Story Archives

Archive Results — 21051 thru 21075 of about 27225 items

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Sept. 10

  • Sep 9, 2008 at 3:16PM

A letter in Saturday’s paper came to the conclusion that bulkheads do not threaten the health of Puget Sound. Substantial information is available on the effects of bulkheads.

Bainbridge's new Island Church not such a long time coming

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 4:00PM

As large-scale projects go, the construction of the new Island Church facility clipped along at an impressive pace, on budget and on schedule.

7 Seas Brewing Company to be Gig Harbor's first brewery

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 4:00PM

For island resident Travis Guterson, passion comes from four basic ingredients. The 24-year-old Bainbridge High School graduate is harnessing water, malt, hops and yeast to create a set of unique brews that will be the cornerstone of Gig Harbor’s first brewery.

At college, bookcases are ubiquitous obstacles

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

The other day I helped my son Adam move into the house he will be occupying this year with six other Gonzaga University sophomores, and the experience was an interesting case study in nonlinear behavior. By way of example, if you or I bought a bookshelf kit and brought it home and emptied the contents of the kit on our living room floors, we would probably feel inclined to put the kit together to get it out of the middle of our living room floor. We might even fill the bookcase with books, which, presumably, is the reason we bought the thing in the first place. I learned last week that neither my son nor any of his roommates are afflicted with such traditional notions of linear behavior.

Property tax strikes again

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

More than 100 island property owners attended an event Saturday featuring Kitsap County Assessor Jim Avery, who explained why the county’s latest land assessments took what many considered to be astronomical increases over the previous year. The emotions of those attending the meeting at the Commons generally ranged from angry to frustrated or to just plain confused.

Happy to be home again in Nicaragua

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Balgue, Aug. 2, 10:45 a.m.

Join these artists at the club

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Veteran auction coordinators understand a couple of fudamental truths about how to stage a successful (read: lucrative) event.

FYI

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Bainbridge Police reported the following incidents:

CALENDAR

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Parks Foundation: Projects and groups who meet the criteria of the Bainbridge Island Parks Foundation will be eligible for the annual grant funding giveaway, scheduled for Oct. 8th. Info/application: www.biparks.org/bi_parks_/bipf.htm, or contact Amy Curran, (206) 579-7252. Applications also available at the Park District office. Deadline: Sept. 27.

Island snapshots photo by Brad Camp

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

To tote or not to tote:

Around The Island

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Schools see dip in students

Beyond Kitsap: Escapism through art

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Joker’s Peace gets lost on the Gig Harbor Open Studio Tour.

‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream,’ lost in Hollywood

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Perhaps nowhere is Shakespeare’s well-known comedy of errors “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” more at home than the land of dreams itself — Hollywood.

How to deal with fall’s unpleasantries

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

It’s nearly the first day of fall. Along with the approaching date we’re also experiencing fall webworm infestations. Don’t panic though, these caterpillar tents and moth larvae are nothing like the spring into summer onslaughts of tent caterpillars we sometimes encounter.

What’s going on

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

ARTS & CRAFTS

How dance instructors spend their off time

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Bainbridge Dance Center puts its instructors on stage for its annual fall faculty showcase, Sept. 13-14 at BPA.

What’s Up for the Old Town Art Walk

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Meet hometown merchants and artists at the quarterly throw down in

See, kids? Even bats like to read

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Houghton-Mifflin author/illustrator Brian Lies brings his book “Bats at

Documenting and combatting cyber villains

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Kingston-based USA Today tech writer/author Byron Acohido and fellow reporter Jon Swartz document rising tide of cyber crime.

What’s Up Weekend Wrock

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Mediterranean-style six-string Wednesday, free acoustic Thursday and a double-CD-release show Saturday fill out Kitsap’s docket of rock.

Bainbridge Island Review's historical archives to appear online

  • Sep 8, 2008 at 3:22PM

The entire historic archive of the Bainbridge Island Review will be made freely available online.

Visualizing Bainbridge History: Mary Woodward's 'In Defense of Our Neighbors' debuts

  • Sep 6, 2008 at 10:00AM updated Sep 8, 2008 at 12:57PM

When Mary Woodward initially conceived a written portrait of Bainbridge Island during the World War II years, she had reams of personal accounts at her disposal and a clear goal: to make history come alive.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Sept. 6

  • Sep 6, 2008 at 10:00AM updated Sep 8, 2008 at 11:51AM

The economic downturn that is presently engulfing us was brought on subtly by two basic events.

Bainbridge's budget grind begins

  • Sep 6, 2008 at 9:00AM updated Sep 8, 2008 at 9:32AM

An often-split Bainbridge City Council could agree on one thing Wednesday night - city finances need to be conservative and sustainable.

Read the Aug 28
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates