Story Archives

Archive Results — 20326 thru 20350 of about 30975 items

When is this mess coming to an end? | Letters | Aug. 19

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 3:36PM

Why is City Hall and Winslow Street Smarts so apologetic to and for the construction going on in our face?

Let’s celebrate project's end with a street party | Letters | Aug. 19

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 3:35PM

While the street work in Winslow continues to be quite the ordeal, it might also provide a rare opportunity to make lemonade out of lemons.

Trust is critical to council-manager relationship | Guest Column | Aug. 19

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 3:34PM

Our new council-manager form of government has reached an important milestone. On Aug. 10, Brenda Bauer became Bainbridge Island’s first city manager. Since June 2010, Ms. Bauer has worked with the council and staff to address the city’s financial crisis by cutting expenditures and increasing reserves. Today, the city is poised to begin a new chapter to improve its governance.

Review’s move to Winslow is a welcome return home | Our Opinion | Aug. 19

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 3:33PM

Fortunately, the Review’s office is returning (as you read this) to the downtown area after being located in a Day Road industrial park for four years. The move from The Pavilion occurred in 2007 when Sound Publishing (our corporate parent) shifted its headquarters to Poulsbo and left vacant the second story of the building containing Sound’s press and pre-press operations.

Aid en route to 3-car accident on SR-305 south of Agate Pass Bridge

  • Aug 17, 2011 at 5:23PM

3-car accident on SR-305 south of Agate Pass Bridge

Ask Erin: How to avoid political debates with Aunt Frida | Kitsap Week

  • Aug 20, 2011 at 12:00PM

How to avoid political debates.

Kickin’ it at the Kitsap Fair | Kitsap Week

  • Aug 20, 2011 at 12:00PM

Hold on to your boots —the annual event kicks off Aug. 24.

Pencils + paper = high cost for students | Kitsap Week

  • Aug 18, 2011 at 11:00AM

The cost of school supplies can be a financial burden for some families.

Peters, Bonkowski, Ward and Levan emerge from primary

  • Aug 16, 2011 at 8:00PM updated at 10:08PM

So far in the unofficial primary vote tally for Bainbridge Island City Council seats, Barry Peters and Steven Bonkowski will face off in the general election, while David Ward and Joe Levan will move on in the Central Ward. From the central ward David Ward and Joe Levan beat out the two other opponents to collect the most votes in the primary race.

Peters takes time to understand complicated issues | Letters | Aug. 12

  • Aug 16, 2011 at 1:14PM

We are writing to urge Bainbridge Islanders to vote for Barry Peters for City Council. There are always a number of island challenges to be met. Always there will be strongly held differing viewpoints on how these challenges will be addressed. How we make decisions matters.

Hendrickson knows how to get things done | Letters | Aug. 12

  • Aug 16, 2011 at 1:13PM

I work very hard not to involve myself in politics. But it doesn't take a genius to see that our city government is struggling, and basic community needs are not being met.

Peters will help our city achieve its goals | Letters | Aug. 12

  • Aug 16, 2011 at 1:10PM

Kudos to our city's council, administration and staff for a remarkable accomplishment. Now we can get on with addressing the urgent challenges we face in a considered, cost effective and sustainable way. On Aug. 16, island voters have the opportunity to vote to re-elect Barry Peters, one of the council members who has played a key role in this achievement

Hendrickson's practical approach will be good for city | Letters | Aug. 12

  • Aug 16, 2011 at 1:08PM

In the at-large City Council position I would like to state my support for Kimberly Hendrickson, who has an impressive background in political science and urban affairs and has been published in academic journals.

Bonkowski wants to maintain our quality of life | Letters | Aug. 12

  • Aug 16, 2011 at 1:03PM

Wouldn't it be wonderful to have a successful businessman on the City Council? A businessman who can work collaboratively and yet who, after reviewing information, can make decisions. Steve Bonkowski is that person.

Ask Erin: Response to airline woes; Experiences shared and a clarification about airplane air

  • Aug 12, 2011 at 1:00PM updated Aug 15, 2011 at 5:12PM

Response to airline woes; Experiences shared and a clarification about airplane air.

Son of author Debbie Macomber found dead

  • Aug 11, 2011 at 10:00AM updated Aug 15, 2011 at 12:14PM

The body of Dale Macomber, son of renowned Port Orchard author Debbie Macomber, was found in South Kitsap on Thursday morning, two days after a missing person report was filed.

UAC to push for water rate respite

  • Aug 12, 2011 at 11:43AM

UAC wants a rate reduction and/or refund to city water utility ratepayers.

The undefined future of Bainbridge business

  • Aug 11, 2011 at 5:00PM updated Aug 12, 2011 at 10:49AM

City Council candidates have preached goals of stimulating new business on the island, current city staff say the city needs new revenue streams and the current City Council is preparing to pass an updated land use code. Yet island business folks are faced with their own sets of needs.

Bauer is interim no longer

  • Aug 11, 2011 at 5:03PM

Brenda Bauer can officially introduce herself as the Bainbridge city manager, sans the obligatory “interim” and the weight of conditional employment that she’s carried since she started on the island more than one year ago.

RePower program example of waste | Letters | August 12

  • Aug 11, 2011 at 4:29PM

Dr. Milton Friedman, one of the most brilliant, influential economists of the post World War II era, has an insight for us. Paraphrasing Friedman: There are four ways in which you can spend money. You can spend your own money on yourself. When you do that, you watch what you’re doing, and try to get the most for your money.

What’s the story behind demolition? | Letters | August 12

  • Aug 11, 2011 at 4:28PM

The word from those with authority is that the Art Studio is a lost cause. This despite the legality of destroying one of the few remaining studio spaces in downtown Winslow, an area where real artists can no longer afford to live and work.

The city versus common sense | Letters | August 12

  • Aug 11, 2011 at 4:30PM

I am a fourth generation Bainbridge Islander that grew up playing on the sandspit and now have a home on the lagoon. I am also an environmentalist and a believer in private property rights. The city’s current Shore Line Management proposal to designate the lagoon as an Aquatic Conservancy which requires restoration and removal of all overwater structures, with the long term goal of returning it to its natural state is absurd.

Healthy shorelines a positive thing

  • Aug 11, 2011 at 4:31PM

I was disappointed, but not surprised at the Guest Opinion, “Providing alternate views on shoreline plans update” (July 29). It seems to me, the authors, being part of the process but not winning all their arguments, are now crying foul.

Bonkowski cares about island’s quality of life | Letters | August 12

  • Aug 11, 2011 at 4:27PM

Wouldn’t it be wonderful to have a successful businessman on the City Council?

Nelson property gift came with conditions

  • Aug 11, 2011 at 4:48PM

"More people enjoy that park than the $1,000,000 city-created Weaver Road-end,” I’ve heard some comment. Others ask, “Didn’t our city park come from a private land gift - with conditions? … with a name?”

Read the Jul 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates