Story Archives

Archive Results — 19926 thru 19950 of about 26100 items

Kitsap voters oust favored candidates

  • Aug 19, 2008 at 10:10PM updated Sep 11, 2008 at 11:05AM

Bainbridge Island Review Sports Roundup | Sept. 10

  • Sep 9, 2008 at 3:01PM

The Bainbridge Island Rookies were beaten by Bothell White’s running game as they gained 250 yards on 25 attempts.

Bainbridge Dance Center presents 2nd fall faculty showcase | What's Happening

  • Sep 9, 2008 at 3:10PM

What do dedicated dance instructors – those who nurture young ones’ talent from the time of their initial, sweet-slippered foray into first position – do outside class?

Bainbridge Island rehabilitation facility had numerous DSHS citations

  • Sep 9, 2008 at 3:00PM

A Bainbridge Island health care facility, named in a class-action lawsuit last month, has had numerous care-related deficiencies and two instances of employee misconduct, according to public records.

Bainbridge finance committee chair: Here's the story on city's dwindling budget

  • Sep 9, 2008 at 3:13PM

As fortunate as we are to live on this beautiful island, Bainbridge isn’t immune from national economic downturns. And as taxpayers we aren’t immune from the fear that local government will run up excessive debt, as the federal government has over the past eight years.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Sept. 10

  • Sep 9, 2008 at 3:16PM

A letter in Saturday’s paper came to the conclusion that bulkheads do not threaten the health of Puget Sound. Substantial information is available on the effects of bulkheads.

Bainbridge's new Island Church not such a long time coming

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 4:00PM

As large-scale projects go, the construction of the new Island Church facility clipped along at an impressive pace, on budget and on schedule.

7 Seas Brewing Company to be Gig Harbor's first brewery

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 4:00PM

For island resident Travis Guterson, passion comes from four basic ingredients. The 24-year-old Bainbridge High School graduate is harnessing water, malt, hops and yeast to create a set of unique brews that will be the cornerstone of Gig Harbor’s first brewery.

At college, bookcases are ubiquitous obstacles

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

The other day I helped my son Adam move into the house he will be occupying this year with six other Gonzaga University sophomores, and the experience was an interesting case study in nonlinear behavior. By way of example, if you or I bought a bookshelf kit and brought it home and emptied the contents of the kit on our living room floors, we would probably feel inclined to put the kit together to get it out of the middle of our living room floor. We might even fill the bookcase with books, which, presumably, is the reason we bought the thing in the first place. I learned last week that neither my son nor any of his roommates are afflicted with such traditional notions of linear behavior.

Property tax strikes again

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

More than 100 island property owners attended an event Saturday featuring Kitsap County Assessor Jim Avery, who explained why the county’s latest land assessments took what many considered to be astronomical increases over the previous year. The emotions of those attending the meeting at the Commons generally ranged from angry to frustrated or to just plain confused.

Happy to be home again in Nicaragua

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Balgue, Aug. 2, 10:45 a.m.

Join these artists at the club

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Veteran auction coordinators understand a couple of fudamental truths about how to stage a successful (read: lucrative) event.

FYI

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Bainbridge Police reported the following incidents:

CALENDAR

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Parks Foundation: Projects and groups who meet the criteria of the Bainbridge Island Parks Foundation will be eligible for the annual grant funding giveaway, scheduled for Oct. 8th. Info/application: www.biparks.org/bi_parks_/bipf.htm, or contact Amy Curran, (206) 579-7252. Applications also available at the Park District office. Deadline: Sept. 27.

Island snapshots photo by Brad Camp

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

To tote or not to tote:

Around The Island

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Schools see dip in students

Beyond Kitsap: Escapism through art

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Joker’s Peace gets lost on the Gig Harbor Open Studio Tour.

‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream,’ lost in Hollywood

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Perhaps nowhere is Shakespeare’s well-known comedy of errors “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” more at home than the land of dreams itself — Hollywood.

How to deal with fall’s unpleasantries

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

It’s nearly the first day of fall. Along with the approaching date we’re also experiencing fall webworm infestations. Don’t panic though, these caterpillar tents and moth larvae are nothing like the spring into summer onslaughts of tent caterpillars we sometimes encounter.

What’s going on

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

ARTS & CRAFTS

How dance instructors spend their off time

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Bainbridge Dance Center puts its instructors on stage for its annual fall faculty showcase, Sept. 13-14 at BPA.

What’s Up for the Old Town Art Walk

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Meet hometown merchants and artists at the quarterly throw down in

See, kids? Even bats like to read

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Houghton-Mifflin author/illustrator Brian Lies brings his book “Bats at

Documenting and combatting cyber villains

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Kingston-based USA Today tech writer/author Byron Acohido and fellow reporter Jon Swartz document rising tide of cyber crime.

What’s Up Weekend Wrock

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

Mediterranean-style six-string Wednesday, free acoustic Thursday and a double-CD-release show Saturday fill out Kitsap’s docket of rock.

Read the May 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates