Bainbridge Youth Services presents 2013 Compassionate Action awards

Rotary Award recipients Rachel Gallagher, Carolyn Williams and Rachael Schweizer.  - Tally Black Brown photo
Rotary Award recipients Rachel Gallagher, Carolyn Williams and Rachael Schweizer.
— image credit: Tally Black Brown photo

Bainbridge Youth Services presented 100 local youths with awards to recognize their acts of compassion Sunday, Nov. 24 at Bethany Lutheran Church.

The event, now in its twelfth year, featured as a keynote speaker Bainbridge High senior Carolyn Williams.

“My service work has helped me become someone who wants to continue to give to others,” she said. “When you go out and do your service work, take a friend or two along to show them how great it is.”

Marina Cofer-Wildsmith, executive director of Bainbridge Youth Services, said the sheer number of recipients speaks to the quality of the youth community on Bainbridge.

“Acknowledging youth for who they are is something we should all be doing on a regular basis,” she said. “Take a look around. There are quiet acts of compassion going on around us every day.”

For 50 years, Bainbridge Youth Services has served Bainbridge Island and North Kitsap youth and their families. They provide professional, no-fee, confidential counseling and intervention for adolescents in our community, ages 12 to 19.

The 2013 award recipients are:

Bainbridge Island Boys Lacrosse Club: Butch Makin, Max Oden, Michael Pelczar, Mathew Stachan, Dain Weisner, Reynolds Yarbrough

Bainbridge Island Boys and Girls Club: Dmitry Chandler, Audrey Clarke, Alexander Cornwell, Ellie Davidson, Spencer Devine, Niki Dixon, Izzi Fawley, Angelic Friday, Nico Hinman, Sarah Horder, Tia Kresser, Erin Miller, Peter Sharp

2013 Camp Siberia - Kitezh Team: Nels Challinor, Madeline Bell Crawford, Carly D’Amato, Shannon Engelbrecht, Ben Freedman, Keats Hoonan, Katie Horder, Sarah Horder, Jacqueline Scharrer, Jacob Shore, Chloe Sismour, Cade Taylor, Cappy Yarbrough

2013 Island Ambassador Program: Mary Boynton, Paige Brigham, Thomas Daniels, Ariana Felkey, Elaina Holloway, Julie Ischer, Chloe Jones, Sallie Marx, Eryn McCassey, Kellie Miller, Clare Morgan, Olivia Peloquin, Sonet Pradel, Isabel Saez, McKenzie Scott, Allison Snare, Celia Story, Kyra Wortley, Cappy Yarbrough

IslandWood: Ashlen Ahearne, Ashley Alnwick, Julia Bernard, Maxwell Brown, Sophie Carson, Ryan Cox, Carly D’Amato, Audrey Holt, Sarah Rice, Nicole Sanford, Sam Subbukumar, Kit Patterson

Helpline House: Sam Bishoff, Caroline Devlin, Grant Dalton, Greta Huber, Devin Lakich, Ian Stearns

KiDiMu: Elsa Godfredtsen and Devin Lakich

Make Some Noise Junior Board Members: Tally Black Brown, Tara Bieber, Maxsena Butler, Ben La Roche, Kyra Wortley, Christy Carley, Walker Hauptmann, Ali Blake, Max La Roche, Orion Black Brown, Alexa Ardia, Keagan Ingrasci, Regan Wortley

Rotary Club of Bainbridge Island: Rachel Gallagher, Aubrey Kollodge, Rachael Schweizer, Carolyn Williams

TOPSoccer: Paige Adams, Ryan Cox, Mathew Derry, Nick Dresel, Zander Welch

Individual Nominations: John Baker (Sumer FUN Class); Chloe Cook (Compassion); Tyler Dawson-Arroyo (Drama Program & Theater Club); Kimmie Hamner (Compassion); Noel Hilst (Ordway volunteer); Tova Levine (Destination Imagination); Sallie Marx (Spondylistis Association); Henry Milander (Scouts); Leah Potter (PAWS).

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates