Story Archives

Archive Results — 20151 thru 20175 of about 26200 items

Stiller doesn’t quite call down the ‘Thunder’

  • Aug 20, 2008 at 12:00AM

“Tropic Thunder:”

Playing his heart out

  • Aug 20, 2008 at 12:00AM

Local celebrity James Hunnicutt abandons convention, becoming full-time musician and finds the meaning of success.

‘A Peaceful Solution’ comes to Kitsap through 8-year-old and his dad

  • Aug 20, 2008 at 12:00AM

Jack and Pat Moriarity’s YouTube version of the Willie Nelson tune featured online at the

Three Dog Night headlines the fair tonight

  • Aug 20, 2008 at 12:00AM

1970’s seven-piece supergroup comes to

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 16

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 3:00PM updated Aug 18, 2008 at 3:34PM

It’s official: the city finance director is projecting that the city will go $4 million in the hole this year, a loss of almost one in every six dollars of the taxes, fees, grants and loans taken in. Unless the city issues councilmanic debt (what an apt name!), the city will burn through almost all of its cash by the end of 2008, leaving us in a liquidity crisis.

Trio of Kitsap women compete in Danskin Women's Triathlon

  • Aug 15, 2008 at 5:17PM

Many of the 4,500 participants in this year’s Danskin Women’s Triathlon aren’t in it to win titles or to improve their rankings.

Bainbridge: HHHS survey digs into community needs and values

  • Aug 15, 2008 at 5:15PM

At Bainbridge Youth Services, counselors help teens find jobs and wade through issues that can dog their lives.

So, where is the housing?

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

Unsurprisingly, affordable housing issues top the 39 human-service needs listed in a survey that’s part of the recently-released Bainbridge Island Health, Housing and Human Services Needs Assessment. The basis of determining which needs made the list centered on the gap between how large an issue the need is for those surveyed and how well they think the need is being met. In other words, the gap between the service needs and the ability of providers to meet them.

A woodworker’s thoughts about hope and love

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

I am a studio furniture maker. Four months ago I began working on an ark for a synagogue. I was shaking with excitement that morning, ready to begin this long-anticipated project. In the first few minutes, I completely severed all four fingers on my dominant hand just above the knuckles closest to my palm. I fell to my knees and began to weep, not out of the pain and horror of the accident but from the fear that I was finished as an artist. That instant was a big bang of sorts, exploding into my reality a new universe of possibilities.

Olympic fever caught in a Super 8

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

I don’t know about you, but I’ll never forget where I was when I watched the opening ceremonies of the 2008 Beijing Olympics. I was in a Super 8 Motel in Ferndale. Being only a couple miles from the Canadian border added a certain international cachet to glamour and glitz of the experience, as did the slightly fuzzy reception of the television set bolted to the dresser of my room.

Obituaries

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

Walter D. McKerchar, of Poulsbo, died Aug. 12 at Harrison Hospital in Bremerton.

Available for adoption through PAWS:

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

Available for adoption through PAWS:

Hollydays Art: Submissions are now being accepted for

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

Hollydays Art: Submissions are now being accepted for the cover of the 2008 downtown Bainbridge “Hollydays Guide” and holiday poster. Artwork must be two-dimensional with a winter and/or holiday theme. Artists may submit up to five digital images of their work, along with a resume or bio. Files may be sent by e-mail to office@bainbridgedowntown.org or mailed on disk to: Bainbridge Island Downtown Association, 120 Madrone Lane N, Suite 203m Bainbridge Island, WA 98110. Deadline: 5 p.m. Sept. 19. Info: 842-2982 or www.bainbridgedowntown.org.

Several BISC swimmers earn medals at PNS

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

Eighteen swimmers from the Bainbridge Island Swim Club qualified for Pacific Northwest Swimming Long Course Championships which took place at the King County Aquatics Center July 31-Aug. 3.

Bond proposal to pay for capital projects

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

City Hall has recommended the issuance of bonds totaling between $1.5 million and $2 million that would be used to pay for ongoing capital projects that the city has been funding this year through its operating budget.

Around the island

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

With the start of school just weeks away, the city hopes newly installed improvements on Blakely Avenue will make the area safer for students and drivers.

Extreme Makeover, Bainbridge edition

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

A chance for fixes on two projects

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

The Bainbridge Island City Council had a productive meeting this week. Well, sort of.

Islandmoms is a virtual fixture on Bainbridge

  • Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00AM

Sarah Albee joked that as a co-moderator for the online community Islandmoms, she felt a little funny about wanting to go to the group’s first official get-together.

Video shows impact of drunk drivers on residents of Kitsap County

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00PM updated Aug 14, 2008 at 10:05AM

Kitsap News Group photographer Jesse Beals recently completed a seven-month video project on the effects of DUI drivers in Kitsap County.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 2

  • Aug 2, 2008 at 1:00PM updated Aug 12, 2008 at 5:00PM

The League of Women Voters believes that democratic government depends upon the informed and active participation of its citizens. Therefore, we encourage all voters to become informed about the candidates running for office in the primary election on Tuesday, Aug. 19.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 6 (continued)

  • Aug 6, 2008 at 8:00AM updated Aug 12, 2008 at 4:59PM

It has been a few weeks since the Kitsap County “Notice of Value” statements were sent to property owners. We received our statement with some consternation. As was reported, our home was decreased in value from 2008 about 15 percent for the 2009 assessment. However, the dirt we have lived on for 22 years magically increased in value by 83 percent in 2008, according to the Kitsap County assessor.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 6

  • Aug 6, 2008 at 8:00AM updated Aug 12, 2008 at 4:59PM

Those that plant “heritage trees” never get to see the full glory of the fruits of their labor. The trees are planted often with future generations in mind.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 9

  • Aug 9, 2008 at 1:00AM updated Aug 12, 2008 at 4:59PM

In a recent letter to the editor (“City needs to communicate,” Aug. 6), islander Joe Honick expressed hope that younger working people with families would weigh in on the controversies surrounding our city government.

Read the May 29
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates