38PM

Bainbridge football coach Andy Grimm says the Spartans will have to bounce back quickly from a 24-21 loss to Seattle Prep last Friday.

Undefeated swimmers eye state title

  • Oct 7, 2011 at 5:17PM

After Tuesday’s home meet against powerful Mercer Island, Bainbridge High girls swim team remains undefeated halfway through the 2011 season.

Council resolves how to deal with recall petitions

  • Oct 7, 2011 at 5:07PM

It took nearly two hours of detailed discussion, but the City Council has approved a resolution to regulate a petition to recall a member of an independent commission such as the city’s Civil Service Commission.

Port proponents believe new revenue is needed; others say no more taxes

  • Oct 7, 2011 at 4:59PM

The impetus leading to the potential creation of a Port of Bainbridge Island materialized from Washington State Ferries’ decision last year to rid itself of a decades-long encumbrance it had with the city.

Citizens, professionals craft plan B

  • Oct 7, 2011 at 4:40PM

Contemplating disaster isn’t at the top of most people’s list of how to spend a Monday evening, but for the roughly 50 people who gathered at the Bainbridge Commons this week, the evening proved informative.

Credit ‘Dougies’ for Great Pine Cone Harvest | Island Wildlife | Oct. 7

  • Oct 7, 2011 at 4:12PM

A couple weeks ago we were taking our newborn baby for his first walk. We were pushing his stroller down a one-lane road through a thick Bainbridge forest when it happened. Thump!

Candidates are beginning to establish their positions | Our Opinion | Oct. 7

  • Oct 7, 2011 at 4:10PM

If you haven’t attended one of the two candidate forums held during the last 10 days involving the upcoming City Council election, here’s an example of the atmosphere hanging over it.

October 7th, 2011 Editorial Cartoon

  • Oct 7, 2011 at 10:31AM

Final water report in, future of utility undetermined

  • Sep 8, 2011 at 3:00PM updated Oct 3, 2011 at 11:26AM

The next step in the decision process is a major policy decision that could have a dramatic impact on the 2011-2012 operating budget if the council decides to spin-off the utility. The high stakes have delayed the decision, which will most likely result in staff reductions regardless of whether the utility remains in city control or ownership is transferred.

Undefeated Spartans hammer Bishop Blanchet

  • Sep 26, 2011 at 5:00PM updated Sep 30, 2011 at 10:34PM

The Bainbridge High Spartans scored early and oftenin winning their first Metro League football game this season 63-7 over Bishop Blanchet Saturday in Seattle.

Main Street program could benefit Winslow Way

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 3:16PM

Winslow Way is among an increasingly small number of cities with an active main street that serves as the heart and soul of its community.

Civil Service Commission dispute persists

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 3:14PM

The city’s Ethics Board and the City Attorney Jack Johnson issued mixed preliminary statements about the facts behind the complaints filed by Kim Hendrickson, the former Civil Service Commission secretary/chief examiner, regarding the actions of two of the commission’s three sitting members.

Operaton Backpack a big success again | Letters | Sept. 30

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 3:07PM

While teachers prepared classrooms, island residents and businesses were also getting ready for the school year. Helpline House’s Project Backpack sent 146 students back to school with community donated backpacks and enough supplies inside to start the year off right.

Lawsuit caused city to do what’s right | Letters | Sept. 30

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 3:05PM

In Barry Peters’ political spin (“Water utility should stay put,” Sept. 23), a few important points were left out.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates