Story Archives

Archive Results — 20676 thru 20700 of about 26100 items

Oh, Comcast, don't you care anymore?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Dear Comcast, How are you? We are fine. We’re just writing to say that we’ve been thinking of you lately, ever since your last note came in the mail. Not that it was very romantic – you reminded us that we are a month behind on our cable bill – but it was nice to hear from you just the same.

Good going on Ericksen

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

So we were walking down Ericksen Avenue the other day, and something about the experience seemed weird and unfamiliar. Dazed and disoriented, we found ourselves not wandering in and out of traffic, nor stumbling along the precipitous edge of a drainage ditch or trespassing across the frontages of private lawns, and not once diving out of the path of speeding vehicles heading toward the ferry.

Endorsements: Llewellyn, Tooloee for council

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Is Bainbridge Island a refuge, or a dynamic, working community? This strikes us as the essential fulcrum of decision in the Nov. 4 election. The Review tends toward the latter view, and we look to candidates likewise oriented; we therefore urge voters to support Jim Llewellyn and Nezam Tooloee for Bainbridge Island City Council.

Endorsements: Good choices abound for parks

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

As public service goes, you could do a lot worse than a stint on the park board. The essential question – how best to help your island neighbors enjoy their free time – brings with it many choices, all of them inviting and good. Your constituency stands unusually united behind the cause of recreation, and your fact-finding junkets are a walk in the park. And unlike some other civic spheres, nobody slings the horse manure; it just sits benignly alongside the trail.

Get on the bandwagon for musicians

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Some 180 strong they were, marching crisply about the football field in smart uniforms to the rat-tat-tat of marshaling drums. It was a halftime performance to which Bainbridge High School football fans have been treated throughout the season, loud and vigorous and a testament to the dedication of youth band members and those who guide them. Only the signs affixed to some of the instruments carried a less-inspiring tune: “Borrowed from Olympic College,” read the banner on one sousaphone; “Resuscitated from a dumpster,” said another. One youth strutted about bearing only a placard reading, pitifully, “I have no instrument.”

Endorsements -- Llewellyn, Tooloee for City Council

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Is Bainbridge Island a refuge, or a dynamic, working community? This strikes us as the essential fulcrum of decision in the Nov. 4 election. The Review tends toward the latter view, and we look to candidates likewise oriented; we therefore urge voters to support Jim Llewellyn and Nezam Tooloee for Bainbridge Island City Council.

A hesitant 'yes' on tax for ferries

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

We truly understand the arguments against Kitsap Transit’s plan to reinstitute fast-ferry service from Kingston, Bremerton and Southworth to downtown Seattle. We understand that Bremerton riders do have an alternative – the auto ferries – and that while there may be considerable value to some in the more frequent and faster service that the transit plan offers, an argument can be made that those who use the time-saving alternative should pay for it.

Endorsements: No on I-841; yes on 4206

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Even in what is referred to as an “off-year” election, where the main events are the races for City Council and, in this case, a county-wide transit-tax question, we can’t completely escape the statewide initiatives. The ballots that will appear in island mailboxes late next week have two such questions, one the controversial topic of ergonomic rules, the other an almost achingly minuscule question dealing with filling vacancies in elective offices. The first, Initiative 841, asks whether the ergonomics rules promulgated by the Department of Labor and Industries should be repealed. The proposal would not only dump the existing standards, but would bar the state agency from enacting new rules, except to conform to whatever federal regulations might be put into place.

Let's get giving

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

We would be remiss if we didn’t note the recent arrival of that telltale big red envelope in the mail, heralding the Bainbridge Foundation’s One Call For All drive. More than 80 local non-profit organizations are represented, in spheres ranging from the arts and humanities to youth services, environmental advocacy, emergency response, public and private education, health and human services – the very foundations of a sound community.

Old resources, new uses at Battle Point

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Terry Lande asked around to find out which island park he should see, which one he really had to get to know first. Coming up from Oregon to interview for the job of Bainbridge parks director, he’d already visited a few sites. But he wanted to know which park was “the gem.” Everyone, he says, agreed: Battle Point Park.

'Exports yes, imports no' doesn't work

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Yes, we agree: Fast food is bad for your health, and fast-food restaurants are a blight on the American landscape. Our locally owned eateries are excellent and deserve our support. Corporate interests have too much influence over our society and culture. Bainbridge Island should be different, unique.

Right decision for wrong reason

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

First, let us commend city Administrator Lee Walton for reversing his decision of last week, and re-inviting Bainbridge Concerned Citizens to host a council candidate forum in City Hall.

Cell coverage, cheap burgers -- what's next?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Portrait of an Evolving Community, Part One: Ten years ago, it was, that a cellular phone outfit came before our local park board, seeking permission to put antennas atop the water tower at Battle Point Park. A hearing was duly convened; park commissioners and the lay public raised concerns over aesthetics, electromagnetic fields and, as memory serves, the commercialization of public lands.

Voters comfy in the center

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Fundamentalism, the old joke used to go, is the nagging fear that somebody, somewhere, might be having a good time. We sometimes get the sense that Bainbridge Islanders -– a few, anyway -- have slipped into their own sort of fundamentalist mindset, tormented by the never-ending anxiety that somebody, somewhere, is building something.

Our most famous tree

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

For all our talk of significant trees, we islanders now have one that’s nationally designated as such. Word came down this week that a Western red cedar at the Taylor Avenue road end – one-time site of the Eagledale ferry landing, from which the island’s Japanese Americans debarked in March, 1942, for wartime internment – has been accepted to the National Register of Historic Trees.

Alternative fuel is worth a good look

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

It seemed like a throwaway line, a flight of fancy amid otherwise tangible goals and objectives for the coming year. Wouldn’t it be neat, Mayor Darlene Kordonowy mused in her January “state of the city” address, if city and community alike would look into alternative energy sources. The mayor admitted that she was fired up by congressional homeboy Jay Inslee’s interest in alt-fuel issues.

Two excellent reasons to kill the television

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

If we need any more proof that Mom was right when she told us to get off the couch and go do something worthwhile, the pages of today’s Review offer two more excellent examples.

Send Tooloee, Kubiak on to general ballot

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

Like many voters, we appreciate mail-in ballots for many of the same reasons we once liked take-home, open-book tests. We can consult outside sources – especially useful on some of the longer ballots replete with obscure initiatives – and can discuss our preferences with spouse and friends, an exercise that can sharpen opinions and even change minds.

Stop treating business plan with suspicion

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

Our downtown core is many things. A gathering place for social interaction, a venue for cultural presentation and exchange, a conduit for transit and travel to and from the larger world around it. First and foremost, our downtown is defined by commerce – hundreds of islanders earning their livelihoods, and thousands more spending a good part of theirs – a fact of which some folks seem to keep losing sight.

A primer on the power of community

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

Ralph Munro and his brothers have long financed a college scholarship fund to help out needy Bainbridge High School students. Recently, they took a legacy from their father George and set up a private foundation to continue that effort. They discovered, though, that with the rock-bottom rates of return on safe investments, accounting and tax-prepartion costs were eating away at their principal, reducing the amount they could give away. So, as reported in this issue, they gave the money to the Bainbridge Island Community Endowment, slicing the overhead costs, but still letting them use the money for scholarships.

Off we go to the courthouse one more time

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

The City Council Wednesday assured another year of full employment for our hired attorneys, and for those pinstripe-clad opponents who are making a good living challenging the council’s land-use decisions.

More candor, please, about legal risks

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

Last month, a Superior Court judge declared the city’s shoreline moratorium illegal. Last week, the city’s attorneys gave notice that the city will ignore that decision until the case has been decided on appeal, which will take at least a year, probably more than two years. The city will continue refusing to accept new dock and bulkhead applications during that period.

Now it's up to consumers

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

For some, it’s (coffee) grounds for celebration. As others see it, the Black Death is upon us. Novelty versus banality, protection versus selection, Bainbridge versus the world – our community dualities inform the minor hubbub over the opening of an internationally franchised coffee outlet on the island this week.

Fresh eyes, a fresh view on City Hall

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

Interim City Administrator Lee Walton had nearly cleared his desk by mid-afternoon Monday, when he took a few minutes to visit with the local press. “For a city this size, I’ve never seen so much paperwork,” he told us. “I don’t really know why that is so, but we do seem to have an awful lot of process here without getting a lot done.”

Applause for paramedics, local heroes

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

It’s an age-old story: local boy makes good. This week, islanders can take pride in two young men who’ve made very good, both in their chosen profession and in the cause of service to their community. As reported in this issue, Bainbridge High School graduates Jeremiah Ballou and David Bailey have completed the prestigious advanced life support training program at Harborview Medical Center, and are back working at the Bainbridge Island Fire Department as our first-ever homegrown paramedics.

Read the May 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates