Four educators from island earn honors

Four educators from Bainbridge Island will be among a group of 16 teachers from throughout the area who will be given “Outstanding Educator” honors next month at Poulsbo City Hall.

The Alpha Sigma Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma International Society for Key Women Educators will present the awards Monday, March 4 to publicly acknowledge the achievements, dedication and outstanding service of these men and women. Poulsbo Mayor Becky Erickson will be the guest speaker at the ceremony.

The educators from Bainbridge to be honored are Brent Peterson, principal at Bainbridge High; Enrique Chee, a physics teacher at Bainbridge High; Wendy Kozina, a seventh-grade math teacher at Woodward Middle School; and Amy Lee-Despard, a teacher at St. Cecilia Catholic School.

Other recipients, from the North Kitsap School District, are Jeremy Dupea and Connie Sewell from Breidablik Elementary; Gail Davis from Gordon Elementary; Stuart Wakefield and Pat Bennett-Forman from Wolfle Elementary; Tammie Rabura from Pearson Elementary; Barb Pixton and Linda Middlebrook from Poulsbo Elementary; and Dani Boss, Kingston High School. Also, Kathleen Mitchell from Gateway Christian School as well as Central Kitsap’s Ann Lindsey and Kaye Moon from Fairview Junior High School will be honored.

The recipients will be honored as “Outstanding Educators” for consistent exemplary instructional skills, achieving high degrees of student success, and leadership in school improvement.

They were nominated and selected on their reputations amongst parents, administrators and colleagues. Nominators repeatedly testified to the sacrifices made by these individuals, the impact of their work outside their classrooms, and their spirit of service and fun.

Susan Fritts, past president and committee chairwoman of Delta Kappa Gamma, said more outstanding educators from private as well as public schools that serve children in the north and central area of Kitsap County were included in the awards this year.

“This is only our third annual ‘Outstanding Educator’ ceremony and we look forward to honoring even more educators next year,” Fritts said.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 28
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates