Story Archives

Archive Results — 20676 thru 20700 of about 31325 items

City to consider 34 percent water rate reduction, refund

  • Aug 24, 2011 at 10:27AM

The members of the Utility Advisory Committee upped the ante of the water rate reduction discussion with its unanimous agreement Tuesday to recommend an immediate 34 percent water rate reduction coupled with a refund in the order of $300,000 to be delivered to 2010 water utility ratepayers.

UAC recommends 34 percent water rate reduction, and 2010 refund

  • Aug 23, 2011 at 11:48PM

The members of the Utility Advisory Committee added upped the ante of the water rate reduction discussion with its unanimous agreement to recommend an immediate 34 percent water rate reduction coupled with a refund in the order of $300,000 to be delivered to 2010 water utility ratepayers.

City issues bond despite global market turmoil

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 6:39PM

The bond, which was issued on Aug. 10 totaled over $5.7 million with the true interest cost over the 20-year life of the bonds at 3.44 percent. The city will have the bond money at its disposal on Aug. 24.

Accident prompts resource for teens in hairy situations

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 6:37PM

In the wake of last week’s alcohol-related collision, community members have pooled their resources to help island teens find another option to get out of a dangerous situation before someone else is hurt.

City may cut water rates by 25 percent

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 6:31PM

The council asked city staff to prepare an ordinance to reduce all water rates across the board by 25 percent. This comes after last week's Utility Advisory Committee (UAC) decision that the city should reduce water rates and/or issue a refund to ratepayers immediately.

Council split on Bauer job hunt

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 6:30PM

The decision to make Bauer permanent did not change anything in her contract, however, it added two extra months of severance pay to a maximum of six months. Bauer is an at-will employee, meaning she can be terminated at any time, for almost any reason. Bauer makes approximate $150,000 annually.

Madrone Lane: More a piazza, than a street

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 4:57PM

Linda Brandt’s moment of truth came on a Saturday a couple of years ago when she saw a pizza-delivery car nearly smack a mother of two pushing a double-wide stroller down Madrone Lane from the Farmers’ Market.

Supreme Court orders release of reports involving Bainbridge police officer.

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 4:59PM

The State Supreme Court released a ruling Thursday that reverses decisions made by two separate superior court orders involving the withholding of public information stemming from a 2007 traffic stop of Bainbridge Island residents by an island police officer.

Don’t give up on island’s home rule | Letters | Aug. 19

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 3:40PM

How quickly we forget. In 1994 we islanders approved becoming a city so we could control our own destiny. Home rule was the gold standard that people voted for.

City’s SMP approach should mirror today’s reality | Letters | Aug. 19

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 3:38PM

As a land-locked property owner who owns only a canoe, I have no direct interest in the Bainbridge Island shoreline property issues.

Keep Madrone Lane closed to traffic | Letters | Aug. 19

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 3:37PM

I have two thoughts about the re-opening of Winslow Way.

When is this mess coming to an end? | Letters | Aug. 19

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 3:36PM

Why is City Hall and Winslow Street Smarts so apologetic to and for the construction going on in our face?

Let’s celebrate project's end with a street party | Letters | Aug. 19

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 3:35PM

While the street work in Winslow continues to be quite the ordeal, it might also provide a rare opportunity to make lemonade out of lemons.

Trust is critical to council-manager relationship | Guest Column | Aug. 19

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 3:34PM

Our new council-manager form of government has reached an important milestone. On Aug. 10, Brenda Bauer became Bainbridge Island’s first city manager. Since June 2010, Ms. Bauer has worked with the council and staff to address the city’s financial crisis by cutting expenditures and increasing reserves. Today, the city is poised to begin a new chapter to improve its governance.

Review’s move to Winslow is a welcome return home | Our Opinion | Aug. 19

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 3:33PM

Fortunately, the Review’s office is returning (as you read this) to the downtown area after being located in a Day Road industrial park for four years. The move from The Pavilion occurred in 2007 when Sound Publishing (our corporate parent) shifted its headquarters to Poulsbo and left vacant the second story of the building containing Sound’s press and pre-press operations.

Aid en route to 3-car accident on SR-305 south of Agate Pass Bridge

  • Aug 17, 2011 at 5:23PM

3-car accident on SR-305 south of Agate Pass Bridge

Ask Erin: How to avoid political debates with Aunt Frida | Kitsap Week

  • Aug 20, 2011 at 12:00PM

How to avoid political debates.

Kickin’ it at the Kitsap Fair | Kitsap Week

  • Aug 20, 2011 at 12:00PM

Hold on to your boots —the annual event kicks off Aug. 24.

Pencils + paper = high cost for students | Kitsap Week

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 11:00AM

The cost of school supplies can be a financial burden for some families.

Peters, Bonkowski, Ward and Levan emerge from primary

  • Aug 16, 2011 at 8:00PM updated at 10:08PM

So far in the unofficial primary vote tally for Bainbridge Island City Council seats, Barry Peters and Steven Bonkowski will face off in the general election, while David Ward and Joe Levan will move on in the Central Ward. From the central ward David Ward and Joe Levan beat out the two other opponents to collect the most votes in the primary race.

Peters takes time to understand complicated issues | Letters | Aug. 12

  • Aug 16, 2011 at 1:14PM

We are writing to urge Bainbridge Islanders to vote for Barry Peters for City Council. There are always a number of island challenges to be met. Always there will be strongly held differing viewpoints on how these challenges will be addressed. How we make decisions matters.

Hendrickson knows how to get things done | Letters | Aug. 12

  • Aug 16, 2011 at 1:13PM

I work very hard not to involve myself in politics. But it doesn't take a genius to see that our city government is struggling, and basic community needs are not being met.

Peters will help our city achieve its goals | Letters | Aug. 12

  • Aug 16, 2011 at 1:10PM

Kudos to our city's council, administration and staff for a remarkable accomplishment. Now we can get on with addressing the urgent challenges we face in a considered, cost effective and sustainable way. On Aug. 16, island voters have the opportunity to vote to re-elect Barry Peters, one of the council members who has played a key role in this achievement

Hendrickson's practical approach will be good for city | Letters | Aug. 12

  • Aug 16, 2011 at 1:08PM

In the at-large City Council position I would like to state my support for Kimberly Hendrickson, who has an impressive background in political science and urban affairs and has been published in academic journals.

Bonkowski wants to maintain our quality of life | Letters | Aug. 12

  • Aug 16, 2011 at 1:03PM

Wouldn't it be wonderful to have a successful businessman on the City Council? A businessman who can work collaboratively and yet who, after reviewing information, can make decisions. Steve Bonkowski is that person.

Read the Aug 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates