Story Archives

Archive Results — 18126 thru 18150 of about 23650 items

Green light for highway improvement

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

“They oughtta do something about this.” It’s a refrain heard regularly on our Letters pages, often on the subject of local roadways. Elsewhere on today’s page, one of our regular correspondents from Rolling Bay addresses his concerns over the awkward junction at Moran Road and Manitou Beach, just off the highway; he also mentions the possible need for a traffic signal at the nearby 305/Madison intersection, the second such comment we’ve heard from readers recently.

A quick read on progressive street planning

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

Is there cooperation in chaos? That seems to be the theory in some progressive traffic planning circles, as engineers look for innovative ways by which to reconcile the conflicting sensibilities – and physical mass – of the motorists, bicyclists and pedestrians sharing urban environments.

Small change adding up big

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

No surprise that islanders have taken to heart the cause of tsunami disaster relief for our neighbors across our shared ocean. Folks who turned out to Pegasus for last Saturday’s performance by Holly Figueroa chipped in more than $400 to the cause, we’re told. More good news in an update from our friends Nancy Quitslund, Bill Reddy and Suellen Cunningham, organizers of the “Coins That Care” effort announced in these pages a week or so ago. Their dispatch came in after we had today’s Letters pages in the can, but we’ll gladly give up the editor’s space for a few community huzzahs and a reminder of what our community’s contributions are all about:

Calendar deal is not what it appears

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

We believe it is playwright and former Vanity Fair editor, the late Clare Boothe Luce, who is credited with the cynic’s maxim: No good deed goes unpunished. Luce might be pleased to know that her wisdom lives on, as phone solicitors of dubious intent target island merchants with an advertising ploy that straddles the fine line of legality. Several Winslow businesses reported this week receiving solicitations from an out-of-state organization offering advertising space on a “booster calendar” to benefit Bainbridge High School sports.

Try to find middle ground on protection

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

One would think that a process based on “science” would yield more readily objective results. But an update of the city’s “critical areas ordinance” is proving surprisingly oblique. Citizen advocates, council members and kibitzers from the state Department of Ecology have gone round and round for most of the past year over the most effective and fairest way to protect island wetlands and streams, generally through mandated vegetative buffers of various widths.

The future of downtown: fresh perspective

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

Some want hammers, some, designer jeans. Our historically vibrant downtown has thrived on the sheer variety of the offerings – from the wholly functional to the (arguably) silly and extravagant – offered by local merchants. We may have no use for one line of merchandise or another, but we should be pleased whenever any entrepreneur is confident enough in our downtown core to hang out a shingle and invite passersby to consider new wares – ditto for the emergence of new buildings for commercial and residential tenants.

At long last, Colman Dock finds salvation

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

Here’s two concepts you don’t usually see in the same sentence: “Colman Dock” and “comfort.” Historically, time spent waiting at the Seattle end of “our” ferry run has been borderline miserable, hours wasted cursing one’s bad luck, poor time management, and/or earlier failure to pick up a schedule by which to time the return trip.

Getting tough to know right from wrong

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

It never ceases to amaze, how two eyewitness accounts of the same event can differ so wildly. Consider last week’s episode aboard the ferry Puyallup, in which the deposit of a “suspicious package” – which turned out to be a college kid’s backpack, school work and thermos, discarded on the last day of class – shut down the Bainbridge-Seattle run for three and a half hours in the late afternoon.

Island holidays: a trip back to the past

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

We always enjoy a lazy hour or two spent perusing the Review’s archives, and the chance to share a few lines from past editions with readers. A recent jaunt turned up this column from Frances Olin Gowen, whose droll commentaries we have offered on this page several times of late. Enjoy, with the compliments of the season: * * * * * “This week I cannot escape saying something about Christmas. It hardly seems worthwhile; everything that could possibly be said about Christmas had been said thousands of times over...

Today’s tech, tomorrow’s auction fodder

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

What is the half-life of technology? Bainbridge Islanders might think of it as the amount of time that passes between the introduction of some new whiz-bang consumer device – a computer, a television, a Nordic-Trac – and when it shows up in quantity for $10 each at the Rotary Auction.

Make growing, not buying, a priority in ’05

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:32PM

Here’s the farm. Who are the farmers? On the Bentryn land on Day Road East, they are many. Under the stewardship of the Bentryn family, various growers have for years been allowed to work the land under no real obligation.

Slow down traffic: put up more lights

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

As holiday gripes go – our own list might include the irksome coincidence of endless queues and “This Window Closed” signs at the post office – some complaints are becoming sadly predictable.

Obituaries, tributes not the final word

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

When you die, how you’re remembered is pretty much out of your hands. That underscores the importance of using one’s time on earth to leave a positive legacy.

Foil the tax man, but do it quick

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

Is it too soon to start thinking about the 2005 Rotary Auction? We would have thought so too. Customarily on this island, one hoards in December and divests in June, and Christmas was still a month off when Rotarian Jim Chapel turned up in the newsroom on a recent afternoon.

Parking, and other island social ills

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

Smoking. Drinking. Parking. Should we add the latter – and such associated blights as commuter-hour traffic, and the hordes of visigoths who stream onto the island from across the bridge every day – to the list of social ills subject to higher taxation by various levels of government?

For all those who labor with a full sink

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

Once more to the archives: We’ll round out the Thanksgiving weekend with another historical offering from the pen of the delightful Frances Olin Gowen, post-holiday sentiments for anyone who slaved over a stove – and later, a sink full of dirty dishes – to make the holiday occasion fulfilling for hungry family and guests:

Kerry, part 2: Rejoin the world

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

Isolationism, as it’s taught in the school books, refers to a national policy of avoiding international entanglements. We fear our nation has moved toward a new isolationism, not by avoiding adventurism abroad, but rather by pursuing it in defiance of international sentiment.

The bench test: a judicial primer

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

“Who,” a caller asked, “am I supposed to vote for in these judicial races? Will the Review be making any endorsements?” We had to confess that we’d been paying less attention than we ought to those seeking seats on the bench. But we knew whom to call – the excellent Charlie Wiggins, Bainbridge Island attorney and former Court of Appeals judge, who was kind enough to offer guidance for those equally vexed when the candidates don’t come with a convenient “R” or “D” next to their name.

Self-examination: the real lesson

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

The Midwest has sex education, the South, the theory of evolution -– timeworn and tired education debates both. So leave it to we Northwesterners, in our comparative sophistication, to find a more engaging bugaboo in the public school curriculum over which to agonize: the World War II internment of Japanese Americans.

Juvenile curfew: is it past time

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

Lest diehard libertarians and free-spirited youths brand us, by turns, fascists and fuddy-duddies, let us assure all that we weren’t the ones who brought this up. But when, over luncheon last week, some community leaders tossed around the idea of imposing a juvenile curfew on Bainbridge Island, we thought it was worth at least some discussion. (And it made for a long lunch.)

Yes and Yes on park issues

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

Bainbridge Island’s relationship with its park and recreation district is like an on-again, off-again romance. Community and parks are hopelessly entwined – just made for each other, their friends would say. Yet every few years, the community turns coy and fails a park levy. The parks respond by saying, “Come back soon, or we’re gone for good”; the prospect of cold, lonely days with nothing to do eventually sets in with the community, a new levy is passed, and the romance is back on for another two years.

Rezones: ask the right questions

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

If we presume to coin a new phrase – “rezone creep” – please don’t think we’re talking about a specific applicant. Rather, we refer to the cumulative (perhaps even stimulative) changes in local land-use patterns that could follow even minor fiddling with Winslow-area zoning.

Understand the choices in park elections

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

The old wheeze in those notoriously suspect Chicago elections used to be, “vote early and often.” While we can’t recommend grabbing two ballots, islanders on Sept. 14 will have the unusual challenge of voting for parks twice -- seven times, if you count park board races -- in the same election. The old wheeze in those notoriously suspect Chicago elections used to be, “vote early and often.” While we can’t recommend grabbing two ballots, islanders on Sept. 14 will have the unusual challenge of voting for parks twice -- seven times, if you count park board races -- in the same election.

Unmet needs find a champion

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

A blue-ribbon report that’s getting blue-ribbon results? It’s true. “It’s so exciting,” as one of our reporters beamed, “to see a report that actually goes somewhere.” Her enthusiasm – and ours – sprang from news, detailed Wednesday in this paper, that Peninsula Community Health Services will open a “pay as you can” clinic in the Bainbridge Commons every Monday beginning Aug. 2. Peninsula’s full range of primary care services will complement immunization and family planning long offered by the Kitsap County Health District clinic in the same building every Tuesday. Our unusually affluent community nonetheless has offered paltry options for the uninsured; the island’s woes were detailed on the medical chart of the “Community Needs Assessment” – prepared in 2003 under the auspices of the city’s Health, Housing and Human Services Council – which identified low-cost health care as a priority. As Peninsula CEO Barbara Malich drily recalls, “PCHS was ‘heavily requested’ to come and provide some services.”

The real challenge is still community

  • Jun 9, 2008 at 9:31PM

One of our points was, there’s enough incivility around these days that it can’t be described as a uniquely “liberal” or “Bainbridge” phenomenon. On cue, we received this email correspondence from a gentleman named Danny in Texas, responding to reports of rude treatment of a “Veteran for Bush” in the Grand Old Fourth parade: “You’re probably right about being the only newspaper that cares about Bainbridge Island. And from what I’ve just read about your citizens, you’re a [expletive] cesspool of communist [expletives]. You can bet your stinking [expletive] that I’ll never bring my money to your anti-American town. [EXPLETIVE] YOU.” That was among the comments from off-islanders, several of them profane and all condemning the Bainbridge Island community as a whole for the actions of a few in what shall hereafter be referred to as The Incident.

Read the Nov 28
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates