Story Archives

Archive Results — 19076 thru 19100 of about 24500 items

Vandalism: how much is it worth?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

Vandalism at Bainbridge High School is not exactly a new phenomenon. Thumbing through back issues of the Review some time ago, we came across a news story from the 1950s in which school officials complained of ongoing after-hours rampages on the building and grounds.

Winslow looks like a safe bet

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

Here’s a bit of heresy for you: More people use Winslow Way in a week – perhaps a day, even – than visit Gazzam Lake in a year. This is not to diminish the community’s efforts to preserve our cherished open spaces. But this observation by one of our local businessmen does offer a bit of needed perspective on the importance of downtown planning and concomitant public investment. We need to accommodate the evolving needs of Winslow’s many commercial tenants, and the countless patrons – us – who use their services.

Give farmers a break

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

We’re not sure how many terrorist cells are suspected of skulking about and plotting on Bainbridge. But we suspect the number of plain old law-abiding folks who would enjoy more opportunity to buy local jams, wines and other agricultural products at farm stands is somewhat greater.

Halfway home on open space

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

It’s not every committee that gets an $8 million bankroll and the chance to write its own shopping list. Perhaps that’s why no one we’ve talked to seems anxious to leave the city’s Open Space Commission – these days, it has to be the best public service gig around.

Plan now for park stability

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

If you find the arcanery of taxing districts tiresome, just go with the metaphor: merry-go-rounds and teeter-totters. The merry-go-round: that’s what our local park district is stuck on, forced as it is to go before voters every two years with a new maintenance and operations levy just to keep the park gates open. The teeter-totter: that’s the property taxpayers’ monotonous plight, because of the way the park levy is collected – once for every two-year budget cycle, so the individual tax bill keeps going up and down, up and down.

Forum a great success -- now what?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:27PM

If the size of the assembled company was any measure, then the Just Know forum last Saturday may be counted a success. More than 330 islanders packed the high school commons to learn more about the impact of drugs, alcohol and depression on their children. The event, planned by the new Just Know coalition of schools, social service agencies, and grassroots parent groups, was supported by the city, school PTOs and 16 island businesses.

A light agenda at year's end

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

They didn’t quite shift City Hall off its foundation, but Tuesday’s election results would seem to presage some noticeable changes in political and interpersonal dynamics on the Bainbridge City Council. With one incumbent rejected by a wide margin, and other candidates prevailing on themes of moderation and teamwork, it seems apparent that the election was driven in no small measure by dissatisfaction with the performance and direction of the council over the past two years.

Walk the land, and understand

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

APPROACHING A BEACH, ON THE WEST SIDE OF BAINBRIDGE ISLAND – We are descending from the highest point on the island, elevation ca. 400 feet near Gazzam Lake, to the lowest, a rocky shoreline on the banks of Port Orchard Bay, with surprisingly few strides. Stretches of 40 percent grade will do that.

Oh, Comcast, don't you care anymore?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Dear Comcast, How are you? We are fine. We’re just writing to say that we’ve been thinking of you lately, ever since your last note came in the mail. Not that it was very romantic – you reminded us that we are a month behind on our cable bill – but it was nice to hear from you just the same.

Good going on Ericksen

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

So we were walking down Ericksen Avenue the other day, and something about the experience seemed weird and unfamiliar. Dazed and disoriented, we found ourselves not wandering in and out of traffic, nor stumbling along the precipitous edge of a drainage ditch or trespassing across the frontages of private lawns, and not once diving out of the path of speeding vehicles heading toward the ferry.

Endorsements: Llewellyn, Tooloee for council

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Is Bainbridge Island a refuge, or a dynamic, working community? This strikes us as the essential fulcrum of decision in the Nov. 4 election. The Review tends toward the latter view, and we look to candidates likewise oriented; we therefore urge voters to support Jim Llewellyn and Nezam Tooloee for Bainbridge Island City Council.

Endorsements: Good choices abound for parks

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

As public service goes, you could do a lot worse than a stint on the park board. The essential question – how best to help your island neighbors enjoy their free time – brings with it many choices, all of them inviting and good. Your constituency stands unusually united behind the cause of recreation, and your fact-finding junkets are a walk in the park. And unlike some other civic spheres, nobody slings the horse manure; it just sits benignly alongside the trail.

Get on the bandwagon for musicians

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Some 180 strong they were, marching crisply about the football field in smart uniforms to the rat-tat-tat of marshaling drums. It was a halftime performance to which Bainbridge High School football fans have been treated throughout the season, loud and vigorous and a testament to the dedication of youth band members and those who guide them. Only the signs affixed to some of the instruments carried a less-inspiring tune: “Borrowed from Olympic College,” read the banner on one sousaphone; “Resuscitated from a dumpster,” said another. One youth strutted about bearing only a placard reading, pitifully, “I have no instrument.”

Endorsements -- Llewellyn, Tooloee for City Council

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Is Bainbridge Island a refuge, or a dynamic, working community? This strikes us as the essential fulcrum of decision in the Nov. 4 election. The Review tends toward the latter view, and we look to candidates likewise oriented; we therefore urge voters to support Jim Llewellyn and Nezam Tooloee for Bainbridge Island City Council.

A hesitant 'yes' on tax for ferries

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

We truly understand the arguments against Kitsap Transit’s plan to reinstitute fast-ferry service from Kingston, Bremerton and Southworth to downtown Seattle. We understand that Bremerton riders do have an alternative – the auto ferries – and that while there may be considerable value to some in the more frequent and faster service that the transit plan offers, an argument can be made that those who use the time-saving alternative should pay for it.

Endorsements: No on I-841; yes on 4206

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Even in what is referred to as an “off-year” election, where the main events are the races for City Council and, in this case, a county-wide transit-tax question, we can’t completely escape the statewide initiatives. The ballots that will appear in island mailboxes late next week have two such questions, one the controversial topic of ergonomic rules, the other an almost achingly minuscule question dealing with filling vacancies in elective offices. The first, Initiative 841, asks whether the ergonomics rules promulgated by the Department of Labor and Industries should be repealed. The proposal would not only dump the existing standards, but would bar the state agency from enacting new rules, except to conform to whatever federal regulations might be put into place.

Let's get giving

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

We would be remiss if we didn’t note the recent arrival of that telltale big red envelope in the mail, heralding the Bainbridge Foundation’s One Call For All drive. More than 80 local non-profit organizations are represented, in spheres ranging from the arts and humanities to youth services, environmental advocacy, emergency response, public and private education, health and human services – the very foundations of a sound community.

Old resources, new uses at Battle Point

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Terry Lande asked around to find out which island park he should see, which one he really had to get to know first. Coming up from Oregon to interview for the job of Bainbridge parks director, he’d already visited a few sites. But he wanted to know which park was “the gem.” Everyone, he says, agreed: Battle Point Park.

'Exports yes, imports no' doesn't work

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Yes, we agree: Fast food is bad for your health, and fast-food restaurants are a blight on the American landscape. Our locally owned eateries are excellent and deserve our support. Corporate interests have too much influence over our society and culture. Bainbridge Island should be different, unique.

Right decision for wrong reason

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

First, let us commend city Administrator Lee Walton for reversing his decision of last week, and re-inviting Bainbridge Concerned Citizens to host a council candidate forum in City Hall.

Cell coverage, cheap burgers -- what's next?

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Portrait of an Evolving Community, Part One: Ten years ago, it was, that a cellular phone outfit came before our local park board, seeking permission to put antennas atop the water tower at Battle Point Park. A hearing was duly convened; park commissioners and the lay public raised concerns over aesthetics, electromagnetic fields and, as memory serves, the commercialization of public lands.

Voters comfy in the center

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:26PM

Fundamentalism, the old joke used to go, is the nagging fear that somebody, somewhere, might be having a good time. We sometimes get the sense that Bainbridge Islanders -– a few, anyway -- have slipped into their own sort of fundamentalist mindset, tormented by the never-ending anxiety that somebody, somewhere, is building something.

Our most famous tree

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

For all our talk of significant trees, we islanders now have one that’s nationally designated as such. Word came down this week that a Western red cedar at the Taylor Avenue road end – one-time site of the Eagledale ferry landing, from which the island’s Japanese Americans debarked in March, 1942, for wartime internment – has been accepted to the National Register of Historic Trees.

Alternative fuel is worth a good look

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

It seemed like a throwaway line, a flight of fancy amid otherwise tangible goals and objectives for the coming year. Wouldn’t it be neat, Mayor Darlene Kordonowy mused in her January “state of the city” address, if city and community alike would look into alternative energy sources. The mayor admitted that she was fired up by congressional homeboy Jay Inslee’s interest in alt-fuel issues.

Two excellent reasons to kill the television

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:25PM

If we need any more proof that Mom was right when she told us to get off the couch and go do something worthwhile, the pages of today’s Review offer two more excellent examples.

Read the Jan 30
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates