Story Archives

Archive Results — 19451 thru 19475 of about 24900 items

Fire levy raises tough questions

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:28PM

When does “enough” become “too much”? That question informs the decision-making each time a property tax measure goes before voters. Earlier this month, islanders could not be rallied in sufficient number to approve an 8 percent per year hike in the park district’s tax receipts; park officials are considering new revenue streams and cutbacks as they plan a second levy attempt. And come May, those same voters will decide the Bainbridge Island Fire Department’s proposed levy “lid lift” – raising the base property taxes collected by the department – a tax hike of fully 20 percent per year, to fund operations and new equipment purchases through 2010.

Blue skies, black roof

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:28PM

Thanks to a grant of clemency by the weather gods, we’ve been out Battle Point Park way a few times in the past week. Besides the abundant blue (!) sky, others of like mind and leg may have noticed some activity around the old transmitter building inside the park’s front gate.

Many steps toward grand endowment

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:28PM

The challenge: to build a “community portfolio.” Month by month, in steps that may pass without much notice if you’re not paying attention, that challenge is being met through the Bainbridge Island Community Endowment. We thought it might be time to connect a few of those steps into a coherent path.

For one day at least, issues matter

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:28PM

Who’s the frontrunner this week? Who’s falling behind, and who do the insiders think has the best chance to rebound? And (what really seems to matter), who’s bringing in the most money? Those are the usual themes in the depthless, poll-driven “horse race” coverage of our national elections, no more so than in the selection of the Democratic Party challenger to President Bush.

Land Trust is worth its weight in green

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:28PM

It’s tough to quantify the absence of change. It’s a concept that comes into clear relief over time, and only then by contrast with whatever happens around it. The absence of change takes patience to observe, and a certain vision to foster. Credit the Bainbridge Island Land Trust for promoting the value that islanders seem to value above all others – year-in, year-out consistency in the natural landscape around us – so effectively and for so many years.

Bus investment starts at home

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:28PM

Why can’t more people ride the bus? That has been among the questions raised by the downtown planning process, specifically, parking garages to meet the needs of shoppers and service patrons. Given the huge expense of garages, one argument goes, mightn’t money be better spent “investing” in transit?

Pritchard Park project turns corner

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:28PM

“Plainly, maximum benefits flow from public ownership and use, not from private development of another handful of homes... The only question is whether the benefits will go to many, or to only a few. We urge our delegation to side with the many, and to act.”

Consulting the park oracle

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:28PM

When we grow up, we want to be a consultant. We’re not quite sure what career track to follow to reach that mysterious position – a modicum of knowledge in a given field and acceptable writing skills sometimes looks to be enough – but you can’t beat the money.

Vote ‘Yes’ for parks – you asked for more

  • Jan 17, 2004 at 12:00AM updated Jun 9, 2008 at 9:28PM

'What's in it for me?' Let's find out

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

“Is this public money spent for the benefit of private business?” So asks a brilliantly colored flier distributed around Winslow this week, calling citizens’ attention to local business and property owners’ proposals for parking garages, roundabouts, sidewalk treatments and other improvements in the downtown core.

Optimistic for new council, new start

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

A new year, a new council. And, we are confident, a new perspective. We find ourselves highly optimistic as the 2004 Bainbridge Island City Council convenes for the first time this coming week. With the ascension of impressive newcomers Bob Scales and Nezam Tooloee, and voters’ resounding endorsement of Jim Llewellyn’s return to the council after two years away, we count on a return to the style of mutual respect and cooperation that defined the first few post-annexation councils and their excellent members.

West Home honors a real activist

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

Not quite 11 years ago it was, that a cub reporter with this newspaper asked Janet West if she would describe herself as an “activist.” West, who then served as president of the Helpline House board of directors and was a regular contributor to the Review as a columnist, was one of four islanders who had stepped forward to challenge incumbent Sam Granato for the office of mayor of the newly created all-island city.

How will we clean up galley mess?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

Cross-sound ferry service enjoys its share of happy paradoxes. For professionals heading east to Seattle each morning, the 35-minute commute – nightmarish for workers approaching the city from any other direction – is spent in the luxurious lap of cushioned seats, morning papers, aisleways with ample stretch-your-legroom, and peerless water and mountain views.

The wit, the Walt

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

Over the past couple of editions, we’ve enjoyed sharing with readers the musings of our revered editorial forebear Walt Woodward. The opportunity, of which we should probably avail ourselves more often, has given the regular editorialist some respite for other pursuits, mostly the consumption of holiday cookies. (It’s not too late; donations are still being accepted.)

Reliable issues, year in and out

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

There’s nothing like a saunter through the Review’s “morgue books” – the dusty old volumes of newspapers past, in newsroom parlance – to remind us that many of our island preoccupations transcend years, decades, generations even.

Christmas, the renewal of our hope

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

However we may measure the troubles and challenges of our particular day and age, we are sometimes reminded that we islanders and Americans have survived darker times still. We thought of such this week, browsing back issues of the Review and the musings of our editorial forebears, Walt and Mildred Woodward.

Faith, and its (dis)contents

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

A local activist we know has complained that this newspaper spends too much time talking to architects and ministers. Our response: both groups are making things happen around us, shaping our community as surely as the many islanders working to preserve trees or restore streams. It would be senseless to ignore them or dismiss their work because some are personally discomfited or affronted by it.

Keep the momentum

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

The most fitting comment of the day was also the most succinct: “Wow.” About 180 folks turned out for Monday’s presentation by the Winslow Way Property Owners Association, filling the council chambers and spilling out into the foyer beyond. The interest in and enthusiasm for a presentation by Bill Isley and others involved in planning a rejuvenated downtown was palpable.

Vandalism: how much is it worth?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

Vandalism at Bainbridge High School is not exactly a new phenomenon. Thumbing through back issues of the Review some time ago, we came across a news story from the 1950s in which school officials complained of ongoing after-hours rampages on the building and grounds.

Winslow looks like a safe bet

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

Here’s a bit of heresy for you: More people use Winslow Way in a week – perhaps a day, even – than visit Gazzam Lake in a year. This is not to diminish the community’s efforts to preserve our cherished open spaces. But this observation by one of our local businessmen does offer a bit of needed perspective on the importance of downtown planning and concomitant public investment. We need to accommodate the evolving needs of Winslow’s many commercial tenants, and the countless patrons – us – who use their services.

Give farmers a break

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

We’re not sure how many terrorist cells are suspected of skulking about and plotting on Bainbridge. But we suspect the number of plain old law-abiding folks who would enjoy more opportunity to buy local jams, wines and other agricultural products at farm stands is somewhat greater.

Halfway home on open space

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

It’s not every committee that gets an $8 million bankroll and the chance to write its own shopping list. Perhaps that’s why no one we’ve talked to seems anxious to leave the city’s Open Space Commission – these days, it has to be the best public service gig around.

Plan now for park stability

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

If you find the arcanery of taxing districts tiresome, just go with the metaphor: merry-go-rounds and teeter-totters. The merry-go-round: that’s what our local park district is stuck on, forced as it is to go before voters every two years with a new maintenance and operations levy just to keep the park gates open. The teeter-totter: that’s the property taxpayers’ monotonous plight, because of the way the park levy is collected – once for every two-year budget cycle, so the individual tax bill keeps going up and down, up and down.

Forum a great success -- now what?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

If the size of the assembled company was any measure, then the Just Know forum last Saturday may be counted a success. More than 330 islanders packed the high school commons to learn more about the impact of drugs, alcohol and depression on their children. The event, planned by the new Just Know coalition of schools, social service agencies, and grassroots parent groups, was supported by the city, school PTOs and 16 island businesses.

A light agenda at year's end

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

They didn’t quite shift City Hall off its foundation, but Tuesday’s election results would seem to presage some noticeable changes in political and interpersonal dynamics on the Bainbridge City Council. With one incumbent rejected by a wide margin, and other candidates prevailing on themes of moderation and teamwork, it seems apparent that the election was driven in no small measure by dissatisfaction with the performance and direction of the council over the past two years.

Read the Feb 27
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates