Story Archives

Archive Results — 21051 thru 21075 of about 26150 items

Open space plan is more about dreams

  • May 17, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

In case you didn’t already know, the city has begun updating the 2025-30 Comprehensive Plan, its first priority being the creation of a stratagem for the future of the island’s open spaces. It’s essentially another plan within a plan, but it’s fortuitous that city leaders realize the judiciousness of protecting the island’s most valuable commodity against the threat of urban sprawl. They fear that if they don’t plan now and stick to their guns later, the almighty dollar will turn this Seattle suburb into an enlarged version of Mercer Island.

You ask, the mayor answers

  • May 21, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

At the recent Town Meeting at the American Legion Hall, a citizen suggested that I institute a column in the Review to address citizen questions – to “loop back to the people that are paying the bills” – from you, our taxpayers. This is the first of a series of columns that will address commonly asked questions, and I want to use it to respond to some of the questions about the city’s financial well-being that I heard at the meeting.

Worst job in town? Ask the mayor

  • May 21, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

Once, at a party, the conversation was dragging a bit, when someone, asked: “What was the worst job you ever had?”

Island’s no. 1 eyesore gets a new manager

  • May 21, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

This is no surprise, of course, but here’s the latest on what is going to be done with the old Unocal property at the corner of Winslow Way and Olympic Drive, you know, that eyesore that serves as the gateway to Bainbridge Island: Nothing is going to be done anytime soon. Maybe never, since the lot has been empty since the oil company eradicated its gas station in the early 1990s.

Thanks go to those who support Yeomalt Cabin

  • May 21, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

The Park District’s Finance Committee and commissioners have patiently been reviewing plans and finances to restore historic Yeomalt Cabin.

Healthy praise for the six-hour workday

  • May 21, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

In the course of “researching” last week’s column about our national obsession with accumulating stuff, I came across a kindred spirit in the person of Jeffrey Kaplan. Mr. Kaplan wrote an article recently for Orion magazine called “The Gospel of Consumption.” Rather than just mindlessly ranting and throwing verbal bombs unfettered by logic or facts as is my preferred method of communication (and also the standard that prevails in American presidential campaigns), Mr. Kaplan did some actual research and uncovered an article from 1929 written by a Charles Kettering. At the time, Mr. Kettering was the director of General Motors Research. The article was called “Keep the Customer Dissatisfied,” and it outlined a strategic shift for American industry – a shift away from providing for basic human needs towards creating new needs.

Students may lose annual outdoor trip

  • May 24, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

It appears that the beloved outdoor-ed program, which for many years has served as a right of passage for island fourth graders, will soon become a budgeting victim. It won’t become official until next Thursday when the Bainbridge Island School District Board is expected to approve the administration’s plan to cut its 2008-09 budget by $1.4 million.

City should repair only the sewer line

  • May 28, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

Much has been said lately in the media, letters and community blogs about what is going on with our city’s decreased revenue and constricted finances. For the last two months, Bainbridge Island Television (BITV) has been broadcasting City Council meetings and workshops as councilors debate the pros and cons of how to renovate Winslow Way. Part of that debate concerns two questions: 1) who is going to pay? and 2) for what?

Preservation or restoration?

  • May 28, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

The city is expected to approve two shoreline restoration studies tonight with a combined price tag of nearly $500,000. Funding for the feasibility studies and potential cleanup of Blakely Harbor Park and Strawberry Plant Park would draw from $3.3 million that has been collected from the Wycoff creosote facility’s Superfund settlement to be used specifically to restore some of the island’s eastern shorelines. The Elliott Bay Trustee Council (consisting of several state and federal agencies) also has targeted two areas near Pritchard Park for separate studies.

Life in the bad gift dog house

  • May 28, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

Love charms us so; it makes us think we are stronger than we really are, when all the while it renders us vulnerable to pain of which we would know nothing were it not for the depth of our love. We think that love conquers all – hah! It is the Trojan horse of sorrow.

Change? It all depends on you

  • May 28, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

Members who could not attend the Bainbridge Island Senior Community Center’s annual meeting on May 12 missed a great speaker.

So when will WSF play nice?

  • May 31, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

As expected, everyone was polite and smiley when David Moseley, the new leader of Washington State Ferries, addressed the Bainbridge Island City Council on Wednesday. Word has it that Moseley is more attuned to public needs than the usual suspects running the system. Nevertheless, simmering just below the surface was the residue of a deep-rooted quarrel between the city and WSF regarding the ferry system’s Eagle Harbor maintenance yard.

Give thanks to Bainbridge School Dist. with quality journalism, meeting attendance

  • May 31, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

The season of pomp and circumstance is upon us again. We duly celebrate the achievements of the students of Bainbridge Island School District, we recognize the dedicated efforts of the district’s faculty and staff, and we express our gratitude for community members’ myriad hours of volunteer service in and generous financial support of schools. In my view, we owe special thanks, particularly this year, to the members of the district’s Board of Directors.

Let’s make it all in one fix, please

  • Jun 4, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

It is the responsibility of cities to maintain their roads, sidewalks and utilities. It is also a top tax priority of our community that the city provides safe, efficient utilities. Some have suggested recently that we should just fix the sewer main on Winslow Way and then in later years we can rip up the street again and repair the other utilities, road and sidewalks. The fact is that all three utilities on Winslow Way - water,?sewer and stormwater – are cracked, failing or deficient. Significant sections of the sidewalk are also in disrepair. The current proposed Winslow Way project would correct all of these failing and deficient infrastructures.

Parents hope there’s no end to adoptions

  • Jun 4, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

For an island tucked away in the Pacific Northwest, Bainbridge often finds a way to become involved with national and international issues, primarily because of the type of people it attracts. Take Russell Regan for example. Regan and his family adopted a Guatemalan child in the 1990s and he eventually started an adoption agency based on the island. Today, some 30 children from that impoverished Central American country live on Bainbridge with their adopted parents.

Heaven? Try a good book and a cold brew

  • Jun 4, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

I did a Google search on the word “heaven” and came up with 196 million hits, which seems like a lot of information about a place that (a) none of us has actually been to; and (b) may not even exist.

Poulsbo city councilwoman aims to free up SR-305 ferry traffic

  • Jun 7, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

Poulsbo City Council member Becky Erickson dispatched an email Thursday with a copy of a proposed joint resolution she wants the governments of her city, Bainbridge and the Suquamish Tribe to approve and send to the state Department of Transportation. Cutting through all the “whereases,” the gist of it is to sequence the lights on SR-305 to the road end at Highway 3 “to maximize traffic flow (north and south)... during commute hours... in such a way as to reduce the excessive queuing times and move the traffic flow through the corridor in a timed pattern to avoid traffic flow interruption.”

The envelope (with all the money), please!

  • Jun 7, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

I listen to the City Council with rapt wonder. How they discuss money, taxes, expenditures and budgets!

They’re counting on us to succeed

  • Jun 7, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

Step by step we are working to restore the health of Puget Sound, the rivers and our Pacific Coast. We’re working through the Puget Sound Partnership clean-up effort and also implementing the Tribal/State Ocean Ecosystem Initiative – an ecosystem-based approach to management of our Pacific coastal waters – to make this part of the world a healthier place for all of us to call home.

Letters

  • Apr 5, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

Tasked by the Bainbridge Island City Council to develop a funding package for the once $20 million and now $13 million Streetscape project, city administration is assigning most of the costs ($7.4 million) to utility customers. In addition, all island residents would contribute $5 million through non-voted council bonds which leaves $3.6 million unfunded for undergrounding power. Funding for the street amenities (trees, furniture, etc.) is being postponed to future conversations.

Letters

  • Apr 9, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

You, the editor of the Review, altered a letter to the editor by my husband, Captain James Olsen, published Saturday the 5th by adding my name as a parenthetical to the body of that letter.

MORE letters

  • Apr 9, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

The pressure is on once again to connect Ericksen Avenue with Hildebrand and in the process destroy a delightful public park.

Letters

  • Apr 12, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

Let me get this straight: Bainbridge Disposal now wants to charge me even more to recycle, while cutting the service in half? What do they think they are, an airline? In Seattle, curbside recycling is mandatory; on Bainbridge, it’s punitive. Why not make the people who don’t recycle pay more?

Letters City government

  • Apr 16, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

SALLY ADAMS

Community Help protect the shoreline

  • Apr 16, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:02PM

All of us on Bainbridge Island depend on healthy marine shorelines and the near-shore environment, whether for bird watching, beachcombing, fishing, shellfish harvesting, or shoreline stability for our homes and other structures. Together we need to come to a common understanding of the importance of a healthy, stable shoreline from an ecological and a human perspective.

Read the May 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates