Story Archives

Archive Results — 19401 thru 19425 of about 25575 items

No field, no problem for Spartan football

  • Aug 27, 2008 at 10:00AM updated Sep 15, 2008 at 11:30AM

As Bainbridge football coach Andy Grimm was talking with a reporter, a loud crack was heard as thunder rumbled across the sky.

Sports roundup

  • Sep 13, 2008 at 11:00AM updated Sep 15, 2008 at 11:29AM

Girl golfers win opener

Bainbridge cross country has strength in numbers

  • Sep 13, 2008 at 9:00AM updated Sep 15, 2008 at 11:24AM

70 runners add depth to a squad with much potential. Whatever Bainbridge cross country head coach Anne Howard-Lindquist is doing to get more people involved in running, it’s working.

A return to excellence

  • Sep 13, 2008 at 11:00AM updated Sep 15, 2008 at 11:23AM

Spartans hit the links with a plethora of talented duffers. After a down season in 2006-07, the Bainbridge boys’ golf team rebounded in a big way last season, taking second place at the Metro tournament, third at districts and earning a silver medal at state.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Sept. 13

  • Sep 13, 2008 at 9:00AM updated Sep 15, 2008 at 9:34AM

Two months ago I read an article about a Willamette Valley farmer who, with state and public utility incentives, erected a 10-kilowatt windmill on his farm at a cost to him of $12,000.

Lynwood Theatre stays timeless

  • Sep 13, 2008 at 9:00AM updated Sep 15, 2008 at 9:28AM

By renovating the old and building anew, Bill Nelson and other business people have embarked on a plan that may eventually turn Lynwood Center into a bustling community village (see page 5). It’s an ambitious endeavor, especially considering today’s economy. If successful, there will be a huge impact on the island’s south end as it is transformed into the first full-service commercial center outside of Winslow.

Bainbridge's Housing Resources Board plans new home for affordability

  • Sep 13, 2008 at 9:00AM updated Sep 15, 2008 at 9:01AM

For nearly a decade, Kelly Quinn was one of hundreds of commuters whose lives span Agate Passage. She drove daily from Kingston to her Bainbridge job, retreating across the bridge each evening.

North of the Grits Line we have blackberries

  • Sep 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

Picking Blackberries yesterday and falling into the brambles, I thought of the mighty effort I had taken for a blackberry pie.

FYI

  • Sep 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

Bainbridge Police reported the following incidents:

A renaissance for Lynwood Center

  • Sep 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

Neglect a building long enough and, surely as brick crumbles and wood rots, it’ll eventually collapse. Or fall prey to fire.

Seeking signs of island salmon

  • Sep 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

This October, community volunteers will once again trek island streams to uncover and document tell-tale signs of native salmon.

Around the island

  • Sep 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

Happy 90th, Bette Nute

In the face of grief comes laughter

  • Sep 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

Denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance.

Councilmanic debt is final

  • Sep 13, 2008 at 12:00AM

Usually, the third reading of an ordinance before the Bainbridge City council is a perfunctory affair.

Bainbridge spikers want to return to the big time

  • Sep 3, 2008 at 1:00AM updated Sep 11, 2008 at 6:47PM

But the Spartans will face a much improved Metro League.

Kitsap voters oust favored candidates

  • Aug 19, 2008 at 10:10PM updated Sep 11, 2008 at 11:05AM

Bainbridge Island Review Sports Roundup | Sept. 10

  • Sep 9, 2008 at 3:01PM

The Bainbridge Island Rookies were beaten by Bothell White’s running game as they gained 250 yards on 25 attempts.

Bainbridge Dance Center presents 2nd fall faculty showcase | What's Happening

  • Sep 9, 2008 at 3:10PM

What do dedicated dance instructors – those who nurture young ones’ talent from the time of their initial, sweet-slippered foray into first position – do outside class?

Bainbridge Island rehabilitation facility had numerous DSHS citations

  • Sep 9, 2008 at 3:00PM

A Bainbridge Island health care facility, named in a class-action lawsuit last month, has had numerous care-related deficiencies and two instances of employee misconduct, according to public records.

Bainbridge finance committee chair: Here's the story on city's dwindling budget

  • Sep 9, 2008 at 3:13PM

As fortunate as we are to live on this beautiful island, Bainbridge isn’t immune from national economic downturns. And as taxpayers we aren’t immune from the fear that local government will run up excessive debt, as the federal government has over the past eight years.

Bainbridge Island Review Letters to the Editor | Sept. 10

  • Sep 9, 2008 at 3:16PM

A letter in Saturday’s paper came to the conclusion that bulkheads do not threaten the health of Puget Sound. Substantial information is available on the effects of bulkheads.

Bainbridge's new Island Church not such a long time coming

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 4:00PM

As large-scale projects go, the construction of the new Island Church facility clipped along at an impressive pace, on budget and on schedule.

7 Seas Brewing Company to be Gig Harbor's first brewery

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 4:00PM

For island resident Travis Guterson, passion comes from four basic ingredients. The 24-year-old Bainbridge High School graduate is harnessing water, malt, hops and yeast to create a set of unique brews that will be the cornerstone of Gig Harbor’s first brewery.

At college, bookcases are ubiquitous obstacles

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

The other day I helped my son Adam move into the house he will be occupying this year with six other Gonzaga University sophomores, and the experience was an interesting case study in nonlinear behavior. By way of example, if you or I bought a bookshelf kit and brought it home and emptied the contents of the kit on our living room floors, we would probably feel inclined to put the kit together to get it out of the middle of our living room floor. We might even fill the bookcase with books, which, presumably, is the reason we bought the thing in the first place. I learned last week that neither my son nor any of his roommates are afflicted with such traditional notions of linear behavior.

Property tax strikes again

  • Sep 10, 2008 at 12:00AM

More than 100 island property owners attended an event Saturday featuring Kitsap County Assessor Jim Avery, who explained why the county’s latest land assessments took what many considered to be astronomical increases over the previous year. The emotions of those attending the meeting at the Commons generally ranged from angry to frustrated or to just plain confused.

Read the Apr 17
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates