Story Archives

Archive Results — 20726 thru 20750 of about 21800 items

The new face of Winslow

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:13PM

"You can't prevent Bainbridge Island from changing, but you can control how it's done, developer Earl Miller believes.And when he renovates one of Winslow's keystone properties - the northeast corner of Winslow Way and Madison Avenue - he intends to make it look nice.I want a building that fits in with the character of the town, Miller said Friday. I want it to look like an old building. My idea is a country French look, with stucco, wrought iron and pitched roofs.Miller told the Review Friday about his plan to replace Lundgren Station and the adjoining building to the east, which houses Schmidt's appliances, with a mixed-use development. Parking will be underground, the street level will be retail, and the upper floors will have some 20 apartments, he said.There's a real need for housing downtown, Miller said. Ideally, I'd like it to be for downtown workers - store clerks and the like. But with the cost of building what it is, that's tough even if you're willing to take a low profit margin. "

Student test scores soar

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:13PM

"The test results are in, and the Bainbridge Island school district is happy.The much-awaited results of the Washington Assessment of Student Learning test were released this week, showing general improvement in reading, math and writing across the state.Bainbridge Island was no exception, showing some dramatic jumps - percentages of Woodward Middle School students passing the standardized writing portion of the test jumped from from 46.9 percent to 80.1 percent.What can you say? said Bruce Weiland, president of the school board. We are very, very pleased. "

Council reverses housing policy

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:13PM

"In an action that may have violated state law, the city council Wednesday reversed an affordable-housing policy it had unanimously adopted last fall. In the process, it left in limbo a number of pending purchases of affordable homes. But some of those in Wednesday's majority said they might move quickly to lift the cloud created by the decision.I think there may be some issues we didn't think about, councilman Norm Wooldridge said Thursday. "

Leave behind more than a memory

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:13PM

"You can't take it with you.We've been asked to remind readers as much, as September is Leave a Legacy of Western Washington month. The motto: Make a will and make a difference.You don't have to be a millionaire to make a difference - everybody has something to give, Winslow estate-planning attorney and LALWW volunteer Kathleen Wright told us this week. You don't have to be Bill Gates or Paul Allen. The Leave a Legacy campaign started four years ago in the Midwest, with a goal of steering some of the proceeds from personal estates toward non-profit organizations and charities.Since then, chapters have sprung up around the country, including the Puget Sound area. And with fully 60 percent of Americans being carted off to Forest Lawn without leaving a will behind, there's quite an untapped resource there for doing some good in the community. "

The fashion world of BPA

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:12PM

"Whether it's a late-19th-century evening gown or a grass skirt, Bainbridge Performing Arts has the costume you never knew you were looking for.Peacoats, kimonos, crystals, uniforms and other duds will go on sale from 9 a.m. to noon, Sept. 23.We've got a lot of fun stuff, said BPA's Mykel Pennington. All kinds of things we've had to beg, borrow and steal for shows.BPA normally costumes its productions through second-hand stores, sewing volunteers, loans and donations, all overseen by each show's costume designer.Costumes range from productions as diverse as My Fair Lady, The Little Prince, Annie, Born Yesterday and The Wind in the Willows, and more.While providing for all stripes of everyday sartorial use, the sale is also a prime opportunity for Halloween browsing. "

Merchants lukewarm on parking garage

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:12PM

The Winslow Town Square parking structure and mixed-use complex will be a tough sell to Winslow businesses.But it may provide the best long-term way of maintaining downtown as a vital commercial core for Bainbridge Island.Those opinions emerged Monday night from the first of a series of small focus-group meetings on the ambitious plan to bring as many as 80 residential units and 600 new parking spaces to the area between city hall and the north side of Winslow Way.

Affordability- an uphill ride

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:12PM

"When developer Kelly Samson tried to do his bit for affordable housing on Bainbridge Island, he ran head-on into a principle stated in jest by Johnny Carson:No good deed goes unpunished.When it was approved by the city council in 1998, Samson's Weaver Creek development - which provided the land for nine affordable, sweat equity homes - was fiercely criticized by councilman Norm Wooldridge as creating a ghetto, and just the worst design I have ever seen in my life.I wouldn't go through that experience again, Samson said, looking back on the meeting. I broke out in shingles, which is a stress-related problem.What Samson had done was carve up a 5.3-acre tract on Weaver Road, between Rotary Park and Hillandale, into 27 lots - nine of which were sold to the Kitsap County Consolidated Housing Authority for the self-help project. "

Kushner named citizen of the year

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:12PM

"The Bainbridge Kiwanis Club has named island real estate agent and civic activist Ed Kushner its Citizen of the Year for 2000.Kushner, owner-broker of the Bainbridge office of Windermere Real Estate, was honored for his broad range of involvement over many years.Ed has always been willing to donate his time, talents and money to maintain what we love and to improve what we have on Bainbridge Island, the club said in a news release announcing Kushner's selection.Most recently, Kushner was the driving force behind the effort to create the Marge Williams Memorial Office Center as a home for island non-profit agencies. "

Affordable future is a matter of will

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:12PM

"When we set out a few weeks ago to tackle the issue of affordable housing on Bainbridge Island, we weren't sure where we'd wind up. Boiling down the market whims and social forces that are driving the gentrification of the island, and examining how best to harness the community's resources and collective will to blunt those forces a bit, was daunting.Of course, if the issue was simple to explain, it would be simple to address. It's not. Numerous interviews, hours of research and six news stories on, we've found cause for hope and equal cause for pessimism. But most of all, we've found need. Some ideas and images will stick with us, emblematic of the issues at hand: "

"Teachers, cops priced off the island"

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:12PM

"They come to work a few years for valuable experience, then leave for someplace more affordable. That's the increasingly common story as public employees struggle with local housing costs.From teachers to police officers, many of the lower-paid but essential members of the community are being edged off Bainbridge Island as real estate prices rise beyond their salary levels - causing some to question how Bainbridge is affected.Bill Cooper, police chief, said he believes the role of officers on Bainbridge is compromised by the high cost of living. Our ability to become a part of this community is damaged by our inability to live here, Cooper said. "

"Vote yes on Proposition 1, for transit"

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:12PM

"Don't ride the bus?Swell. Just think of all the other drivers you can keep off the road and out of your way.And for users of local public transportation, too, this one's a gimme - we urge a yes vote Sept. 19 on Proposition 1, a three-tenths-of-a-cent countywide sales tax increase to fund Kitsap Transit services.We'd like to say that this sales-tax hike will bring Bainbridge Island and Kitsap County a lot of never-before-seen bus runs and other perks. Instead, it's a largely restorative measure, and would help fix the local mess created by I-695 - which slashed Kitsap Transit's budget by 40 percent this year. Passage would bring back popular bus service for commuters, seniors and the disabled, getting the agency back on track to meet the needs of a fast-growing island and county population. "

Going back to the books

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:12PM

"Remember how it felt?In kindergarten, everything was foreign, from the classroom to the bathroom. By senior year, little could be more familiar than the ring of a school bell.Bus stop schedules and the power of homework reasserted their influence on local youth Wednesday, when Bainbridge Island launched into the new school year. As tradition demands, there was some nervousness on opening day.I think my kids were probably a little apprehensive, said new island resident Rebecca Wilson, whose second and third graders started their education in Issaquah schools before the family moved here. But we all love it here - I'm sure they'll do fine. "

Agencies target the 'working poor'

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:12PM

"Through its affordable housing ordinance, the city of Bainbridge Island is corralling the forces of private enterprise to build lower-cost housing than builders motivated only by profit might provide.But there is a stratum of islanders who won't be helped by that effort.Even if the land were free, the private sector cannot afford to build houses for people below 50 percent of Kitsap County's median income, said Martin Rowe, affordable housing specialist for Bainbridge Island.This is the segment of the population sometimes referred to as the working poor - households making $30,000 per year or less. "

Neighbors back Fort Ward townhouses

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:12PM

"In a rare instance of neighbors voting for development, Fort Ward residents Thursday night voted overwhelmingly to support conversion of a long-vacant historic structure to eight residential units.The vote, by attendees at a Fort Ward Neighborhood Association meeting, supported developer and South Beach Drive resident Scott McFarlane's plans to convert Building 16 to townhomes. The massive brick structure sits on Fort Ward Hill Road, just south of Evergreen Avenue and amidst a number of newly constructed or renovated homes. "

Agencies need every dollar

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:12PM

"One obstacle to affordable housing on Bainbridge Island is the operation in the marketplace of the law of supply and demand. When an area is as desirable as Bainbridge is perceived, demand for housing is strong. And where demand is increasing faster than supply, as has been true on the island, home prices rise.That's not the only problem. Another is the cost of creating new housing for those with lower incomes.It is simply not possible to build units at a price our target population can afford to pay, said Martin Rowe, city affordable-housing coordinator.The only way to make it work is to reduce our cost of capital, Rowe said. "

"House, painter"

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:12PM

"Debora House's painting career began with something we've all done - making cards for St. Valentine's Day.She began by painting large sheets of paper, then cutting fragments for collages and sending them. Then it was thank-you notes. Then birthday cards.Pretty soon, House said, it wasn't just a card-making retreat a few times a year. And then I decided to paint a canvas - that way you can't cut it up. You have to take responsibility for the whole painting.House began painting five years ago in Stockholm, Sweden, after working for years as a textile designer. Her work leans towards abstract expressionism and her main interests are texture and color.I rotate the canvas constantly when I paint to balance the colors, she said. And since it's abstract, House said, I want it to work no matter how you hang it. I also do it to keep surprising myself. "

The street of dreams comes true

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:11PM

"To most people, community-building is a metaphor. For the residents-to-be of Strawberry Place, it's a hands-on reality.They are both the owners and the builders of nine Bainbridge Island homes made affordable by their own efforts. And before they could build houses, they had to build a team, because the rule is that nobody moves in until all the houses are finished.We're a family, said Laura Harrison, a single mother who works as a medical assistant. We have to pull together.They are building the single-family, two-story homes under the self-help program of the Kitsap County Consolidated Housing Authority. Participants in the program do most of the construction work themselves, putting in a minimum of 30 hours a week under the tutelage and supervision of master carpenter Del Sutton, a KCCHA employee. "

The affordable housing challenge

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:11PM

"On it's face, affordable housing on Bainbridge is an equation that simply won't balance.There are only seven homes on the island now selling for $200,000 or less. Qualifying for a mortgage on a $200,000 house requires an income of roughly $50,000, after scraping together $20,000 for a down payment.And that's more than lots of islanders make. Islanders like nurses, teachers, policemen, store clerks, carpenters, plumbers and firemen.It's the numbers, said Bill Reddy, director of the island's Housing Resources Board. Lots of people on this island make $12.50 an hour. But to afford a house here, you have to make $50 or $60 an hour. "

Can we find a roof for all on the island?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:11PM

"We thought we'd begin with a success story.On page A1 of this edition of the Review, readers will find the tale of a little street called Strawberry Place, also known as the Weaver Creek self-help housing project. There, nine up-and-coming island families - young newlyweds, single moms, a hodgepodge of office workers and blue-collar types - are putting the finishing touches on cozy, attractive little houses of their own construction. In so doing, they are achieving the dream of home ownership through their own industry, with the help of the county housing authority and local affordable-housing ordinances. We believe their success is cause for celebration in this community - and a story that we hope can be repeated again and again around the island. "

Pratt made a mark for public transit

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:11PM

"Most of us recall Don Pratt, the fire commissioner, or Don Pratt, the neighbor.That is, Don Pratt, the islander.Professionally, of course, the Bainbridge High School graduate and north-end resident spent his days on the peninsula, as planning director for the city of Bremerton. And we're pleased to report that this week, his public service will be honored in that city.Pratt, who died in 1998 at age 52, after a two-year battle with cancer, is credited as among the creative forces behind development of the new Bremerton Transportation Center, a peerless hub for ferry, bus, bicycle, vanpool and pedestrian transit. "

"Get out the chainsaw, then the spade"

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:11PM

"Even now, you can see the courtroom scene.The aggrieved and angry plaintiff; the solemn city attorney in defense; the insurance photographs of the fallen tree and the mangled vehicle; the personal-injury lawyer waving the plant pathologist's report before the jury:See! They knew!Fear of liability isn't the best basis for policy decisions. But given what the city knows about the relative health of two aging maples that find themselves in the way of the Winslow Way East reconstruction project, it's time to fire up the chainsaw. "

Give Madison project a fair chance

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:11PM

"Timing is everything.So, as the autumn leaves start to turn and we begin our slow, inexorable retreat indoors, we fear that the Madison Avenue traffic calming project won't be getting the fair trial it deserves. Not because it won't slow drivers down - to the contrary, watching some motorists snake carefully through the rows of white pylons that went up this week made it look like we'd skipped traffic calming and moved right into traffic sedating. "

"A kinder, gentler Madison Ave.?"

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:11PM

"When the new yellow center stripe first appeared Monday afternoon, it looked like the road crew had been drinking on the job.Back and forth the stripe meandered in a series of lazy curves, first toward the east side of Madison Avenue, then back toward the west. By midweek, though - with the addition of diagonal parking spaces, three new crosswalks and rows of white plastic pylons - the logic of the design took shape, and most drivers appeared to have it figured out.Thus was Madison Avenue officially calmed.This is something we're doing for people, not for cars, said Winslow architect Peter O'Connor, touring the project with city Administrator Lynn Nordby Thursday morning. We're trying to take the car away a little bit. "

Staff losing hours in school cutbacks

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:11PM

"For school district employees, numbers in the budget are affecting numbers in their bankbooks.The school board formally passed the district's 2000-2001 budget Thursday night, with staff cuts designed to make up for a projected million-dollar deficit. Administrators have blamed the budget shortfall on unexpectedly low enrollment, coupled with operating costs of Sakai Intermediate School and an overabundance of staff around the district.It's not the most enjoyable topic, said personnel director Ken Crawford. "

What's getting cut from schools?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 3:11PM

"Documents released by the Bainbridge Island School District's administrative office outline the reasons for the projected budget shortfall, and measures taken to correct it.Among the reasons given: "

Read the latest Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Jul 25 edition online now. Browse the archives.