Story Archives

Archive Results — 21051 thru 21075 of about 26575 items

School plan will boost confidence

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

Hooray! Let’s applaud the Bainbridge Island School Board and members of a citizen group for working together for the betterment of our island’s public schools. It’s been a long haul for the current board, which has been in the throes of planning a high school capital facilities bond for more than a year. They’ve attended countless meetings and pored over thousands of pages of documents. They’ve used direct mail to contact every household on the island, inviting people to join them as they discussed crowded lunch rooms, old computers, soggy sports fields and funky spaces for band practice.

IGWG model offers glimpse into tax future

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

That old adage about the predictability of death and taxes was never so true. At least where local taxes are concerned. Our five taxing jurisdictions – city, schools, parks, fire and library – have this week unveiled the first-ever comprehensive “Tax Model” for Bainbridge Island, and it’s worth a gander and some fanfare.

Get behind simple majority at long last

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

We’ve written this editorial so many times now, it’s practically a reflex. Must be Groundhog Week. Yet duty calls again, as legislators once more consider a bill that would end what we’ve been calling the “tyranny of the minority” that hobbles the funding of local schools. Specifically, the legislation would put an end to the 60 percent “supermajority” requirement for passage of school levies and bonds. Because it would change the state constitution, the bill requires the backing of two-thirds of both chambers, plus the support of the electorate in a statewide election.

‘Down there’ comes here

  • Feb 2, 2005 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

Early on in every journalism career, aspiring reporters and editors learn what is referred to as “the Breakfast Table Rule.” That is the profession’s informal measure of taste and propriety, a standard that says if a subject or word isn’t fit for discussion at the average family’s morning repast, you should think twice about including it in the family newspaper – at least not without toning it down with some synonym or euphemism.

Open space: speak up, get your fair share

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

Nothing turns NIMBYism on its head quite like public amenities. Particularly when it’s new parkland that’s being doled out, what better location than in close proximity to “my back yard”?

Lack of space stymies our downtown

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

Music, the saying goes, is the spice of life. Few may realize how close downtown Winslow came to losing its purveyor of fine recorded music just over a year ago. The Glass Onion, one of our community’s many plucky small, independently owned retail businesses, had lost its lease in Winslow Green. After a decade of operation, it was in danger of closing for want of a new storefront – with the Christmas shopping season at hand, no less.

Foot ferry a most livable achievement

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

1990. Now that was an interesting year. The sage writers at Money Magazine named Bremerton – yes, Bremerton – the most livable city in America. Meanwhile, the Bainbridge Island City Council (although it was wholly coincidental) voted to apply for state money to construct a vehicle underpass at the High School Road intersection, to channel cross-island traffic under our east-west arterial and prevent Kitsap-bound drivers from inadvertently straying into island neighborhoods. The mayor’s office did the council one better, and began rooting around for state and federal dollars to put an underpass at 305/Winslow Way, too.

Green light for highway improvement

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

“They oughtta do something about this.” It’s a refrain heard regularly on our Letters pages, often on the subject of local roadways. Elsewhere on today’s page, one of our regular correspondents from Rolling Bay addresses his concerns over the awkward junction at Moran Road and Manitou Beach, just off the highway; he also mentions the possible need for a traffic signal at the nearby 305/Madison intersection, the second such comment we’ve heard from readers recently.

A quick read on progressive street planning

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

Is there cooperation in chaos? That seems to be the theory in some progressive traffic planning circles, as engineers look for innovative ways by which to reconcile the conflicting sensibilities – and physical mass – of the motorists, bicyclists and pedestrians sharing urban environments.

Small change adding up big

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

No surprise that islanders have taken to heart the cause of tsunami disaster relief for our neighbors across our shared ocean. Folks who turned out to Pegasus for last Saturday’s performance by Holly Figueroa chipped in more than $400 to the cause, we’re told. More good news in an update from our friends Nancy Quitslund, Bill Reddy and Suellen Cunningham, organizers of the “Coins That Care” effort announced in these pages a week or so ago. Their dispatch came in after we had today’s Letters pages in the can, but we’ll gladly give up the editor’s space for a few community huzzahs and a reminder of what our community’s contributions are all about:

Calendar deal is not what it appears

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

We believe it is playwright and former Vanity Fair editor, the late Clare Boothe Luce, who is credited with the cynic’s maxim: No good deed goes unpunished. Luce might be pleased to know that her wisdom lives on, as phone solicitors of dubious intent target island merchants with an advertising ploy that straddles the fine line of legality. Several Winslow businesses reported this week receiving solicitations from an out-of-state organization offering advertising space on a “booster calendar” to benefit Bainbridge High School sports.

Try to find middle ground on protection

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

One would think that a process based on “science” would yield more readily objective results. But an update of the city’s “critical areas ordinance” is proving surprisingly oblique. Citizen advocates, council members and kibitzers from the state Department of Ecology have gone round and round for most of the past year over the most effective and fairest way to protect island wetlands and streams, generally through mandated vegetative buffers of various widths.

The future of downtown: fresh perspective

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

Some want hammers, some, designer jeans. Our historically vibrant downtown has thrived on the sheer variety of the offerings – from the wholly functional to the (arguably) silly and extravagant – offered by local merchants. We may have no use for one line of merchandise or another, but we should be pleased whenever any entrepreneur is confident enough in our downtown core to hang out a shingle and invite passersby to consider new wares – ditto for the emergence of new buildings for commercial and residential tenants.

At long last, Colman Dock finds salvation

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

Here’s two concepts you don’t usually see in the same sentence: “Colman Dock” and “comfort.” Historically, time spent waiting at the Seattle end of “our” ferry run has been borderline miserable, hours wasted cursing one’s bad luck, poor time management, and/or earlier failure to pick up a schedule by which to time the return trip.

Getting tough to know right from wrong

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

It never ceases to amaze, how two eyewitness accounts of the same event can differ so wildly. Consider last week’s episode aboard the ferry Puyallup, in which the deposit of a “suspicious package” – which turned out to be a college kid’s backpack, school work and thermos, discarded on the last day of class – shut down the Bainbridge-Seattle run for three and a half hours in the late afternoon.

Island holidays: a trip back to the past

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

We always enjoy a lazy hour or two spent perusing the Review’s archives, and the chance to share a few lines from past editions with readers. A recent jaunt turned up this column from Frances Olin Gowen, whose droll commentaries we have offered on this page several times of late. Enjoy, with the compliments of the season: * * * * * “This week I cannot escape saying something about Christmas. It hardly seems worthwhile; everything that could possibly be said about Christmas had been said thousands of times over...

Today’s tech, tomorrow’s auction fodder

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

What is the half-life of technology? Bainbridge Islanders might think of it as the amount of time that passes between the introduction of some new whiz-bang consumer device – a computer, a television, a Nordic-Trac – and when it shows up in quantity for $10 each at the Rotary Auction.

Make growing, not buying, a priority in ’05

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

Here’s the farm. Who are the farmers? On the Bentryn land on Day Road East, they are many. Under the stewardship of the Bentryn family, various growers have for years been allowed to work the land under no real obligation.

Slow down traffic: put up more lights

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

As holiday gripes go – our own list might include the irksome coincidence of endless queues and “This Window Closed” signs at the post office – some complaints are becoming sadly predictable.

Obituaries, tributes not the final word

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

When you die, how you’re remembered is pretty much out of your hands. That underscores the importance of using one’s time on earth to leave a positive legacy.

Foil the tax man, but do it quick

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

Is it too soon to start thinking about the 2005 Rotary Auction? We would have thought so too. Customarily on this island, one hoards in December and divests in June, and Christmas was still a month off when Rotarian Jim Chapel turned up in the newsroom on a recent afternoon.

Parking, and other island social ills

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

Smoking. Drinking. Parking. Should we add the latter – and such associated blights as commuter-hour traffic, and the hordes of visigoths who stream onto the island from across the bridge every day – to the list of social ills subject to higher taxation by various levels of government?

For all those who labor with a full sink

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

Once more to the archives: We’ll round out the Thanksgiving weekend with another historical offering from the pen of the delightful Frances Olin Gowen, post-holiday sentiments for anyone who slaved over a stove – and later, a sink full of dirty dishes – to make the holiday occasion fulfilling for hungry family and guests:

Kerry, part 2: Rejoin the world

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

Isolationism, as it’s taught in the school books, refers to a national policy of avoiding international entanglements. We fear our nation has moved toward a new isolationism, not by avoiding adventurism abroad, but rather by pursuing it in defiance of international sentiment.

The bench test: a judicial primer

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

“Who,” a caller asked, “am I supposed to vote for in these judicial races? Will the Review be making any endorsements?” We had to confess that we’d been paying less attention than we ought to those seeking seats on the bench. But we knew whom to call – the excellent Charlie Wiggins, Bainbridge Island attorney and former Court of Appeals judge, who was kind enough to offer guidance for those equally vexed when the candidates don’t come with a convenient “R” or “D” next to their name.

Read the Jul 3
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates