Story Archives

Archive Results — 20051 thru 20075 of about 25600 items

National park affiliation: let’s bring it home/Slow growing

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

Hard to believe it’s been three years since islanders veritably filled City Hall, drawn by a visit from the National Park Service, the unveiling of plans for a Nikkei Exclusion Memorial – and most tantalizing, the possible intersection of the two. And yet here we are, the fruits of that fine afternoon manifest in a formal (and eminently readable) NPS study of the memorial project and the potential for federal participation – a study authorized and funded by an act of Congress, no less. The just-released study suggests that the planned memorial to the wartime internment of Japanese Americans is appropriate for national park funding and management, not as its own entity, but as an adjunct to established sites already telling the internment story.

Sounds like a good cause

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

If you’ve grown weary of war in one part of the world, allow yourself a moment to think about peace in another. Elsewhere in this issue, we chronicle the recent work of PeaceTrees Vietnam, through which one-time combatants are salving the wounds of the long-ago conflict in Southeast Asia through friendship missions and aid. We should at the same time note that Bainbridge Island has another excellent relief organization active there, Clear Path International, whose mission is wholly complementary – relief from the random destruction of leftover land mines.

Don’t smash the machinery

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

Sudden technological leaps bring social and economic unease. Skills and professions may be rendered obsolete overnight, familiar ways rendered quaint. The poster boy for anxiety in such times would have to be Ned Lud, a possibly apocryphal figure credited with leading several minor uprisings in England around 1811, in which machinery (primarily in the fledgling textile industry) was smashed to bits by roving bands of displaced workers. The movement even added a word – Luddite – to the popular lexicon, for folks wary of technological change.

Vote ‘Yes’ for school tech levy

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

Forty years ago, Intel co-founder Gordon Moore noticed ongoing, exponential leaps in the development of the integrated circuit. His observation – generally expressed as the tendency for chip capacity to double every 18 months or so – came to be known as Moore’s Law. His observation is perhaps equally useful as a metaphor for the magnitude of economic and societal shifts that have come with the proliferation of home computers and popular access to the Internet.

An investment in our past/Shame on tree vandals

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

Here is a somewhat informal maxim in the news business that goes, “If you don’t know the facts, write around them.” And our good friend Erica Varga caught us out this week, chiding the newspaper for factual fuzziness in our reportage on funding for local projects in the state’s next capital budget – specifically, monies earmarked for the Bainbridge Island Historical Society. “The society,” Erica intoned by email, “would like to mention the specific projects that money from the state will be funding. The ‘preservation efforts’ mentioned in your article and editorial were a bit vague.”

When fortune smiles, take the money

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

A quick rule of thumb for matters of state and federal spending: If it flows into your own district, it’s “sound public investment in needed infrastructure and community development”; if it goes to someone else’s district, it’s “pork.”

Don’t get carried away by speedway

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

A few years back, when the National Hockey League was thinking about putting a franchise in Nashville, one sports columnist had the clarity to ask, “Aren’t there enough toothless people in Tennessee already?” The quip came to mind this week – dunno why – as word came down that NASCAR might like to site a 75,000-seat racetrack in South Kitsap.

We must all do our part

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

Sometimes, the healthiest laughs come with a look in the mirror. So among the many, many brilliant letters and columns submitted by Review readers over the years, we’ve kept one particular 1992 guest commentary by Dave Thompson on the office wall. While it was written during a period of hand-wringing over local tax issues, the column in a broader sense has always seemed to uniquely capture the charming duality – is it a beauty mark, or just a mole? – of our shared public life on Bainbridge Island.

Want slower traffic? Slow yourself down

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

Everyone hates speeders. At least, until they find themselves late for the departing ferry. Then those pesky speed limits tend to be “forgotten” in the mad race to Winslow, and our otherwise pious drivers pray that local patrol officers happen to be cruising another part of the island. So we’re not sure there’s a cure-all for our collective lack of delicacy with the accelerator pedal unless and until, perish the thought, there’s a bridge to Seattle. Maybe not even then.

Bigger, taller, perhaps even a bit better

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

The buildings were taller, the plazas wider, the streets implicitly a bit more bustling. And, as we recall, there was a walkway or bridge over the highway. But perhaps the most radical aspect of the vision espoused in the recent Winslow design charrette – which represented the work of architects, planners, conservationists and other island stakeholders through a two-day workshop – was how much the downtown of the tomorrow might look and function like the downtown of today.

Community has a stake in the church

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

It’s the sort of yarn that could be dismissed as apocryphal, a tale that’s grown taller over a century of telling. But to believe the meeting minutes, when 14 of Bainbridge Island’s founding citizens – the sort of folks for whom streets are named, as a past Review writer aptly put it – decided in 1882 to form a church, they chose the congregational faith because it was “the least objectionable” among the various Christian denominations.

Talk about the future of ‘the canyon’

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

“Buy land,” the investor’s imperative goes, “because they aren’t making any more of it.” Never has that been more apparent than in the case of the Winslow ravine, a fair portion of which went on the market – very briefly – back in 1988. “For sale” signs appeared next to the gully near Winslow Way, attracting mention in the local newspaper and some speculation about public acquisition. But before the Winslow City Council could give much thought to the issue and the reported asking price of $65,000 (probably a good chunk of change for the pre-annexation city), the land was sold and the opportunity lost.

Small woods grows taller in stature

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

The Hundred Acre Wood, it’s not. In fact, if you were trolling about for just the right words to describe the small wooded parcel – something more colorful than, for example, “small wooded parcel” – on Ericksen Avenue near Wallace Way, you might find yourself in the more remote reaches of the thesaurus. Is it a stand? A weald? A copse? A spinney?

Give council shakeup a worthy try

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:34PM

There is a certain oxymoronic quality to the term “Committee of the Whole.” What is a committee, after all, if not a subset of the full group? But then, who are we to argue with two centuries of parliamentary procedure, the system that gave order to otherwise unmanageable government proceedings and may well have brought a quicker end to the age of the duel.

Marketing community as commodity

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

We basked outside a downtown coffee shop recently, enjoying a cup of tea with two of the island’s finer ladies, when conversation turned to the new development going in soon across from the ferry terminal. “Have you seen their online video about the ‘island lifestyle’?” one of our companions asked, obviously amused.

Another outbreak of cabin fever

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

Every few years, a handful of our island history buffs fall into the throes of cabin fever. Symptoms of the outbreak include much exasperation and alarm over the sorry state of the historic, Depression-era scout cabin at Camp Yeomalt, followed by a round of excited utterances at public meetings or through the letters columns of the local paper.

Spend the weekend with the Bard

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

“Either Shakespeare wrote Shakespeare,” the professor intoned, “or somebody else named Shakespeare wrote Shakespeare.” The declaration – itself rather worthy of the Elizabethan stage, in its gusto and tenor – put the stamp of pedagogical dismissal to discussions then-current in some literary circles, questioning the authenticity of the Bard of Avon’s remarkable body of achievement. The professor’s enthusiasm also served to enrapture a class of motley undergraduates – this editor amongst them – assembled for one of several survey courses at a mid-sized university.

Putting our downtown vision(s) to paper

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

For at least 10 years or so, we have wondered about the word “charrette.” While we’ve certainly understood the concept – the short, intense design sessions were among the highlights of the community’s comprehensive planning process some years ago, yielding sweeping drawings that gave visual representation to “the island of the future” – the term does not readily betray its meaning or etymology.

It was a good run for ‘our’ hardware store

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

Ken Schuricht has a wry sense of humor. Shortly after he and wife Mary Hall purchased Bainbridge Hardware back in 1994, Ken cleaned out the back room and held a sidewalk sale – in the alley behind the store. It was an unlikely site but a grand event, chockablock with several decades worth of unsold stock that included quaint, vintage kitchen items, greeting cards and party favors.

Accepting change behind our ‘moat’

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

“We who live on islands,” an area legislator once observed, “like to think we are different.” We smiled anew at the legislator’s comment this week, rediscovering it as we unearthed a 15-year-old New York Times article headlined, “Islanders just want to be left alone.” Written roughly on the eve of Bainbridge Island’s vote for self-governance, the piece looked at our small Puget Sound community as it bristled under the distant rule of the county while feeling the pressures of regional growth from the east and south.

Breathe easier with emissions legislation

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

Let us all give thanks for our automobiles. Without them, how could we drive to City Hall to complain about traffic? Perhaps no other product of the industrial age has so radically reshaped our society and culture, producing more or less contemporaneously the drive-thru restaurant, the suburbs, the war for oil, and the cure for the midlife crisis.

Zen and the art of traffic engineering

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

To contemplate the interconnectedness of all things, one might turn to Eastern religion. Then again, one might also turn to traffic engineering.

Portrait of an ever-vibrant community

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

Seventy-five working farms, 18 commercial espresso stands – that’s 1.1 for every 1,000 residents – 290 practicing attorneys who called the island home, and an average home price of $233,099. Those are among the snippets of trivia readers found in the very first Bainbridge Review Almanac, a 56-page booklet published by this newspaper in 1992.

Like cemetery, trees demand the long view

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

If you haven’t felt insignificant for a while, tarry for an hour up at Port Blakely Cemetery. Hewn from the towering firs of another age, it is a world of impossibly long shadows, literal and otherwise.

Put sports on better footing

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:33PM

More kids, more kickers. Perhaps the best measure of island growth over the past 15 years has been the swelling ranks of youth soccer programs, and the attendant clamor for more facilities for year-round play. The recent development of soccer pitches and baseball diamonds at Sands Avenue and Hidden Cove has been mere triage in the face of growing need – just ask recent members of the park board, who have heard the call and done what they can with donated labor and limited public funds.

Read the Apr 17
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates