Story Archives

Archive Results — 20526 thru 20550 of about 31275 items

Try listening to your constituents | Letters | Sept. 30

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 3:03PM

I do not think that the fairly recent change in our form of government altered it being a “representative” form. Unless I am wrong, that means our elected officials are supposed to represent we citizens.

Collaborative, civil debate appreciated | Letters | Sept. 30

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 3:01PM

I watched the Sept. 21 City Council meeting on my computer last night, curious after seeing statements by Kim Hendrickson regarding her former role as Secretary/Chief Examiner of the city’s Civil Service Commission taken to the viral level by her and others in local blogs and emails, capped by the Review’s editorial accusation of council’s self-righteous stalemates.

Why is the street’s new ‘calming’ so irritating? | Letters | Sept. 30

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 3:00PM

Have you ever taken note of the warmth and attractiveness of concrete? No? Neither have I. With a fresh abundance of the stuff dominating the core of Winslow we have lost much of what was cozy about the place.

Ask local retailers to use non-toxic packaging | Letters | Sept. 30

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 2:59PM

There are earth and people friendly alternatives, but our local food retailers, Safeway and Town & Country, have chosen to continue to offer up meat and produce on polystyrene (Styrofoam) trays.

A day at farm/fair is memorable for some of us | Latte Guy | Sept. 30

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 2:57PM

Have you ever noticed that some human activities are only ever described using one word or phrase?

Museum’s photo exhibit of Manzanar comes home | Our Opinion | Sept. 30

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 2:54PM

Bainbridge Island’s rich, and occasionally dramatic historic storyline is often underappreciated because it represents no more than nanosecond in time. It’s interesting, but not necessarily vital, at least not until March 30, 1942, when 262 Japanese American islanders became the first victims of President Roosevelt’s Executive Order 9066 establishing relocation camps.

Russian pianist plays at First Sundays at the Commons

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 1:07PM

Russian native Yelena Balabanov will perform on the Yamaha C6 grand piano at the Bainbridge Commons Sunday, as part of the First Sundays at the Commons concert series.

Chinook salmon sighted in Bainbridge Island’s Ravine Creek

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 12:57PM

The first salmon returning to the island in recent years was spotted this week at the mouth of Ravine Creek between the Washington State Ferry maintenance yard and Waterfront Park.

Forums explore diverse community topics

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 1:01PM

Local groups share information and ideas about local food, education, stewardship, emergency preparedness and time banks.

Citizens: Flush city’s water control |letters | Sept. 30

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 12:52PM

As a COBI water ratepayer, I was disturbed by City Councilor Barry Peters’ Sept. 23 guest column, “Water utility should stay put.”

Try listening to your constituents about water utility | Letters | Sept. 30

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 12:51PM

I do not think that the fairly recent change in our form of government altered it being a “representative” form. Unless I am wrong, that means our elected officials are supposed to represent we citizens.

Collaborative, civil City Council debate appreciated | Letter | Sept. 30

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 12:50PM

I watched the Sept. 21 City Council meeting on my computer last night, curious after seeing statements by Kim Hendrickson regarding her former role as Secretary/Chief Examiner of the city’s Civil Service Commission taken to the viral level by her and others in local blogs and emails, capped by the Review’s editorial accusation of council’s self-righteous stalemates.

Why is Winslow Way's new ‘calming’ so irritating? | Letters | Sept. 30

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 12:47PM

Have you ever taken note of the warmth and attractiveness of concrete? No? Neither have I. With a fresh abundance of the stuff dominating the core of Winslow we have lost much of what was cozy about the place.

Ask local retailers to use non-toxic packaging | Letters | Sept. 30

  • Sep 30, 2011 at 12:35PM

There are earth and people friendly alternatives, but our local food retailers, Safeway and Town & Country, have chosen to continue to offer up meat and produce on polystyrene (Styrofoam) trays.

Sharing key to Bainbridge “No Impact Week”

  • Sep 22, 2011 at 3:00PM updated Sep 26, 2011 at 12:49PM

Islanders Rebecca Rockefeller and Liesl Clark harvest vegetables Wednesday from Rock Farm Community Garden in conjunction with Bainbridge-based YES! Magazine’s “No Impact Week” challenge to reduce their carbon footprint.

Consensus is rare, but possible even on Bainbridge | Letters | Sept. 23

  • Sep 26, 2011 at 9:20AM

I cornered a few old-timers who agreed without digital prompt that we can still get a consensus per the Review editorial (“What makes Bainbridge special?” Sept. 16). Usually it takes two or three tries.

Water utility should stay put | Guest Column | Sept. 23

  • Sep 26, 2011 at 9:18AM

Like many of you, I’m a taxpayer and a utility ratepayer on Bainbridge Island, and, as your at-large City Council member, I’ve got good news about our city’s water utility.

Confusing, but just keep on driving | Letters | Sept. 23

  • Sep 23, 2011 at 4:19PM

The very first time I encountered a traffic circle was in Alsace, France, where I was piloting a German rental car. Entering this circle (or roundabout) was a confusing moment, since a French car entered it ahead of me to the right at the same time.

Community event not for everyone | Letters | Sept. 23

  • Sep 23, 2011 at 4:17PM

I thought the Review supplied the perfect comment on this event by running the story in the print edition above a half-page advertisement for “Taste of Lynwood.”

Library improvements due to public support | Letters | Sept. 23

  • Sep 23, 2011 at 4:16PM

If you haven’t seen the revitalizing changes at Bainbridge Public Library, I hope you’ll visit soon.

Port positives outweigh likelihood of misconduct | Letters | Sept. 23

  • Sep 23, 2011 at 4:15PM

I wish to thank Richard Buchanan for his letter (“A ‘no’ vote for formation of junior taxing agency,” Sept. 16) in the Review about the proposed Port of Bainbridge Island, although I’m afraid I can’t agree with his conclusions.

Port positives outweigh likelihood of misconduct | Letters | Sept. 23

  • Sep 23, 2011 at 4:15PM

I wish to thank Richard Buchanan for his letter (“A ‘no’ vote for formation of junior taxing agency,” Sept. 16) in the Review about the proposed Port of Bainbridge Island, although I’m afraid I can’t agree with his conclusions.

Home is threatened by city’s shoreline stance | Letters | Sept. 23

  • Sep 23, 2011 at 4:13PM

My husband and I recently bought a house on Point Monroe - The “Sand Spit.” We have lived on Bainbridge Island 25 years and finally have a place on the water where we could have a boat, go swimming and crabbing.

Should council break out swords or rubber bands? | Our Opinion | Sept. 23

  • Sep 23, 2011 at 4:12PM

You know you’ve been naughty when a newspaper editorial comes out with the advice that everyone who works for, oversees operations of, sets policy for, or who is either specifically or generally unhappy with – the city – should sit down, take a deep breathe, exhale, then do it again and again until your focus about what’s happening at City Hall is less blurred.

Read the Aug 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates