Story Archives

Archive Results — 20726 thru 20750 of about 31625 items

Cartoon’s criticism of police is not amusing | Letters | Dec. 9

  • Dec 8, 2011 at 4:27PM

I was disappointed to see the Nov. 25 editorial cartoon by Bruce Pritchard, lampooning the police response to the “occupy” protests.

Council has the money to make road repairs | Letters | Dec. 9

  • Dec 8, 2011 at 4:25PM

I do not understand how our council can in one breath state that the difficult decisions have put our city’s finances in order, with cuts saving up $5 million; and then in the next breath, state that we don’t have the $1.2 million in funds needed to fix our roads.

Whatever color, Christmas light keeps shining | Interfaith | Dec. 9

  • Dec 8, 2011 at 4:24PM

Christmas comes in many colors. There is Black Friday for shopping. We will sing about silver bells and red-nosed reindeers, and white Christmas snows.

What to expect of new council? Goodbye water, for one | Our Opinion | Dec. 9

  • Dec 8, 2011 at 4:22PM

If one can believe the campaign rhetoric offered by three – Steve Bonkowski, Sarah Blossom and Dave Ward – of the four islanders who will be sworn in early next month as members of the City Council, the city is in for an abrupt change in the way it does business. New councilor Anne Blair may also join the swing away from the current council’s leadership style, but she may be resistant to a fixed agenda to begin her four-year term.

Community Calendar | Dec. 9-31

  • Dec 8, 2011 at 3:24PM

A summary of upcoming community events on Bainbridge Island.

Mayor's leadership led to 'right thinking action' | Letters | Dec. 9

  • Dec 5, 2011 at 4:57PM

Something profound happened at the City Council meeting on Nov. 30 during consideration of Resolution No. 2011-26, amending the Ethics Code, AB11-017.

Kindness from a stranger is inspirational | Letters | Dec. 9

  • Dec 5, 2011 at 4:50PM

About six or seven years ago I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis (MS). The disease has progressed to the point where it is difficult for me to put groceries in my car or open doors.

Questions need answers before signing farm lease | Letters | Dec. 9

  • Dec 5, 2011 at 4:44PM

I am a long-time resident of Bainbridge Island, and for nearly 20 years I have managed a community pea-patch in conjunction with Eagle Harbor Congregational Church. As a result, I am very interested in the issues related to the use of the publicly owned farmland that is being managed by Friends of the Farms.

2011 Bainbridge Island Fire Department Holiday Music Truck Schedule

  • Dec 5, 2011 at 4:38PM

The Fire brigade makes the rounds again in one of the island's most beloved holiday traditions.

Tour of Ferncliff Village scheduled for Saturday morning

  • Dec 5, 2011 at 4:07PM

A tour of the Ferncliff Village development on Saturday will include a close-up view of the beginning of the construction of the first home being built in the 48-unit, affordable-housing development off Ferncliff Avenue.

State Auditor says city has room for improvement

  • Dec 2, 2011 at 11:22AM

Cost allocation plan could result in higher utility charges.

Big-hearted ‘Brigadoon’ will have you smitten

  • Dec 1, 2011 at 5:05PM

PREVIEW of Ovation! Musical Theatre Bainbridge's production of "Brigadoon."

Community Calendar | Dec. 2-Dec. 31

  • Dec 1, 2011 at 4:44PM

Events calendar for Bainbridge Island from Dec. 2 to Dec. 31

Olsen: Sewer district race was warm-up to 2012 campaign

  • Dec 2, 2011 at 4:00PM

James Olsen says his unsuccessful campaign for Kitsap County Sewer District 7 on Bainbridge Island has not derailed his campaign for 23rd District state House of Representatives in 2012.

Veteran’s Day brings the best out of people | Letters | Dec. 2

  • Dec 1, 2011 at 4:35PM

Thank you, Robbie Sitzman, for the Veteran’s Day letter (“Veteran’s Day ignored,” Nov. 18).

Conflict areas require international observers | Letters | Dec. 2

  • Dec 1, 2011 at 4:31PM

Human rights are fragile and often violated around the world, but nowhere more egregiously than in places where conflict leads to on-going armed violence.

Winery owner caused his own ‘code’ problem | Letters |Dec. 2

  • Dec 1, 2011 at 4:27PM

The title of the article last week, “City codes threaten winery,” is wrong. It should read, “Winery willfully violates city ordinance.”

Proposed revisions are necessary and sensible | Letters | Dec. 2

  • Dec 1, 2011 at 4:22PM

I am writing to support Mr. Scales’ proposed revisions to the Bainbridge Island Ethics Code.

Remindful of turkey vultures, mountain beavers | Island Wildlife | Dec. 2

  • Dec 1, 2011 at 4:17PM

‘Tis the season for hanging out with weird relatives. I received my first injection of strange relative juice last week with Thanksgiving and expect to receive a number of other doses between now and New Year’s.

Go to work, open email, day-dream a bunch | Latte Guy | Dec. 2

  • Dec 1, 2011 at 4:14PM

I received a funny article over the Internet the other day. I was at work at the time, so, of course, I immediately dropped everything and read it.

Want to avoid a $450 ferry parking ticket? Think twice | Our Opinion | Dec. 2

  • Dec 1, 2011 at 4:12PM

Warning: In response to legitimate complaints by people with ADA parking permits, the Bainbridge Island Police Department recently became more aggressive in enforcing illegal parking by people without permits in the seven ADA spots located near the Bainbridge Island ferry terminal. Some violators have received a $450 ticket, even when they are parked only temporarily while unloading passengers.

December 2, 2011 Editorial Cartoon

  • Dec 2, 2011 at 1:00AM

Bethlehem comes to Kitsap | Kitsap Week

  • Dec 1, 2011 at 12:20PM

Local church recreates the City of David. The congregation at Rolling Bay Presbyterian Church on Bainbridge Island would like to remind folks of another important Christmas figure: Jesus.

Woman, dog die in house fire

  • Nov 28, 2011 at 5:00PM updated Nov 29, 2011 at 5:03PM

Investigators unable to determine the cause of the fire

Perhacs Studio brings (edge) to annual Winter Studio Tour on Bainbridge Island

  • Nov 29, 2011 at 11:22AM

Winter Studio Tour: The 28th annual Winter Studio Tour is from 10 a.m.-6 p.m. Dec. 2-4 at 10 studios and community halls throughout Bainbridge Island. The free, self-guided tour features the work of 70 artists and can be accessed by car or bike.

Read the Sep 23
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates