Story Archives

Archive Results — 19926 thru 19950 of about 25300 items

A forest lost, a community asset born

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:24PM

It was not a conservationist’s favorite sight. Heavy equipment rumbled across the landscape, chewing rapaciously through a stand of second-growth firs while log trucks and graders idled nearby. Tacked high on a tree – one that had yet to be felled, or was simply outside the clearing zone – hand-painted signs read “CELEBRATE EARTH DAY – KILL A FOREST” and “WE KILLED THIS FOREST FOR BASEBALL.”

Yes, we should care about Wal-Mart

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

We come neither to praise Wal-Mart nor to bury it. All’s fair in love, war and American capitalism, right? And far be it from us to pooh-pooh the promise of 250 new jobs in North Kitsap or the “always low prices” that have made the Arkansas-based retail chain – with 3,000 stores – the nation’s largest. We might, as the corporate logo would have it, be one big smiley face.

Dial *their* legislators for Pritchard Park

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

The usual mantra is “call your legislators.” Today, we urge you to call everyone else’s legislators instead. The subject: Pritchard Park (formerly known as the Wyckoff site) on the south shore of Eagle Harbor, and the Japanese-American memorial planned for the Taylor Avenue road end, where 227 islanders of Japanese descent were removed from the island during World War II.

Here's to a safe ride and good health

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

Fifteen months, five continents, two dozen countries, and a single cause: relief from asthma. That’s the itinerary for World Bike For Breath, a bicycle tour of the world upon which islanders Lorenz Eber and Paula Holmes-Eber and their daughters will depart next week. The family is using the trip to raise awareness of the respiratory disease of asthma – from which 5,000 Americans die each year – and to raise $5 million in corporate and private sponsorships for research and treatment for asthmatic children and their families. (We profiled the Ebers’ plans in the Review last July, and you can find the story archived online at www.bainbridgereview.com).

Island needs its own Anti-Ivy League

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

Faced with a moribund economy and widespread unemployment, President Franklin Roosevelt unveiled perhaps this nation’s greatest-ever environmental stewardship program: the Civilian Conservation Corps. From 1933-42, with its workforce swelling to half a million young men or more, “Roosevelt’s Tree Army” built fire towers in national forests, improved streams and fixed erosion problems, and planted some three billion trees on public and private lands across the country.

WSF, city need each other

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

While we like the notion that island life should be a bit more relaxed and informal than big-city goings on, we’re a bit boggled by the story, reported elsewhere in this issue, that for almost a decade, the city hasn’t been paying Washington State Ferries for the ferry-terminal parking facility known locally as the “city lot.”

It pays to move here years ago

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

There’s no substitute for having moved to the island years ago. If you did, your chances were much better of getting the best building lot, the choicest view – and the fewest land use restrictions. Along those lines, Wednesday’s article on the local strategies for tree retention included a statement to the effect that once a tract of land is subdivided, restrictions on tree-cutting disappear. But eagle-eyed reader Kelly Samson pointed out that the statement was in error.

Reflecting on the view from 'up there'

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

As community portraits go, it is a bit of an abstract. But we find ourselves endlessly intrigued by the image on today’s front page, a montage of 18 photographs of Bainbridge Island shot last July from an altitude of 12,000 feet.

Hats off to our new high school

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

Bainbridge public schools grew this week – and got smaller. This seeming paradox is embodied by Eagle Harbor High School, a new institution formally approved with some fanfare by the Bainbridge School Board Thursday evening. Created from the existing Contract Studies program that is housed with the district’s other “options” programs (the term “alternative” have fallen out of favor for being too laden with negative baggage) at the Commodore Center, EHHS transforms the island into a two high-school town.

Of problems and their solutions

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

C. Northcote Parkinson earned modest fame with his axiom that “Work expands so as to fill the time available for its completion.” While generally used to explain bureaucracies, we might attempt to apply it to other spheres of public service as well.

Development in county helps island

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

As a Bainbridge resident and executive director of the Kitsap Regional Economic Development Council, Zoltan Szigethy observed more closely than most the curious relationship between his hometown and his home county. On the one hand, we take full advantage of our geographic proximity to downtown Seattle – far more islanders commute east than west, and the convenient availability of Seattle cultural, entertainment and sports events is one of the amenities that contributes to the desirability that propels Bainbridge property values. On the other hand, we’re not completely happy about the number of Kitsap County residents who use “our” roads, parking lots and ferry terminal to get to and from their jobs, or their entertainment.

Washington’s a taxing place for non-rich

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

A loyal reader this week passed along a thought-provoking booklet from an outfit called the Institute on Taxation and Economic Policy, a think-tank based in the Other Washington, titled “Who Pays – A Distributional Analysis of the Tax Systems in All 50 States.” The study looks at the “fairness” of each state’s tax system by calculating the proportion of family income paid in taxes by folks at various income levels.

Yes on sales tax for 911

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

Asked about the relative merits of the sales tax hikes that have come before Kitsap voters of late, Cencom director Ron McAffee offered a little gentle parochialism on behalf of his agency. “We like to think of 911 as the guys in the white hats,” he smiled, in a meeting with Kitsap Newspaper Group editors this week. Director McAffee was on hand to discuss the one-tenth of a cent sales tax hike that Kitsap County Central Communications will put before voters in a special mail-only election on April 22. Ballots should appear in island mailboxes next week.

Planning vacancy a challenge

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

Like an American president whose greatest impact may be felt through judicial appointments, who affects American civic life long after his or her presidency has ended, a mayor’s most important impact may be the department heads he or she names.

Trapped in the duality of conflict

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

Asked by a reader this week to offer some comment on the invasion of Iraq, we confessed to a profound personal ambivalence, unsure what to say. Having generally opposed the political course by which our nation has sped toward preemptive and undeclared war, the overthrow of a foreign government, and the lengthy and uncertain occupation that will follow, we nonetheless find ourselves hoping that its prosecution will be efficient, its complications few, and its end swift and favorable. We also hope to keep our own community whole; yet like our nation, we find within ourselves many divisions.

Planning itself needs more planning

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

Whatever else one may think about the state’s Growth Management Act, it is a full-employment-for-planners measure, mandating not only extensive planning for community change, but also frequent revisions of those plans. Pursuant to those directives, the city’s Comprehensive Plan is being reviewed and updated in its entirety, a process that began over two years ago and is not yet finished. Controversial revisions to the city’s shoreline management program (of which you may have read a news account or two) have gone through the Planning Commission and been forwarded to the City Council, to be taken up in the near future. And later this week, the process of reviewing and updating the city’s critical areas ordinance gets under way.

Ethics ordinance needs some moderation

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:23PM

Yes, we agree: We all want an ethical local government. We count on the fair review of our permit applications and requests for service. We trust public employees not to cut deals by which they will profit from their authority. So why not have an ethics ordinance? While those on both sides of the issue were in full rhetorical flower this week, we find the proposal now before the city council troublesome in both scope and tone.

Too much of too many good things?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:22PM

One thing that makes life on Bainbridge Island endlessly fascinating is the sheer scale of our collective dreams. The pursuit of excellence -- in our schools, our parks and programs, our social services -- often brings out a remarkable selflessness for the community weal, usually expressed through open checkbooks.

An island of character, and characters

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:22PM

On paper, the task with which this community has charged its officials is simple – preserve the special character of the island. That is one of the overriding principles that animates our Comprehensive Plan, which, in turn, guides our land-use planning. Yet as this week’s workshop on a new subdivision ordinance pointed out, defining “the special character of the island” is a little like defining the perfect mate – it’s different for everyone. To some, island character is the forests, to others, the fields. Some want vistas of mountain or sea, others want lawns and neatly tended gardens.

Not 'if' but 'when' for south-end sewers

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:22PM

The south-end sewer issue is a genuine dilemma, in which there are no bad guys and no good answers. The original plan was tidy enough – four areas that have experienced septic failures through a combination of small lots, proximity to the water and poor subsurface conditions asked for the city’s help in helping themselves. They wanted the city to sell bonds to pay for sewer lines, then form a district to tax the users to pay off the bonds.

Five for fire board, sooner than later

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:22PM

Sometimes overreaching but generally under-appreciated, citizen watchdogs are among our best resources. They spend their evenings at public meetings keeping local government under close eye, helping guide a community’s growth while their neighbors are home watching “reality TV.”

Teamwork plus homework equals victory

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:22PM

How about a big Spartan cheer for the Bainbridge High School gymnasts? Their skill on beam and bar earned the team a second-place finish in the state tournament Saturday. Following their undefeated season in league and non-league competition, the tumblers were among four teams competing for the state gymnastics title this past weekend. The girls had earlier claimed the Metro League championship and placed second at District 1 and 2 meets.

On war, council wise to sit it out

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:22PM

Be it hereby resolved that the Bainbridge Island community, as expressed through a declaration of its duly elected city council, does firmly and wholeheartedly believe: War: No! War: Yes! War: Well, maybe yes and maybe no, but certainly not unless diplomatic efforts completely break down, or the United Nations signs on, or a cache of anthrax is found near Baghdad, or perhaps if the price of foreign oil gets unbearably high and we need some new “offshore” reserves, but then again, not if the president is just trying to divert attention from an ailing economy and other domestic problems. Or maybe we’re just not quite sure...

Big problem may yield to small answer

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:22PM

For the past couple of years, a number of islanders have been trying to figure out how to make high-capacity internet access available here. It’s a critical tool, they say, to luring the kind of high-tech, environmentally friendly business that the island wants to promote, and a number of surveys indicate that it’s a resource much desired by a high proportion of us.

Pritchard worthy of park honor

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:22PM

At first glance, it seemed a wee misstep twixt cart and horse (or, depending on one’s view of congressional appropriations, putting the park before the pork). After all, what was anyone doing proposing a new name for the Wyckoff property, when $8 million (and goodness knows how much time) still stand between those coveted 55 acres and a sign reading “Joel Pritchard Park and Japanese American Memorial”?

Read the Mar 27
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates