Story Archives

Archive Results — 18726 thru 18750 of about 23975 items

The blue skies of Bainbridge

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:16PM

There are those, we suspect, who have little sympathy for the thousands who invested in Bainbridge-based Health Maintenance Centers, on the basis that anyone who wants to be a fool should be entitled to do so.

Keep the ball in play – ‘Yes’ on park levy

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:16PM

Last summer, their boys’ season-long heroics and trip to the World Series earned the Bainbridge Island Little League a parade down Winslow Way. Just six months later, thanks to the antics of some parents, the island’s youth baseball and softball organizations are fouling the ball off their own feet. Complaining about the “poor quality” of ball fields and other facilities, parents associated with the leagues are leading a pointless campaign against the upcoming park district levy.

Boilerplate letters are out of hand

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:16PM

Maybe they should change their name to the Committee for Better Mis-Representation. That’s our first thought, with allegations this week that freeholder Matt Ryan has been “ghostwriting” letters to the editor in support of the proposed Kitsap County charter – letters that supporters were to sign and claim as their own. As reported elsewhere in this edition, the issue came to light when an e-mail message to that effect was errantly sent to an alleged newspaper in Bremerton. By Thursday evening, Ryan and South Kitsap’s Jim Martin, who chaired the pro-charter Committee for Better Representation, had fallen on their swords and left the campaign.

Charter isn’t smarter –vote NO

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:16PM

You live on Bainbridge Island and you vote, and some folks elsewhere in the county resent you for it. That’s the only conclusion to be drawn from arguments in support of the Kitsap County charter, which goes before voters on Feb. 5 (absentee ballots are already in the mail). Far from the fair and balanced document its proponents claim, the charter is a partisan document that will disenfranchise voters, decrease representation and and balkanize a county that should instead be coming together for common interests. We urge islanders to vote NO on the Kitsap County charter.

Council should go slow on major changes

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

The new city council’s first meeting this week reminded us a little of those fishing shows on cable television – you knew something was going on, but it was mostly below the surface.

Ferries have a boss, perhaps a champion

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

With ferry system employees and labor officials arrayed around the room, and the question of ferry system privatization before him, there was only one right answer. Mike Thorne found it.

Aim effort at housing that more can buy

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

Events this week remind us once again that while Bainbridge needs more affordable housing,some homes that pass under that name are more affordable, and therefore more needed, than others.

Give some thought to the charter

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

Who cares what someone in Poulsbo thinks? Or Silverdale? Port Orchard? We should, and until further notice, we do. Elsewhere on this page, readers will find a selection of letters to the editor from our brethren (and “sistren”) from the peninsula, all commenting on the proposed Kitsap County charter.

Sutton leaves a legacy of quiet civility

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

During Mayor Dwight Sutton’s four-year term, the city of Bainbridge Island – the all-island version – has reached what could be thought of as young adulthood.

Reframe the debate on Net filtering

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

If educators set out to stock a school library, would they purchase a thousand books without regard for content, put them out for general student use, and review them for appropriateness after the fact? We believe the process is more thoughtful, more deliberate. Yet that is essentially the method we have chosen in providing student access to the Internet in our schools.

In this world, fares are fair

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

Reality Number One: Washington State Ferries need more money to operate, and more money still to make capital improvements. Reality Number Two: The state doesn’t have the money, and there are a lot of other demands for any new transportation bucks, leading to... Reality Number Three: Fares have to go up.

Cable deal the first step

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

Did the city – and by extension, the Bainbridge Island community – get a good deal? Will transfer of the local cable television franchise to AT&T Broadband serve island consumers?

Ferry parking plan already too ripe

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

Asked what long-term investments he makes these days, an elderly friend of ours recently quipped: “I don’t even buy green bananas anymore.” We certainly don’t fault our friend’s focus on quick returns for his portfolio. But such strategies make less sense in our civic sphere, as when, for example, the city is asked to consider a rezone to add 200 ferry-related parking spots west of Highway 305 near the Winslow Ravine.

Our civic dialogue is a 2-way street

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

Browsing through back issues of this newspaper while looking for something else, we paused to re-read the many letters on the Madison/High School roundabout. What struck us in retrospect was not the degree of opposition – we remembered that – but of the vituperation.

Playing poker with AT&T

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

We islanders are a demanding lot, and that includes our demands for technology. We want our cable television company to offer top-flight service and an expansive (but inexpensive) viewer package, and broad-band internet access. And we want at least one channel for our own local programming.

Downtown parking needs uniformity

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

Does downtown Winslow have a parking problem? If so, a dearth of spaces is only half of it. Consider these signs posted around town: “Customer Parking Only”...“1 Hour Parking For This Building Only”...“Private 2-Hour Customer Parking Only.” And the ubiquitous “LOOK – GATEWAY TOWING (etc.).”

It’s time to muster some real initiative

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

Something about Thanksgiving made us think of Tim Eyman. Must’ve been the turkey. As we were picking up our birds this week, the irrepressible Eyman handed us another gobbler in the form of his 2002 tax-cutting initiative, and the promise that he would churn out a new measure every year.

A welcome look back

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

Are we “oldtimers” yet? If not, we do feel a bit closer to the coveted status of credentialed Bainbridge local, having attended the premiere screening Friday evening of a new video on the history of Fort Ward.

City budget: Let’s stick with the facts

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:15PM

By its very nature, a city budget is a bit of a bore, a bloodless document full of endless numbers. In glancing at the preliminary budget for 2002, though, we were immediately struck – perhaps even smote – by the fact that the largest single expense category is something labelled “support for developers.”

We can use better service

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:14PM

Note to AT&T Broadband: Islanders like their Mariners games. All of them. Second note: They’re perfectly happy to drop cable for satellite dishes, when the service of the local provider falls short.

Theft of flags is simply senseless

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:14PM

The flag had flown over the U.S. Capitol in Washington D.C., was given to the family by one of this state’s better known senators, and had been draped over the casket of a decorated World War I veteran before his interment. For the Ed Brunton family, it was an heirloom as well as a symbol of their patriotism. And if you happened to drive along Ferncliff near Grand Avenue sometime in the past month, you probably saw the enormous flag – 5 feet by 8 feet, it measured – draped from a front yard willow tree.

Bottom line for special ed

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:14PM

It’s hard to imagine a more will-motivated effort than the special education program in our nation’s public schools. As profiled in a two-part series in last week’s Review, the program’s aim is lofty indeed – educating students with physical, mental and emotional handicaps to the same level as their peers.

Ferry ads are bad band-aids

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:14PM

For most of us, the ferries are a part of the island’s charm. Those of us who don’t commute can still find the ride something of an adventure, particularly on those sunny days when the view ranks with any panorama on the planet. For commuters, the ride can be an extension of the office for work, the living room for visiting or the library for quiet reading.

Our picks

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:14PM

The Review’s endorsements for contested seats and ballot issues in the Nov. 6 general election:

Vote ‘Yes’ for open space

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:14PM

As a matter of law, Bainbridge Island is a city. As a matter of fact, though, much of it looks like countryside, with farms, fields and forests dominating much of the landscape outside of Winslow. But like every place else, the island is growing, and no matter how we plan our growth, some of it will inevitably push into those presently empty spaces.

Read the Dec 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates