Story Archives

Archive Results — 19576 thru 19600 of about 25600 items

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 2

  • Aug 2, 2008 at 1:00PM updated Aug 12, 2008 at 5:00PM

The League of Women Voters believes that democratic government depends upon the informed and active participation of its citizens. Therefore, we encourage all voters to become informed about the candidates running for office in the primary election on Tuesday, Aug. 19.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 6 (continued)

  • Aug 6, 2008 at 8:00AM updated Aug 12, 2008 at 4:59PM

It has been a few weeks since the Kitsap County “Notice of Value” statements were sent to property owners. We received our statement with some consternation. As was reported, our home was decreased in value from 2008 about 15 percent for the 2009 assessment. However, the dirt we have lived on for 22 years magically increased in value by 83 percent in 2008, according to the Kitsap County assessor.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 6

  • Aug 6, 2008 at 8:00AM updated Aug 12, 2008 at 4:59PM

Those that plant “heritage trees” never get to see the full glory of the fruits of their labor. The trees are planted often with future generations in mind.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 9

  • Aug 9, 2008 at 1:00AM updated Aug 12, 2008 at 4:59PM

In a recent letter to the editor (“City needs to communicate,” Aug. 6), islander Joe Honick expressed hope that younger working people with families would weigh in on the controversies surrounding our city government.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Aug. 13

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 1:00AM

Janet Kragen’s letter (“Foxes would take care of varmints,” Aug. 9) denounced deer as varmints. I would like to offer another view and some suggestions. I admit I’m not much interested in gardening, but to me having those beautiful wild animals strolling past my window is worth any number of posies all standing in a row.

A missive from Bainbridge's sister island

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 1:00AM

Allow me to introduce myself and this column, which thereafter I hope will capture your interest. My name is Maggie Pettit. I write to you as a fellow islander, born and raised on Bainbridge, but I write to you from an island far away. Imagine two volcanoes jutting out of a freshwater lake, forming an hourglass-shaped island in the heart of Nicaragua called Ometepe, which has been your sister island for the past 21 years. I will be living and working here for one year with the Bainbridge-Ometepe Sister Islands Association (BOSIA).

Bainbridge officials mull ideas for reaching out to teens

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 1:00AM

Though, like any other locale, it’s prone to the occasional unexpected guest, City Hall is generally a predictable place.

Eagle Harbor Book Co.’s Paul Hanson shares the joys of speculative fiction

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 1:00AM

To put together the “why” behind his affection for out-of-this-world fiction, Paul Hanson flips back to the early chapters of his reading life.

One Aug. 1 Bainbridge crash victim still in hospital; one at home

  • Aug 12, 2008 at 11:00AM updated at 3:29PM

An auction and bake sale for David Ortiz is planned for Saturday.

Sports failures can enjoy Olympics, too

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

The Olympics are here with all those lean, strong athletes leaping, kicking, tossing, passing, racing and flying through the air.

A two-beer toast to Emmylou and the zoo

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

I turned 53 recently, and as part of my weeklong birthday celebration, the woman whose husband I am and I and half a dozen friends all went to the Woodland Park Zoo to see Emmylou Harris in concert.

Road-ends work needs volunteers

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

For an island with some 53 miles of shoreline, Bainbridge Island might as well be landlocked when it comes to public access to the water. As one longtime islander once said, “It’s painful to live on an island and not be able to have more access to the water than we do.” Unfortunately, there is a dearth of pleasant, sandy beaches because much of the shore is inaccessible because of cliffs or is privately owned. And these days, arguably courts lean more toward the rights of the privileged than the public.

WHAT’S HAPPENING

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

Don’t miss the men’s a capella quintet A Moment In Time at 7 p.m. Aug. 13 at the Waterfront Park stage.

Fantasy Readers: At 10 a.m. Aug. 13 at Eagle Harbor Bo

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

Fantasy Readers: At 10 a.m. Aug. 13 at Eagle Harbor Books, Paul Hanson presents favorite science fiction and fantasy books that cross over from the middle reader to adult sections and are appropriate for readers ages eight and up. Info: www.eagleharborbooks.com.

Island racers continue to perform well at all-comers meets

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

50 Meters: Girls 3 & under: Gracie Sellers 15.78, Rose Weaver 16.50, Alex Morrison 18.31; Girls 4: Margaret Hayes 10.91, Meryl Hubbard 11.03, Audrey Barnett 12.55; Girls 5: Lauren DeGall 10.63, Morgan Sydor 11.53, Holly Lawrence 11.88; Girls 6: Bella Jackson 9.13, Sofia Trail 9.69, Julia Jakubik 10.00; Girls 7: Anika Lesko 9.86, Sigi Talley 11.50; (unknown) 9.19, Anika Lesko 9.86, Sigi Talley 11.50; Girls 8: Brielle Kinkaid 9.47, Sara Colley 9.60, Olivia Driggers 9.62; Girls 9: Audrey Weaver 9.10, Erin Talley 10.12, Jasmine Pel 11.67; Girls 10: Abigel Leung 9.25, Riley Kulfan 9.27, Madison Brotherton 9.69; Girls 11: Vanessa Lipschutz 9.47, Emily Rogers 10.00; Girls 12: Darya Smirnova 10.41, Keri Dudley 10.43; Boys 3 & under: Dashiel Morgan 16.53, Spencer Grady 17.35, Tristin Brotherton 20.00; Boys 4: Chance Quinlan 11.71, Kai Levy 12.00, Tommy Smith 13.00; Boys 5: Aiden Fitzgerald 10.47, Ben Robinson 11.72, Hiram Topham 11.91; Boys 6: Andrew Kenny 9.90, Theo Hale 10.03, Elliot Weaver 10.28; Boys 7: Ethan Soltanzadeh 8.97, Wyatt Weber 10.21, Gabe Roth 10.31; Boys 8: Brooks Lierle 8.82, Cade Topham 9.09, Killian Krantz 9.62; Boys 9: Ryan Fitzgerald 7.35, Sal Iaria 9.05, Mike Callaghan 9.12; Boys 10: Christian Wing-Kovarik 9.12, Sam Phillips 10.0; Boys 11: Ciaran Krantz 9.19, Shawn Wing-Kovarik 9.37, Liam Topham 9.39; Men’s open: Greg Nance 14.0.

Local golfers succeed, take home titles

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

Several junior golfers, including some who play for the Bainbridge High School golf team, have had standout performances on links near and far this season.

For those who think pedaling and pie-eating don’t mi

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

For those who think pedaling and pie-eating don’t mix, think again.

Around the island

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

A failed transformer in the Port Madison area was responsible for a brief, north end power outage Tuesday morning, according to a Puget Sound Energy spokesperson.

Silver lives up to name at Olympics

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

After nearly having her dream taken away several times, Emily Silver now has a piece of silver that she’ll never let go.

A new era starts for Island School

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

Island School’s Head of School Trish King says passersby don’t seem to take notice of the school’s newest wing.

What’s going on

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

ARTS & CRAFTS

CVG’s August art show is an eclectic collection

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

Artist Anna Hoey matches wits with Wanda Garrity’s 3D for an exercise in fine art miscellanea.

More than just a dream

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

“Tapping the power of dreams, coincidence and imagination,” with Aussie author and dream expert Robert Moss.

The music to get you groovin’

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

Old-fashioned summer street dances take root

Hooray Beer!

  • Aug 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

Silver City Brewery celebrates ‘Kitsap Beer’ marking the 75th year of prohibition repealed.

Read the Apr 17
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates