Story Archives

Archive Results — 19951 thru 19975 of about 30975 items

January 20, 2012 Editorial Cartoon

  • Jan 20, 2012 at 1:00AM

Wildlife shelter column appreciated in Florida | Letters | Jan. 20

  • Jan 19, 2012 at 2:40PM

Thank you Bainbridge Island Review for this outstanding and positive story (“Ancient opossums deserve respect, not fear,” Jan. 6) about our treasured opossum friends and for the caring folks at West Sound Wildlife Shelter.

Thanks to participants of music center concert | Letters | Jan. 20

  • Jan 19, 2012 at 2:38PM

Last Sunday at the Island Music Center a fabulous concert was held demonstrating some of the amazing talent from Bainbridge Island, Kitsap County and beyond.

Thanks to islanders who came to aid of fall victim | Letters | Jan. 20

  • Jan 19, 2012 at 2:30PM

Art and I want to express our sincere thanks and appreciation to the young woman who stopped and helped Art when he fell on Lovgreen Road on Jan. 11.

Loss of Ted Spearman a difficult one for friends | Letters | Jan. 20

  • Jan 19, 2012 at 2:26PM

I have been so saddened by the loss of Judge Ted Spearman, that only now can I write these thoughts. Losing friends is one of the realities of becoming old, but this time it was different.

More doors opened to our community | Letters | Jan. 20

  • Jan 19, 2012 at 2:21PM

“The doors we open and close each day decide the lives we live.” This quote resonates with me. I believe it’s true of individuals but also of entire communities.

Snow offers an extended break for many islanders | Our Opinion | Jan. 20

  • Jan 19, 2012 at 2:13PM

A three-day weekend was extended by a couple of days for most islanders this week after the midweek’s heavy snowfall lingered with below-freezing temperatures overnight and through Thursday. While the governor declared a state of emergency in King, Pierce and Snohomish counties because of an ice storm and power outages, there was very little wind on Bainbridge and only a few isolated outages.

Warming Center primed if power goes off

  • Jan 17, 2012 at 5:15PM

Depending on the severity of Wednesday's weather, the new warming center at the Bainbridge Island Senior Community Center may swing into action this week for the first time.

A hero's welcome: Bainbridge grad returns from Afghanistan with a Purple Heart

  • Jan 17, 2012 at 11:00AM

The last 18 months have been a nightmare for islanders Earl and Jada Williams, whose two sons simultaneously served as U.S. Marines in Afghanistan’s dangerous Helmand Province.

‘Ghost Sniffers’: Instrument of empowerment | Kitsap Week

  • Jan 13, 2012 at 10:56AM

In this local TV web series, characters' medical challenges give them superabilities.

Bauer’s future being debated by City Council

  • Jan 13, 2012 at 1:00AM updated at 11:13AM

In its second meeting of the year, Bainbridge City Council ended its cordial honeymoon period and sparred throughout the evening over a performance review of City Manager Brenda Bauer.

Throw the bums out, give someone else a chance | Letters | Jan. 12

  • Jan 12, 2012 at 5:02PM

Olympia is back at work with a vengeance. Last time around the budget didn’t work out so well and revenues didn’t come in as expected. So Olympia decided to move money around, accept dollars from “Obama’s stash” and use accounting gimmicks, including: unspent department funds from the previous year to make things look better than they really were; and raising taxes on small businesse

Civil Service Commission returns to business

  • Jan 12, 2012 at 7:00PM

New commission holds its first meeting under its new form and after a lengthy controversy.

Boy Scout Troop 1564 recycles 730 holiday trees

  • Jan 12, 2012 at 4:45PM

The Bainbridge Island Boy Scout Troop 1564 recycled 730 holiday trees on Bainbridge Island last Saturday.

Paper bag user fee makes no sense | Letters | Jan. 12

  • Jan 12, 2012 at 4:37PM

I understand getting rid of plastic bags, but I don’t understand how that correlates to a fee for every paper bag that until now was free.

Cool winds forecast for IMC concert

  • Jan 12, 2012 at 4:29PM

Wind instruments take center stage Sunday at 3 p.m. at Island Music Center, 10598 NE Valley Rd . Tickets for the concert, which is a fundraiser for the music center, are $15 suggested donation. For more information, visit www.islandmusic.org or call 780-6911.

‘The Outsiders’ looks at class division

  • Jan 12, 2012 at 4:27PM

Bainbridge Performing Arts (BPA) presents “The Outsiders.” Performances are Jan. 13-22, at 7:30 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays and at 3 p.m. Sundays. Tickets are available at: Bainbridge Performing Arts Theater box office, by phone at 842-8569 or online at www.bainbridgeperformingarts.org.

Community Calendar | January 13-23

  • Jan 12, 2012 at 4:23PM

The following is a list of community events on Bainbridge Island.

A bag ban isn’t necessary on island | Letters | Jan. 12

  • Jan 12, 2012 at 4:11PM

I love plastic bags for their usefulness. Since there is no scientific study of how people use, reuse and recycle plastic bags, I looked at my own plastic bag usage.

Lester elected council's mayor by 5-2 vote

  • Jan 13, 2012 at 1:00AM

Council Member Debbi Lester is the new mayor of the city council after being elected by a 5-2 vote Wednesday night.

Musings about our lifelong choices on Earth | Letters | Jan. 12

  • Jan 12, 2012 at 4:06PM

This past week I had an epiphany. I awoke early one morning and wandered downstairs to watch television until it was light enough to go steal my neighbor’s newspaper. I found myself flipping back and forth between two programs that eerily captured the spirit of the seemingly limited choices available to mankind these days.

Council has better things to legislate than plastic bags | Letters | Jan. 12

  • Jan 12, 2012 at 3:57PM

I am uncomfortable with the idea of outlawing the use of plastic bags on Bainbridge Island that was recently presented by Council Member Kirsten Hytopoulos. Yes, I carry a nylon shopping bag in my purse for carrying small purchases, so please, hear me out.

Governor’s proposal may give ferry users relief | Opinion | Jan. 12

  • Jan 12, 2012 at 3:34PM

Gov. Chris Gregoire’s plan to fund a $3.6 billion transportation package by placing a $1.50 fee on each barrel of oil produced in the state is a stopgap action at a time when Washington’s transportation infrastructure has critical needs and not enough money to fund it. As a fee, the proposal skirts the two-thirds legislative vote required to pass new taxes – in this instance, a gas tax. She’s betting that there will be enough votes in the legislature for a simple-majority approval.

Just reuse them, instead of passing a new law | Letters | Jan. 12

  • Jan 12, 2012 at 3:38PM

You know I really don’t understand the need to regulate this. I need plastic bags, so do you.

January 13, 2012 Editorial Cartoon

  • Jan 13, 2012 at 1:00AM

Read the Jul 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates