Story Archives

Archive Results — 20126 thru 20150 of about 31000 items

Water polo team’s values are grounded | Letters | Nov. 18

  • Nov 18, 2011 at 11:26AM

Tuesday evening, I attended the water polo banquet, which sounds fancy for a get-together and potluck dinner in the high school gym and potluck dinner. But it was in so many ways better than any event I have ever attended on Bainbridge.

WSF reading room needs a ‘quiet sign’ | Letters | Nov. 18

  • Nov 18, 2011 at 11:25AM

I am writing about something I have had on my mind for the past six years in connection with my regular commute on the Bainbridge run into Seattle.

Veteran’s Day ignored | Letter | Nov. 18

  • Nov 18, 2011 at 11:24AM

In reading your last issue circulated on Veteran’s Day, I was shocked, disappointed and angered. In 24 pages of text, I found no mention of Veteran’s Day. There was no attempt to honor our Veterans who have fought for us, made us so proud and in some cases made the ultimate sacrifice.

Local Little League to field 2012 upper division teams

  • Nov 18, 2011 at 11:22AM

Bainbridge Island Little League is chartering upper divisions of play for baseball and softball before 2012 seasons, offering play for the first time beyond the Majors level and up to 18 years of age.

Close, but no state swim title for Spartans

  • Nov 14, 2011 at 4:00PM updated Nov 18, 2011 at 11:17AM

Mercer Island used its depth in the final three events last weekend to nudge runner-up Bainbridge Island by 22 points (340 to 318) to capture the Class 3A swimming and diving championship at King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way.

Storyville plans coffee bar/market downtown

  • Nov 18, 2011 at 11:12AM

The owners of Storyville Coffee Co. LLC, a roaster located on Bainbridge Island, have purchased the old Winslow Hardware building with the goal of establishing a retail coffee business in the large space.

City disciplines two officers

  • Nov 17, 2011 at 4:00PM updated Nov 18, 2011 at 10:47AM

Two Bainbridge Island police officers received disciplinary action in the wake of separate investigations that have resulted in one officer's suspension and another resigning.

Our citizens in action on election day | Letters | Nov. 18

  • Nov 17, 2011 at 5:04PM

Did you drop off your ballot on election day at the Ballot Drop Off Site at the Senior Community Center? If so, you have Bob Johnson and Jim Rohrscheib to thank. They each spent 14 hours at the Drop Off to provide the option on Bainbridge Island. Thanks guys.

Eyes assaulted by too many political signs | Letters | Nov. 18

  • Nov 17, 2011 at 5:02PM

As this year’s political cycle moved to its end, it appeared to me that roadside/yard signs once again were blooming everywhere just like dandelions in the springtime.

Thanks to our dedicated local council members | Letters | Nov. 18

  • Nov 17, 2011 at 4:56PM

Now that our local election season has passed, and we’re almost in full swing for the presidential election a year from now, I’m struck by how I view the differences.

November 18th, 2011 Editorial Cartoon

  • Nov 18, 2011 at 1:00AM

Oodles of us, with the promise of more to come | Latte Guy | Nov. 18

  • Nov 17, 2011 at 4:53PM

According to the United Nations, the world’s population reached 7,000,000,000 this month. Seems like only yesterday we were a cozy little planet of only five billion or so inhabitants.

City attempts to improve standards of police force | Our Opinion | Nov. 18

  • Nov 17, 2011 at 4:47PM

The divide between the city and the rank and file of its police department widened dramatically this week when the city manager and police chief announced disciplinary action against two police officers, both of whom have served as Bainbridge Island Police Guild officers.

Citizens’ Academy graduates

  • Nov 18, 2011 at 8:00AM

The 10-week course offers community members the opportunity to get an inside look at the inner-workings of the Bainbridge Island Police Department. Participants take classes on everything from traffic to narcotics.

A feast held in remembrance | Kitsap Week

  • Nov 17, 2011 at 11:00AM

Chris Casad was a giver. He gave his time and energy as an active board member of the South Kitsap Helpline Food Bank and the local chapter of the Kiwanis Club. Professionally, he spent his 33-year career as a public servant working in the Kitsap County Prosecutor’s Office. “Chris was always the first person to volunteer at our club,” said Cerissa Holme, a friend and fellow Kiwanis Club member. “He always put others’ needs in front of his own.”

Commenting via Facebook to stop online anonymity | Our Opinion | Nov. 11

  • Nov 11, 2011 at 12:00PM updated at 3:23PM

It has taken several years to respond to wishes by readers, but the many members of the news industry are finally moving away from anonymous commenting on websites – including the Bainbridge Island Review. On Nov. 17, we will switch to a new comment moderation policy operated through Facebook.

Get facts about solar on Bainbridge | Letters | Nov. 11

  • Nov 11, 2011 at 1:47PM

The Go Solar Bainbridge workshops are designed precisely to answer the questions Dick Daniel raised in his letter (“Consumers need solar facts before committing”) last week about installer qualifications, product warranties, financing and more.

Shelters, rescues offer many animals for adoption | Letters | Nov. 11

  • Nov 11, 2011 at 1:22PM

It is so easy to forget the troubles of the world when one lives on this idyllic island. It is easy to ignore and be oblivious.

Use WSF settlement for water-related purposes | Letters | Nov. 11

  • Nov 11, 2011 at 1:11PM

On Nov. 9 and Nov. 16, the City Council is considering what use can be made of the $2 million cash settlement from the Washington State Ferry system.

Human services element needs to be supported | Letters | Nov. 11

  • Nov 11, 2011 at 12:58PM

A few months ago, a laborer I know injured himself and fell deeper through societal cracks. At the same time, an educated and capable friend of mine left an abusive relationship.

Water unites and empowers us | Interfaith | Nov. 11

  • Nov 11, 2011 at 12:53PM

Last May, 40 men from Bethany Lutheran Church spent our retreat weekend at the Elwha River, immersing ourselves in the power of water. There we were reminded of the capacity of water to create habitat, drive turbines, move mountains and stir our souls. Water power!

Will this be the year Bainbridge wins it all?

  • Nov 11, 2011 at 12:42PM

As expected, two-time defending champion Mercer Island and perennial challenger Bainbridge Island will battle it out for the Class 3A state swimming and diving championship this weekend in Federal Way.

‘We need help’ say merchants

  • Nov 11, 2011 at 10:39AM

Winslow merchants have decided to act upon mounting concerns with the city over construction and its negative effects on their businesses, asking and receiving $6,000 to help with the holiday season.

City action to mend police, public relations

  • Nov 11, 2011 at 10:43AM

New effort seeks community feedback. The city is currently planning to engage the island community in an effort to improve wavering relations between citizens and the Bainbridge Island Police Department.

Ferncliff Village is ready to roll

  • Nov 11, 2011 at 10:41AM

Access to affordable housing on Bainbridge Island is moving forward as Ferncliff Village obtains its first purchasers, with more on the way.

Read the Jul 29
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates