Story Archives

Archive Results — 19826 thru 19850 of about 24925 items

Remembering Paul Ohtaki

  • May 7, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:05PM

Paul Ohtaki, who grew up on Bainbridge Island and served as an internment camp reporter for the Review during World War II, passed away on April 27 at his home in San Francisco. He would have been 85 in August.

Perhaps you read about ... Happy Mother’s Day

  • May 7, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:05PM

I’ve never been there, so my impression of what Florida’s like is drawn entirely from books, films and the news stories that originate there. Among the places in Florida I’ve never been to is Melbourne, a city of some 78,000 people located midway down Florida’s eastern coast, about 60 miles southeast of Orlando. Melbourne, which served as a training ground for Confederate soldiers during the Civil War, was named in honor of its first Postmaster, a gentleman named Cornthwaite John Hector. Hector was an Englishman, but he had spent much of his life in Melbourne, Australia.

Real estate has to be the answer

  • May 10, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:05PM

Words from a reformed political junkie

  • May 14, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:05PM

I had to take a break from politics this spring. Cold turkey. I just quit.

Affordable housing tough in these times

  • May 14, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:05PM

Housing experts say the affordable-housing market on Bainbridge Island is so depressed that people, most of whom are looking for one- or two-bedroom spaces, have written it off and stopped looking on the island. This is especially true for families because they often need three bedrooms, which means they’re searching for rare and very expensive rental houses.

A celebration of cherry trees

  • May 14, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:05PM

Last Friday, Sakai Middle School students packed the hillside meadow around their new – and two very old – blossoming cherry trees for the First Annual Cherry Blossom Festival, and to honor the school’s soon-to-retire principal, Jo Vanderstoep.

Is there fulfillment in stuff collection?

  • May 14, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

I was in Spokane one day this past week helping my son pack up his dorm room for the summer. Adam is now a sophomore at Gonzaga University majoring in Afternoon Classes. That’s not as bad as it sounds. In another year, I’ll have a second child in college who quite possibly may be studying Advanced Tanning and Quantum Shopping Mechanics.

Rights are good for all citizens

  • May 17, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

“It can hardly be argued that either students or teachers shed their constitutional rights to freedom of speech or expression at the schoolhouse gate. “

Open space plan is more about dreams

  • May 17, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

In case you didn’t already know, the city has begun updating the 2025-30 Comprehensive Plan, its first priority being the creation of a stratagem for the future of the island’s open spaces. It’s essentially another plan within a plan, but it’s fortuitous that city leaders realize the judiciousness of protecting the island’s most valuable commodity against the threat of urban sprawl. They fear that if they don’t plan now and stick to their guns later, the almighty dollar will turn this Seattle suburb into an enlarged version of Mercer Island.

You ask, the mayor answers

  • May 21, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

At the recent Town Meeting at the American Legion Hall, a citizen suggested that I institute a column in the Review to address citizen questions – to “loop back to the people that are paying the bills” – from you, our taxpayers. This is the first of a series of columns that will address commonly asked questions, and I want to use it to respond to some of the questions about the city’s financial well-being that I heard at the meeting.

Worst job in town? Ask the mayor

  • May 21, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

Once, at a party, the conversation was dragging a bit, when someone, asked: “What was the worst job you ever had?”

Island’s no. 1 eyesore gets a new manager

  • May 21, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

This is no surprise, of course, but here’s the latest on what is going to be done with the old Unocal property at the corner of Winslow Way and Olympic Drive, you know, that eyesore that serves as the gateway to Bainbridge Island: Nothing is going to be done anytime soon. Maybe never, since the lot has been empty since the oil company eradicated its gas station in the early 1990s.

Thanks go to those who support Yeomalt Cabin

  • May 21, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

The Park District’s Finance Committee and commissioners have patiently been reviewing plans and finances to restore historic Yeomalt Cabin.

Healthy praise for the six-hour workday

  • May 21, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

In the course of “researching” last week’s column about our national obsession with accumulating stuff, I came across a kindred spirit in the person of Jeffrey Kaplan. Mr. Kaplan wrote an article recently for Orion magazine called “The Gospel of Consumption.” Rather than just mindlessly ranting and throwing verbal bombs unfettered by logic or facts as is my preferred method of communication (and also the standard that prevails in American presidential campaigns), Mr. Kaplan did some actual research and uncovered an article from 1929 written by a Charles Kettering. At the time, Mr. Kettering was the director of General Motors Research. The article was called “Keep the Customer Dissatisfied,” and it outlined a strategic shift for American industry – a shift away from providing for basic human needs towards creating new needs.

Students may lose annual outdoor trip

  • May 24, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

It appears that the beloved outdoor-ed program, which for many years has served as a right of passage for island fourth graders, will soon become a budgeting victim. It won’t become official until next Thursday when the Bainbridge Island School District Board is expected to approve the administration’s plan to cut its 2008-09 budget by $1.4 million.

City should repair only the sewer line

  • May 28, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

Much has been said lately in the media, letters and community blogs about what is going on with our city’s decreased revenue and constricted finances. For the last two months, Bainbridge Island Television (BITV) has been broadcasting City Council meetings and workshops as councilors debate the pros and cons of how to renovate Winslow Way. Part of that debate concerns two questions: 1) who is going to pay? and 2) for what?

Preservation or restoration?

  • May 28, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

The city is expected to approve two shoreline restoration studies tonight with a combined price tag of nearly $500,000. Funding for the feasibility studies and potential cleanup of Blakely Harbor Park and Strawberry Plant Park would draw from $3.3 million that has been collected from the Wycoff creosote facility’s Superfund settlement to be used specifically to restore some of the island’s eastern shorelines. The Elliott Bay Trustee Council (consisting of several state and federal agencies) also has targeted two areas near Pritchard Park for separate studies.

Life in the bad gift dog house

  • May 28, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04PM

Love charms us so; it makes us think we are stronger than we really are, when all the while it renders us vulnerable to pain of which we would know nothing were it not for the depth of our love. We think that love conquers all – hah! It is the Trojan horse of sorrow.

Change? It all depends on you

  • May 28, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

Members who could not attend the Bainbridge Island Senior Community Center’s annual meeting on May 12 missed a great speaker.

So when will WSF play nice?

  • May 31, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

As expected, everyone was polite and smiley when David Moseley, the new leader of Washington State Ferries, addressed the Bainbridge Island City Council on Wednesday. Word has it that Moseley is more attuned to public needs than the usual suspects running the system. Nevertheless, simmering just below the surface was the residue of a deep-rooted quarrel between the city and WSF regarding the ferry system’s Eagle Harbor maintenance yard.

Give thanks to Bainbridge School Dist. with quality journalism, meeting attendance

  • May 31, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

The season of pomp and circumstance is upon us again. We duly celebrate the achievements of the students of Bainbridge Island School District, we recognize the dedicated efforts of the district’s faculty and staff, and we express our gratitude for community members’ myriad hours of volunteer service in and generous financial support of schools. In my view, we owe special thanks, particularly this year, to the members of the district’s Board of Directors.

Let’s make it all in one fix, please

  • Jun 4, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

It is the responsibility of cities to maintain their roads, sidewalks and utilities. It is also a top tax priority of our community that the city provides safe, efficient utilities. Some have suggested recently that we should just fix the sewer main on Winslow Way and then in later years we can rip up the street again and repair the other utilities, road and sidewalks. The fact is that all three utilities on Winslow Way - water,?sewer and stormwater – are cracked, failing or deficient. Significant sections of the sidewalk are also in disrepair. The current proposed Winslow Way project would correct all of these failing and deficient infrastructures.

Parents hope there’s no end to adoptions

  • Jun 4, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

For an island tucked away in the Pacific Northwest, Bainbridge often finds a way to become involved with national and international issues, primarily because of the type of people it attracts. Take Russell Regan for example. Regan and his family adopted a Guatemalan child in the 1990s and he eventually started an adoption agency based on the island. Today, some 30 children from that impoverished Central American country live on Bainbridge with their adopted parents.

Heaven? Try a good book and a cold brew

  • Jun 4, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

I did a Google search on the word “heaven” and came up with 196 million hits, which seems like a lot of information about a place that (a) none of us has actually been to; and (b) may not even exist.

Poulsbo city councilwoman aims to free up SR-305 ferry traffic

  • Jun 7, 2008 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:03PM

Poulsbo City Council member Becky Erickson dispatched an email Thursday with a copy of a proposed joint resolution she wants the governments of her city, Bainbridge and the Suquamish Tribe to approve and send to the state Department of Transportation. Cutting through all the “whereases,” the gist of it is to sequence the lights on SR-305 to the road end at Highway 3 “to maximize traffic flow (north and south)... during commute hours... in such a way as to reduce the excessive queuing times and move the traffic flow through the corridor in a timed pattern to avoid traffic flow interruption.”

Read the Feb 27
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates